Weekend Adventures on the Road and Trail

in Weekend Experiences11 months ago (edited)

Hello, weekend lovers!

It's finally Monday on my side of the Earth. How great would it be to have extra days in between Saturday and Sunday, right?

I saw @galenkp 's prompt for the week and — although there are only four hours (as of the writing) to the deadline — I decided to jump in and quickly share how my weekend has been.

You see, I was able to cover an almost 30-kilometer distance during my recent two activities.

Saturday Exploration Hike

As most of you know, I often spend my weekends out hiking in the mountains of Cebu. My friends and I usually frequent the nearest and mot budget-friendly trails like the Spartan Trail and Babag Trail. On rare occasion though, when the gang gets a little more adventurous, we tend to explore the off-beaten paths.

Like what we had this Saturday.

If memory serves right, the last time I joined them on an exploration hike was way back in February when we first discovered the existence of Lumadnong Lantawan Swimming Pool, a curious pool on top of a mountain. Although I was not 100% sure if I’m physically ready to go on another exploration, I agreed to join the exploration in Talamban. Curiosity kills the cat, but satisfaction brought it back, they say.

Perhaps, if time permits, I’d write a more detailed account of this exploration hike in the future, but one thing is for sure: I miss the feeling of walking into the unknown. There’s beauty in not knowing where the path leads us and then discovering something new in the end. As @kev.incredible aptly described, it was a hike that exceeded our expectations.

We ended up hiking a total of 16.26 kilometers and went home happy to have found a new route that connects to the Budlaan Trail — one that is more challenging and does not require us to pay the Php 75 motorcycle fare.

Sunday Urban Walk

James and I agreed to cover more distance on the next day as a preparation for our upcoming major climb. This time, we agreed to just walk around the city, specifically on the jogging area within Cebu Business Park.

It was also a great opportunity to try out my new arch support insoles. You see, I have flat feet due to my collapsed arches. I’m not sure what caused it or if it was by birth, but I just recently paid attention to it when I started jogging and walking on concrete. For some reason, I don’t feel the same pain when hiking on trails.

Before, I don’t really consider a lot when buying shoes so long as I like it and the price suits my budget. Now, I’ve learned a lot.

I learned that for more comfort and better performance, I need to choose those shoes that offer arch support or use orthotic inserts. There are also several strengthening exercises to avoid overpronation and plantar fasciitis but the lazy in me still finds it hard to commit. Haha.

Anyway, I find this urban walk a refreshing way to start the Sunday. Exercising outdoor with the sun slowly rising over horizon gives off a different kind of feeling. James and I ended up walking a total of 12.20 kilometers. Not bad, huh? :D

Sort:  

The scenery is beautiful and it must have been a great adventure.

It was! 😁😁 thanks for reading

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Why you had an awesome and exciting weekend pala, truly an adventure. That's a great way to spend your weekend, pagod man sa haba ng lakad mahalaga, masaya at nag enjoy ka ng bonggabels (人 •͈ᴗ•͈)

If ganyan ang aabutan ko na view, sulit ang pagod ☺️

Naa najud koy trauma aning walking2x or jogging2x sa dalan. Dali kaayo mo sakit ako shins haha