WEEKEND EXPERIENCE - Getting to experience USA Thanksgiving here in South Africa!


An absolute feast!

Hello everybody on HIVE! My name is Jasper, and I'm writing to you from Cape Town in South Africa.

My wife, Julia, and I have made friends with an artist who is living in Cape Town. Her name is Olivia and she is originally from the United States of America. Knowing that Thanksgiving was around the corner, we asked Olivia if she would like to celebrate early with us last Saturday, and teach us South Africans a thing or two about it!

Julia's parents have a nice big garden and were willing to host us, and Olivia and Julia got to inviting friends to join in the occasion. I think they actually celebrate Thanksgiving on Thursday this week?


I had a bit of facial hair from not shaving, which I was able to shape into looking as stereotypically American as possible! Hahaha! (I finished shaving the following morning!)


My sister-in-law is holding my baby daughter's hand while another young family enjoys the swimming pool - summer is definitely on the way in South Africa!


Beautiful decorations with a pumpkin theme!

Yum! I have always been told that turkey tends to get dry. However, my mother-in-law is an excellent cook who did it in a bag to stop this from happening, and the turkey was actually excellent! Mash, carrots, corn-bread and brussel sprouts round off the meal!

We had a fabulous time, my notorious guitar came out, and then dessert included Thanksgiving classics like pumpkin pie and key lime pie!

Of course, the whole point is to be thankful! Thankful for good friends from around the world, and good food!

THE END

Sort:  

Greetings, it is very beautiful and a special day for the family, sitting all together and thank God if provision, in my country is not our culture, but if I could have that experience many years ago when I was visiting, I remember I was given a turkey that weighed 8 kilos, wuuuaaauuu, it was impressive how well we spent in the company of a family with whom he lived.

The ol' baking bag trick is very effective. Your pseudo-American facial hair? Not so much! XD

Hahaha! I love the 'stache!

I have never cooked a turkey. There are apparently a number of tricks to prevent it from drying out. That bag trick does sound like a winner. My gran always used to use roasting bags. I just smother everything in butter and wine and hope for the best 🤣