My experience with sleep paralysis. / Mi experiencia con las parálisis de sueño. ❌❌❌

Hello Hive friends! ❤️. I hope you had sweet dreams. With this serene image I want to start my post today. Last Friday in The Weekend community, the friend @galenkp proposed, like every Friday, a theme to engage the weekend. This time the idea was to talk about our first times of whatever, and I decided to tell my first time with sleep paralysis. Galenkp suggested that it would be nice to write a post about it so, here I am 👻.

¡Hola amigos de Hive! ❤️ Espero que hayan tenido dulces sueños. Con esta serena imágen quiero empezar mi post de hoy. El viernes pasado en la comunidad The Weekend, el amigo @galenkp propuso, como todos los viernes, un tema para comprometernos con el fin de semana. Esta vez la idea era hablar de nuestras primeras veces de lo que sea, y yo decidí contar mi primera vez con las parálisis de sueño. Galenkp sugirió que sería bueno hacer un post al respecto así que aquí estoy 👻.

01-1.jpg
Source / Fuente

For those of you who have never heard of this, a sleep paralysis occurs when your body falls asleep but your mind does not. So, it's as if you are trapped in your immobile body, unable to move or speak but with the ability to see everything around you. This situation makes you despair, so your mind begins to hallucinate horrible things as if it were a nightmare. I chose this cover image because this is exactly how I feel during these episodes that, according to the internet, last a few minutes but in relative times seem eternal.

Para aquellos que nunca han escuchado sobre esto, una parálisis de sueño ocurre cuando tu cuerpo se duerme pero tu mente no. Entonces, es como si te quedaras atrapado en tu cuerpo inmovil, sin poder moverte ni hablar pero con la capacidad de ver todo a tu alrededor. Esta situación te hace desesperar, por lo que tu mente comienza a alucinar cosas horribles como si fuera una pesadilla. Elegí esta imagen de portada porque así es exactamente como me siento durante estos episodios que, según internet, duran unos pocos minutos pero en tiempos relativos parecen eternos.

qq.jpg
Source / Fuente

My first episode of sleep paralysis was during my graduate trip of high school. That week was intense: we walked a lot and slept little, so we all had a bad rest. One night, when I was lying down about to fall asleep, I realized that I couldn't move. It was very strange because I kept seeing the light coming through the bedroom window, but I couldn't move or make any sound. This whole situation scared me a lot and also I saw someone standing at the foot of my bed. This was terrifying and when it seemed that I was going to die of fear, my body woke up. My heart was beating very fast. I woke up all my friends and told them what happened, but I'm not sure if they understood the experience I described.

Mi primer episodio de parálisis de sueño lo tuve durante mi viaje de egresados de la secundaria. Esa semana fue intensa: paseabamos mucho y dormíamos poco, por lo que todos descansábamos mal. Una de las noches, cuando estaba acostada a punto de dormirme, me di cuenta de que no podía moverme. Era muy raro porque seguía viendo la luz que entraba por la ventana de la habitación, pero no podía moverme ni emitir ningún sonido. Toda esta situación me hizo asustar tanto, que se me hizo ver a alguien parado a los pies de mi cama. Esta situación fue terrorífica y cuando parecía que me iba a morir de miedo, mi cuerpo se despertó. El corazón me latía muy rápido. Desperté a todos mis amigos y les conté lo ocurrido, pero no estoy segura de si entendieron la experiencia que les describí.

unnamed.gif
Source / Fuente

Since then, I have had frequent sleep paralysis. When I started the university, I was very stressed by exams, so when I fell asleep my brain was still racing so I was very prone to having these episodes. During all of them, I have seen horrible things: all kinds of specters, I heard voices, I have even seen my own relatives who entered my room but none of this was true, it was all a product of my brain.

The hiver @paradoxtma asked me if during this paralysis I can move from my place, something like an astral travel. The answer is no, I cannot move from the place where I'm lying. I see everything I saw before closing my eyes, I can't see beyond.

