Jungle 1 / KrazzyTrukker 0

The Weekend Disaster...

( Just the latest of many.)

Let me set the scene. (Pic 1 & 2 below) It is early morning with the sun just breaking through the tree line to the east. The first few cooler mornings (57°F/14°C as I type this) of the fall season are here in N. FLA. (usa) The tractor is running with the weed trimmers in the front bucket. Soon to be parked under a shade tree on the south end of the property. In that tractors front hydraulic bucket is one gas powered Poulan model trimmer and a second DeWalt battery powered unit. (Pic 3)

The plan was to trim along the outside of the fence line. A wire fence with wooden posts and board combination. (Pic 4) It is the hardest area to trim of the 11.56 acres we call the Pookyville Cat Ranch.

"Weed Whacking", is what some call it. Otherwise known as "Line" or "String" trimming. Where a spinning wheel with a heavy gauge plastic string attached cuts the foliage.

The reason for the difficulty is trimming up against the wires takes a steady hand so as not to destroy the plastic string.

I was only minutes into the trimming where I encountered some vines and small oak tree sprouts that require higher speeds. I usually run the gas trimmer at around half speed. But on a full rev I felt a sharp pain in my left shin. When trimming I always wear long pants or sweat pants when trimming for protection from flying debris. So I have been hit hard many times in the legs.

Thinking nothing of it except for: "fucken ouch, that was a hard hit..."

I continued on with the task at hand. Within a minute or so I felt a wetness on my ankle just below the spot that took the hit. I knew right away what it was. And upon my further inspection this was verified by pulling up the cuff of my pants leg to reveal a blood soaked sock and a gushing puncture wound just to the left of my shin bone. I then realized it was a very deep puncture as whatever had made the wound had hit the bone. (Pic 5)

A bit of a panic set in as this was a shit ton of blood and it was still gushing more out. I have always been a bit of a tough guy when it comes to taking hits. But I realize as I am getting older now. I am just not that tough anymore.

I made a fast tractor ride to the house. I am not a doctor. But the first aid I administered to meeself was top notch. I applied peroxide, antibiotic ointment and a dressing to the wound. Took some advil and went out and "Weed Wacked" for nearly 3 more hours.

Maybe that was a bit much. But there is that tough guy flaw again. I still have to do the inside of the fence on the south half of the ranch. That will be Saturday morning where I will snap a few photos at the scene of...

This Weekends Disaster...

Stay tuned for the Next.

Photo 1 & 2
Daybreak @ The Pookyville Cat Ranch

IMG_20221001_075511.jpg

IMG_20221001_075357.jpg

Photo # 3 A Bucket Fulla Wackers

IMG_20221001_075436.jpg

Photo # 4 The Fence

IMG_20221001_075602.jpg

Photo # 5 The Wound

IMG_20221001_075705.jpg

As always a BIG THANKS to the #weekend-engagement curation team. 🤣😆🤣 What an awesome bunch of nutbags they are to have done this community for so long. And it just keeps getting better.!!

Keep on KrazzyTrukkin.!!

Sammi Jo & Me.jpg

Sort:  

What wonderful photos, but that much blood and hitting the bone? Sounds like you should be wearing shin guards mate. I'm glad you got yourself patched up and carried on although, I probably would have gone a bit easy afterwards.

Sammi Jo is very pretty.

Sammi Says "Meow"

Cat speak for pretty much everything... LoL

Priced some chainsaw chaps and Carhardt bib overalls just yesterday.

I have taken some shin bruises over the years due to sticks and such kicked out by the trimmer. But never a deep puncture. One in a million and mee thinks a nail or piece of wire got me just right.??

Please give her a chin scratch from me 🙂

Chainsaw chaps should do the trick nicely. It must have been something metal, but let's just hope that it wasn't something that's now embedded in your leg!

Keeping a close watch for infection. 😉

Look after yourself Krazzy, those chainsaw pants will help avoid mishaps next time. To many great trimming sessions going forward with less blood-loss hopefully.