Where the Hell is the Levi Shop?

in Weekend Experienceslast year (edited)

Truth is, I am one who is not really good at directions nor reading maps. Oh don't give me that look, or you can, it's like I care, LOL! But yes, I've been lost countless times not only locally but also abroad. Some were funny, others not so.

First experience that came to mind was one in the metro city of Guangzhou in China. It was this weekend and I felt the wanting to explore. Usually, I have one or two of my girlfriends (colleagues) go around with me. On that particular summer Saturday, I intentionally went out alone with a purpose to buy a pair of jeans by Levi Strauss. I've seen the shop during our prior visits but didn't buy because I know my friends would question my choices so I decided to go by myself, lol!

My destination?

a


The shopping district called Beijing Lu (Beijing Road) which is always buzzing with plenty of people and establishments, re: shopping, food places, entertainment centers and what have you. Normally, I would take a cab and try my best to tell the driver where I wanna go. Of which some would comprehend, others would ask "shénme?" (What did you say?) and then look at me via the interior (rear view) mirror like I was an alien which can be really funny.

Anyhow, I took the subway. It's cheaper and also faster. It was a lovely day and really warm so being a summer person, I was loving it. I even bought a cute umbrella which I used while I walked along the streets for my lil window-shopping spree. I still have that umbrella to this day.

a
a


Time seems to fly fast that day and before I knew it, afternoon came and I'm yet to find the Levi store. Then I was hungry so I went to the first fast food place I saw which is called "KungFu" and had my fill. Went out afterwards to continue with my quest.

Beijing Lu has plenty streets, intersections and alleyways and I've been strolling for like eternity when I noticed the unfamiliar territory I brought myself into. "I've never seen this spaces before" I thought as I looked around. There wasn't any sign of a metro station even. Street signs are in Chinese characters and finding one who can speak English in that place is sort of a miracle.

I stood there trying to recall the landmarks of where the shop is but my befuddled brain couldn't even remember. Checking my wrist watch, it's still 2 in the afternoon. Good! But where the hell is the Levi shop? I was cursing under my breath when someone spoke in front of my face. A young man was saying hello. He was trying to get me into their nail shop.

And how dare him laugh on seeing my tiny and short fingernails! Even promised they would look pretty after he's done magic on them. "Oh, zhēn de ma?" (really?) I asked with my crooked tongue trying hard to speak Mandarin. Because I was tired from all the walking, I welcomed the idea as a chance to rest my feet while getting a bit of pampering so I agreed and got myself entering their nail saloon.

On getting in, he excitingly told all the other staff I'm an "alien" which got them very curious, gathering around me while I was getting the manicure. They were asking lots of questions to which very few I can comprehend and give answers too. If there's one thing I've noticed living in that city was that some people tend to be very friendly when learning you aren't one of them especially when you speak at least a little of their language. Others would avoid you like you have some kind of an incurable disease, lol!

Anyway, with all buzz and the attention I was getting, I had forgotten about my little dilemma of where exactly I was at that time until 40 minutes later, when the manicure was done. The guy who did my nails had very tender hands and was very careful not to hurt any of my skin. In the end, I was quite satisfied and they had me buying some of their nail products (nail brush, polish and what else).

On getting out, I had a little debate with myself whether to continue with the Levi quest or just call it a day and go home. I chose the latter and took a cab back to my apartment. I didn't dare share the story to my friends for I know they'd tease me hard.

This is my little story in response to being lost in a foreign country which is one of the questions on the Weekend-Engagement concept by Galen.

Photos are my own. 04032023/10:30ph



Smile... laugh often... love more... be happy and grateful always!


Sort:  

Sometimes we lost the way and it create many story like this. Well I was reading, it reminded me I have lost my ways several times in my school days. But I used to believe that wherever I went somehow I would reach my destination. It's a good thing that I never lost fully 😂 .

Oh, getting lost but always finding the way in the end. That's good. It would really be hilarious if you have to call someone because you don't know how to go home :)

!LOLZ

I really want to buy one of those grocery checkout dividers
But the lady behind the counter keeps putting it back.