Desde entonces, he tenido parálisis de sueño frecuentemente. Cuando empecé la universidad, vivía muy estresada por los exámenes, por lo que cuando me dormía mi cerebro seguía acelerado entonces era muy propensa a tener estos episodios. Durante todos ellos, he visto cosas horribles: todo tipo de espectros, escuché voces, hasta he visto a mis propios familiares que entraban a mi habitación pero nada de esto era cierto, era todo producto de mi cerebro.

El hiver @paradoxtma me preguntó si durante as parálisis puedo moverme de mi lugar, algo así como un viaje astral. La respuesta es que no, no puedo desplazarme del lugar en donde estoy acostada. Veo todo lo que veía antes de cerrar los ojos, no puedo ver más allá.

ilustraciones-paralisis-del-sueño-04.jpg
Source / Fuente

Currently, I can control my thoughts during paralysis because I have had so many that I already remain calm when I'm facing one. I'm not scared, I'm only "aware" that nothing I see is true and I wait for it to pass. Every so often, I try to move my hand until I finally succeed and that's the end of the story.

Now, I don't have paralysis that often. Precisely since I finished university, which was when my stress level dropped a lot. To my surprise, a few days ago I had another. I think it was because I stayed up late and my cats wouldn't let me get comfortable in bed, so I could't sleep well. It's what I suppose.

Actualmente, puedo controlar mis pensamientos durante la parálisis porque he tenido tantas que ya mantengo la calma cuando estoy ante una. No me dejo asustar, solo soy "consciente" de que nada de lo que veo es cierto y espero a que se me pase. Cada tanto, intento mover la mano hasta que finalmente lo logro y fin de la historia.

Ahora, no tengo parálisis tan seguido. Precisamente, desde que terminé la universidad, que fue cuando mi nivel de estrés bajó muchísimo. Para mi sorpresa, hace unos días tuve otra. Creo que fue porque me quedé despierta hasta tarde y mis gatos no me dejaban acomodarme bien en la cama, entonces no podía dormir bien. Es lo que supongo.

paralisis-del-sueno-o-por-que-no-puedes-moverte-a-veces-cuando-te-despiertas-banner.jpg
Source / Fuente

Based on what I investigated on Internet, the treatment for this is to accommodate sleep schedules and rest well. I have it quite controlled, but sometimes, it can fail 👻.

Según lo que investigué en Internet, el tratamiento que hay para esto es acomodar los horarios de sueño y descansar lo suficiente. Lo tengo bastante controlado, pero a veces, puede fallar👻.

➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖

What about you? Have you had any experiences similar to this?
¿Que hay de ustedes? ¿Han tenido alguna experiencia similar a esta?

➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖

Hope you liked this post! Thanks for reading.
¡Espero que les haya gustado este post! Gracias por leer.

07.jpg
Source / Fuente

With love. / Con amor.
Lau 💕.

Sort:  

What a picture you just posted here it’s really scary I’m afraid I can’t sleep maybe tonight😁😂

Hahahahaha quiet, they are just a few simple drawings. Or not 😂.

Is it really simple to you I don’t think this is simple ha ha Ha

At first it was not easy, it was very scary. Now I'm aware that it is like a dream so I'm not so scared.

With this serene image I want to start my post today.

Serene image? Downright frightening image you mean!

I'm glad you made this post to shed some light on this issue...I'd never heard of it until you mentioned it in my weekend-engagement post...Nice work and thank you.

Hahahaha the image is a bit scary, the artist managed to perfectly portray what it feels like. Thanks to you and for your suggestion ❤️.

It was a good post throwing light on a pretty interesting and obviously quite scary thing. ✅

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you ❤️

Cool stuff. I have have experienced once in a while too. The theory is that its like we get stuck in between the wakeful part of our brain, and the REM sleep. I have been working in a sleep lab for 10 years, so i love learning about sleep. I cant see when people have it on my studies, but we know when people sleep and wake up. We primarily diagnose sleep apnea and put CPAP on people.

Glad to hear you have found a way to control yourself when its happening. Thats all we can do is to let it pass. Keep rockin.

Exactly. How interesting that you have worked in a sleep laboratory, I would like to see what it looks like from the outside when that is happening. Surely everything looks normal, but inside you are suffering from fear 😂.

😳😳😳😳😳😳😳😳😳😳😳😳😳😳😳😳

Hahaha I hope you don't have nightmares.