A Runaway Met A Homeless On One Weekend (WE#116)

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

August 29, 2022

The silence was so deafening as I opted to cut off the relentless chaos coming from the inside of my own home. I locked myself inside my room and covered my ears so I couldn't hear the noise from the outside. I couldn't call our house home anymore as it seems to be wrecked by mistakes and misconceptions. Everyone is battling over another to prove who is right or wrong. My tranquility has been ruined, I couldn't take seeing and hearing more chaos anymore.

Should I escape even just on the weekend and run away from them? My mind said. Just until my tranquility is back. Is there even a chance? My mind answered.

The chaotic situation rose when information from my physician came like a bolt from the blue and impacted our day. It was an unacceptable fate and people around me were looking for something or someone to be blamed. Nobody wants it, I don't either.

This weekend I found out I only have one year to live and I ran away. This was something I wanted to try in my entire life as it only revolved around my work and family. I want to experience something new. I want to be free and do things I ever wanted to do in my entire life.

While looking at my cabinet, I seemed to have a fixed decision afterward and picked my backpack up. Gathering all my courage and strength, I climbed to my window and jumped from it. I ran away without leaving any notice to my family as they seemed not to care about my feelings anyway.

I passed through the stretched road following the direction just to where my feet wanted me to settle for a weekend. The huge waves and blue ocean seemed to have called me so I headed to a faraway resort.

IMG_20220827_210511.jpg

A place where my family couldn't find me in case they care about my sudden disappearance, although the chance is too little. In my mind, I said that it would be a perfect spot for a great weekend escape.

I was greeted by a grand spiral staircase going up to the lobby of the resort's hotel.

IMG_20220827_213145.jpg

After booking, I went straight to my room and rested on the soft mattress. While facing the ceiling I was contemplating what to do in the next two days. Switching off my phone was the first thing I did just so they couldn't contact me or trace my whereabouts.

The next morning, I opted to visit an alfresco restaurant and grabbed a coffee and food I wanted to eat despite being restricted. I didn't care at all. I will die soon anyway.

IMG_20220827_214244.jpg

Then I walked around the town after. While roaming around, I witnessed the simple life of the villagers trying to make a living. Most of them were making money through sailing in the vast ocean, conquering enormous waves, just to catch fish that they could sell at the market to make ends meet.

IMG_20220827_221020.jpg

While looking at the old villagers, thoughts were running through my mind. Others are indulging in their luxurious life, while some are struggling to make a living. Others want to end their tough life, some want to live longer but with an unfavorable fate. I felt jealous upon looking at old villagers and commended them at the same time for reaching longer lives.

One year is still long. My mind said.

At the top of the cliff, I went next to see a tranquil place. Admiring the beauty of nature somehow helps to heal my mind and hopefully, it could also prolong my life. For a moment, I felt like my tranquility was slowly restored and I just sighed upon thinking of my bitter fate.

IMG_20220827_222454.jpg

This is my fate. And I should accept it and just make the remaining days happier. My mind said.

As I checked my bag to get some water, a small notebook appeared in my sight. It contained my bucket list and things to do before I die. An upward curve formed on my lips upon knowing the place I was in had all of them.

Ziplining was what I did next located a few distances from the cliff. It was exhilarating and gave me a feeling of liberation. I felt like I was a bird that has been caged for a long time and was freed.

Image by Tyson Downs from Unsplash

On the top of the mountain was a platform for paragliding. I did as I wished and unhesitantly tried it with the assistance of the staff. I didn't care about heights as I wasn't afraid of them. I just want to be free and fly like a bird.

Image by Vicente Núñez from Unsplash

After that moment, I felt relieved and renewed. As if I was healed by the wind. Then a question was formed in my mind, "should I try bungee jumping from the cliff to the ocean?" that would be suicidal.

It was the end of the weekend and I was ready to let go of everything on the top of the mountain. I have no reason to live for a year. It is no different if I end it too soon. My house is chaotic, my family is too. I did what I wanted to experience in life, I can already go at any time.

IMG_20220828_110429.jpg

Slowly, I walked toward the end of the cliff and was ready to fly without any harness. I was ready to leave this world in that beautiful spot. But a young voice echoed that halted my plan.

"Stop it!" Cried by someone behind me.

As I looked back, a young female kid was begging me to stop my plan. She looked scared and I felt worried upon seeing her face.

"What are you doing here? Where's your family?" I asked her.

"I once have a sister, but she took her life there, after our parents' death."

I got muted. I didn't know what to say.

"So every day, I come here to see this place. To stop whoever will do the same thing. I may be young, but life is too precious to be wasted. It was my mother's words before she left us. Unfortunately, my sister doesn't want to handle the burden so she opted to follow them."

"And how old are you? Don't you have a house?"

"We have a small house in the village. The villagers are kind and they offer me food sometimes. Oftentimes, I would go with the fishermen to catch fish, and they would give me extra coins as well. For a year being alone, I was able to survive and would continue until I saw the real world."

"Are you sure you can survive longer?"

"I know it's tough, but I will try. I don't want to give up easily. I still want to see the world and experience happy things."

