Reflect On My One Year Journey || Serving My Father Land

in Weekend Experiences4 years ago (edited)

It all started on one particular morning, when we were told to register online for mobilization for National Youth Service Corps (NYSC). Everyone was eager to register on time so they could be posted to a state of their choice, I was one of the person in the business of registering other students. I wasn't in a rush to register when I came to understand the range of states available for south south region. 90% of the states available were northern region, among which Adamawa, Borno and Yobe were given as a state of insecurity and if posted there, after 3 weeks in camp you can be redeployed to a state of your choice. Knowing fully well that I don't want to spend one year in the north, I choose Yobe state and some other states.

I wasn't surprised to see in my posting letter that I was posted to Yobe state, in fact I was happy because I could easily redeploy to another state after camp. On the other hand my Mum and siblings were not happy about my posting due to the Boko haram issues in Yobe state. We were given three days to report in camp, I and some other prospective corp members were to travel together but I wasn't OK with their time of movement so I left a day earlier. Going online, I was told that a luxurious bus would be available on a Sunday morning going to Yobe from Onitsha. I left from Delta State to Anambra State to board a bus. Getting there, there wasn't any direct bus available so I had to break my journey by going to Kano state, then to Yobe State. I wrote about my journey in my previous post here which was an initiative organized by @belemo in #hivenaija community.

My journey to Yobe state was a fulfilled one not minding the vehicle setback at some point, I was happy that I didn't travel together with other corp members because their vehicle setback was worst than what I experience and they also arrived late to camp in an ungodly hour.

IMG_20191120_154610_241.jpg

IMG_20191107_111922_4.jpg

We spent our 3weeks camp in a school in potiskum Yobe state because the camp ground is under renovation at the moment. The camp activities were fun but the part that wasn't fun to me is waking up by 4am to be in parade ground by 5am. I joined in the parade competition even though my platoon didn't win but it was fun. Our kaki and jungle boots were given to us in big sizes, I had to do some amendment on it before putting it on. I didn't wear the boots much because I couldn't reduce the size. It was really too big for me😀.

IMG_20191112_102612_6.jpg

IMG_20191109_173111_3.jpg

I met some of my school mates there and I also made some friends there, most of the people posted there were from South, East and West of Nigeria. We were referred to as white fowl by the military men because we were always dressed on white.

DSC_9976.jpg

DSC_1040.jpg

Some morning we practice only matching while some other time we go for Man O'War activities. Which is really the fun part and a little scary.

challenge-899048_1280.jpg
Pixabay
We did this but ours was a dry ground not inside a mud or anything like that. I wouldn't have agreed to try it out if it was muddy, we were lucky that during out 3weeks in camp, it didn't rain not even once. If it had they would have made us match under the rain.

IMG_20191123_140905_707.jpg

Snapchat-365227020.jpg
It was carnival day, the dress code for the day was white and Jean trouser, face mask was optional. Its a day whereby different platoon are to pick a tribe to display their culture. Afterwards the soldiers made a match pass display which was the highlight of the day.


After camp, I redeployed to Ibadan, Oyo state. Not sure why I choose Ibadan, I didn't want to go to the East because I am from there, neither do I want to go to the South because I reside there. I wanted to know how the West was like, I guess that's why I choose Ibadan. My first day in Ibadan, I was about shedding tears because of the ancient houses and how unkept the entrance of the city was. I wish I could redeploy back to the East but it was already late for that. I gat to be strong and face life as it comes. Due to my crowd issue, I refused to be posted to school instead I was posted to Ministry of Education where I worked as an office assistant to the Register of Evaluation Department.

IMG_20200228_093502_9.jpg

2020-02-28-11-05-12-360.jpg
My boss and his colleagues were the best set of people to work with, they were lively, caring, understandable, reliable and ready to put you through in any area that seem difficult to understand. I work Monday to Wednesday, then Thursdays are for Community Development Service (CDS).

IMG_20200212_093054_132.jpg

IMG_20200312_103246_7.jpg
Our dress code for CDS is normally white and kaki trousers, with white boots, the jacket is optional. On this particular day, we went to visit a special school for Handicap with some gifts and fund. This was really an emotional experience, seeing kids with different disabilities trying to be Educated. While those that are born right are refusing to be Educated of make their life meaningful. It was heart breaking.

IMG_20200313_170808_956.jpg
During my stay in Ibadan, I was able to visit a friend from school who was already serving in Oyo State. Visiting him was also an opportunity to do some site seeing. My service year was not as long (12months) as it should be because of the pandemic. I served for 5months which was great to me. I was able to acquire driving skill, baking and a professional course in safety during my time here in Ibadan. I would love to gain a first hand experience in safety backed up with my certificate. I love to test the waters, try out different skills and maybe settle for one soon.

Yesterday being 16th of October brought to an end my one year service, due to the pandemic, the normal Passing Out Ceremony was canceled. We were to dressed fully kitted with our kaki to collect our NYSC certificate.

IMG_20201016_130658_004.jpg

IMG_20201016_125738_205.jpg

Snapchat-1805285058.jpg

Wow!! It was one hell of a long journey and also a long post hahaha. Hope you didn't get tired of reading😋, do support with comment and upvote. Thanks

Discord: jizzyjoe

Sort:  

That's like the military for young people?

Yea, it is

Congratulations @jizzyjoe! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 500 replies. Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

The pendemic really did a lot of damage but then it's life we hardly expect it. Your camera is quite good. Lovely shots by way. So base in PH or Lagos?

Not sure yet, family house in warri, but not staying there for long

Haha, okay Lagos would be good though. We'd be glad to have you here

That's if you have a job for me😀

Congratulations!

Thanks dear