Credit: marshmellowman
@intishar, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @ifarmgirl

(1/4)
Have you tried the !gif !lolz !meme combo? It is a wall of fun!

😂😂..

I am testing gif for the first time here.
!gif !funny

It would really be hilarious if you have to call someone because you don't know how to go home

I was always lucky and still I am lucky. Somehow it's time I always get of any kind of problem or danger. But the most interesting thing is I don't trust my luck instead of a lucky man 😂

Haha, that's good then! Being lucky is lucky :) May luck be always be on your favor, lucky man😁

Kala ko Wanchai HK.. Similar sa photo

Haha, nawala din ako sa HK sis. Yon sana share ko kaso wala akong photo, tinamad akong buksan yung isang laptop, lol!
!LUV

Ako madaming beses na, tapus yung hinahanap, dinaan daanan lang pla ,😂😂 mapapamura ka talaga.. Lalo na nung bago pa lang ako..

Hahaha! Relate ako dyan sis. Yung pagod ka na't lahat saka mo makita, lol! Same din nung bago pa lang ako. Ilang beses ako nawala dyan. Nagtaxi-taxi na lang ako 😂

I'm so fornate to not be lost abroad. I was only abroad because of my time in the military. Often I was with numbers or were restricted to certain areas. I've been lost but nothing too serious. Probably my worst is forgetting where I park when I go shopping. Thank goodness for beeps on our cars through key fobs, lol.

That's great :) It's amusing getting lost although some become a good adventure.

Forgetting where you parked is quite funny but it definitely happens :)

Hahahaha, gomen, I just find it funny coz same tayong aanga anga sa direction. As for me naman, I don't go out lalo na I am not familiar sa mga lugar. Even here in our place di talaga ako palalabas kaya ang ending kahit taga dito ako, and if may mag ask ng direksyon, wala akong maituturo coz I don't really know hahaha. But at least in your case, okay na rin lalo at na satisfied ka ng bongga haha

Haha, yon naman sis, yung magtanong syo tapos d mo alam kasi d ka lumalabas, parang ikaw tuloy ang hindi taga dyan, lol!🤣

I can't stop laughing here. You are a great wonderer with no destination.hahaha. You don't get to Levi but at least you get your nail fix.😂😂

Glad this made you laugh 😁 There are other more hilarious getting lost experiences I had than this. Just that I didn't have the photos to go along with them, lol!

!PIZZA

So funny, and very interesting 👍

You've got a lot of guts going out on your own and not speaking the native language. I've been lost before, not in a big city but in the woods.

Maybe because I know there are people whom I can call on when I get into trouble, hehe.

What happened when you got lost in the woods? Did you find your way back or have you been rescued?

Found my way out. I was hiking on the Appalachian trail years ago. The trail is marked and somehow I got off of the beaten path. I ran into another hiker and walked along with him for about three miles before I knew where I was.
I've walked the Appalachian trail many times when we still lived in NJ. Spent 7 days and nights hiking it and covered about 65 miles of the trail in the Sunrise Mountain area.
That was the last time I ever went on a hike without a compass.

Oh wow.. That's quite an experience. Glad you found your way back. A compass is a must-have when going on a hike with such an extensive mountain.

Found my way out. I was hiking on the Appalachian trail years ago. The trail is marked and somehow I got off of the beaten path. I ran into another hiker and walked along with him for about three miles before I knew where I was.
I've walked the Appalachian trail many times when we still lived in NJ. Spent 7 days and nights hiking it and covered about 65 miles of the trail in the Sunrise Mountain area.
That was the last time I ever went on a hike without a compass.

The city is really busy and has a lot of locals and tourists as well. Damn, the cute umbrella is so perfect to use this summer. I laughed a little when I read that the name of the food place is KungFu. Haha. That's so cute!

Hehe yes DM. The fast food is named as such and their logo is Bruce Lee's.

!PIZZA

The Arrow which is not aimed can still it it's mark.

Hmm, thank you :)

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
ifarmgirl tipped adedayoolumide (x1)
@ifarmgirl(3/5) tipped @dennnmarc (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Sana all nakapunta ng China? Hehe

Hehe, don ako nagwork :)