"You are full of dreams. What if you get sick? Who will take care of you? You look so young."

"And that would be the time that I'll accept my end. If it'll be the end."

"You are only young, but already think rationally. Do you know the reason why I want to end my life on the cliff? I only have one year to live. There's no point in waiting, and I don't want to see people crying around me."

"Then spend your remaining days happily with the people you love. I saw you were happy earlier and I felt happy while seeing you happy. I followed you from the village. But you disappointed me when you ended up here. Don't you want to do more?"

For a moment, I was silent. Tears started to roll down my cheeks. How come a young lady knows a lot more than me? Why am I too selfish and not considering what my family would feel if I'll be gone too early? I felt too stupid and harsh to myself for depriving it to live for another year.

I reached my hand to the girl and asked her.

"Do you want to come with me?"

She smiled and grabbed my hand.

We went to her house that day and packed her things. We walked around the village to say goodbye and thank the villagers. The girl reassured them that she'll be in the right place and that they shouldn't worry. It was already dawn when we left the village and she bid goodbye to it for the last time.

Image by Kate Gundareva from Pexels

On our way back home, I could hear my mother crying from a distance and my father was consoling her. As an only child, it would be hard for them to accept that I only have one year to live. They blamed each other for putting me in this situation, which in fact, no one should be blamed for.

I stepped into the house and as they saw me, happiness was painted on their faces. They ran into me and hugged me with a little upbraiding for running away without notice. I said sorry and swore not to do it again. I was wrong after all and they still care about me.

They noticed the girl and asked me who she was.

"Hey girl. Introduce yourself to my parents."

She bowed her head and said, "Hello, I am Jane."

It surprised us as we have the same name and I didn't expect it. My parents looked happy upon hearing it.

"Yeah. It's Jane. And she will be part of this family."

I may leave the world someday, but at least, someone will replace me and would ensure that my parents won't be lonely and sad until they grow old.

The end.


Hey guys, this is just fiction in response to the current Weekend Engagement challenge by @galenkp. If you haven't read about the challenge yet, click the given link above.

And this was the topic I chose.

Screenshot_20220827_215205.jpg

I hope you liked it. And thanks for stopping by.

(All photos are mine, except those with references)

FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCXDhCdbKLssUZHyzgV8BMivE5JBKjj6Z1mXGKEa2poFtSmgk8UUkkrURjvkmRJDTSPWo525rjc3ZyuTfsicGv3jrGn5u45Mc3UzoYhkXFZRSLN.webp

20220809_221527_0000.png

Sort:  

Ang ganda miss jane 😍pero di ko kaya ganyan ,takot ako sa hieghts😁

Ako go ako jan haha. Kung may chance.

Wow! I love the essence and the storyline of this fiction. I'm hooked from its stages of adventure, what and where the character will go. It's very dramatic yet it maintains the position of thrill.

Such a well-written story ate!

Thank you..my first thought was to make a fiction about the homeless...but later I change this prompt and added homeless instead. Mixing two prompts at the same time. Hehe

Ganda ng story ate, open ending sya ah. Ang galing how you used some of your photos here sa story. ❤❤

Hehe...nacoconnect kc sa story kya why not gamitin hehe

tama nga naman ate!

Ang emotional!
From abrupt layas to exciting gala to a hopeful ending~
Niceee ung own photos mo pa nagamit mo~

Haha.. You know magaling ako jan sa layas2 🤣.. Those were actually adventures I want to try.. Sinama na 🤣..

A captivating story, I enjoyed it. Did not expect the two girls to have the same name, that was a cool ending.

Just to have someone a replacement for her when she dies.. would be great to put the same name..hehe..

Do you know what? When you asked if she could follow you, I knew that she would replace you when finally, you leave which will not happen soon. At least it's a fiction and I enjoyed how you composed it.

Even if we are sure of leaving this earth, we should spend the remaining moment with our loved ones. That is the best thing ever. One will die happily thinking of such moments spent.

I popped in through Dreemport 🤗

Oh Jane, this is a really beautiful fiction story, you did really well with the image source as well and also your own images were on point.

Sometimes it's hard to know that you have a specific time to live but that shouldn't give us the right to take a life tagt we can never give. That little girl is indeed an angel, it would not have be wise if the girl had drown herself in the water.

Nice writeup dear, keep up the good work. Dreemport brought me here.

Thank you.... But if that happens to me, I might do the same. Actually, those were things I want to do before I die 🤣. Except the suicidal stuff lol..

Hahaha of course minus the sucide part, I guessed so because I always knew you to be the adventurous person and I'm very sure you will do those things 🥰🥰.

You know, at first, I didn't know it was a contest. I was genuinely worried and empathetic. Emotions were rolling already, so I stopped, scrolled to the end of the post to confirm what I am reading before I went on with it.

It is really a nice piece! The photos are just pro-level!

Thank God for little Janey's arrival as she did not only save the day but made you see your family still craves your presence. Amazing work with the pen.

Waltzed in through dreemport.

And her attempt was like a blessing in disguise 🙂

Yes, it was..glad you found her😀😀

Perfect talaga huhu

Love the pictures. An interesting read too. Hi there!