[Week 118] The Meaning of Life... my weekend with Viktor Frankl

Greetings to everyone in the @theweekend community, the theme I chose this time is the Weekend shared with Viktor E. Frankl.

When I read the proposal of the characters, I didn't connect with any of them, however there was one I didn't know who he was, and just out of curiosity, I took his name and started to find out about him....

As I was reading about his biography I was excited to learn more about his experience and his work, so I decided to spend the weekend with him so he could tell me more about his life.


imagen.png

Source

•Book Spanish version: Viktor E. Frankl, What is not written in my books - memoirs


A fruitful conversation with Viktor Emil Frankl.

When I was told that we would spend the weekend together I set out to look for general information about him, you know, so as not to be so lost when I arrived. In my research I learned that he was born in Vienna, Austria from a Jewish family and that he was a psychiatrist, neurologist and philosopher, he was also the founder of his theory and therapeutic method called logotherapy and existential analysis.

The meeting would be in a beautiful location outside the city, surrounded by nature, where you can breathe a peace and tranquility...

After introducing ourselves, we arranged to meet for a walk through those beautiful landscapes. The conversation began when I told him that I had heard about his books, especially the best seller Man's Search for Meaning, a book he wrote based on his experience in the Nazi concentration camps.


imagen.png

Source


A sad story about the deportation of his wife and parents to the concentration camps from where they did not manage to survive; he told me that he had been in several of those extermination camps where he had a difficult experience that allowed him to discover the meaning of life in such an extreme situation. He lived a deep sadness and emptiness while searching for his relatives... desperately he searched everywhere, but unfortunately and cruelly he was left alone.

Continuing his story he told me that after all this, he has written more books, traveled around the world giving conferences transmitting his message and inspiring many lives. A man with a great sense of humor, despite his past, he said that life itself had a meaning and that we have the ability to discover the vital motivation, regardless of the circumstances in which we are and that we are also responsible for the attitude we have in the face of adversity.

"It is not enough to ask oneself about the meaning of life, but one must respond to it by responding to life itself." (Frankl, 1967).


imagen.png

Source


The weekend went on and in another of our conversations I asked him what Logotherapy and Existential Analysis were all about.

From what she explained to me, I understood that it was a psychotherapy that helps the human being to answer himself with love for life, seeks to guide people and enhance their capacity to be while discovering the meaning of life.

I told him that I practice Biodanza, a system of personal development that works with music and body movement in group, that also has to do with the meaning of life, when we look into each other's eyes is already present the meaning of life. Its creator was a Mr. Rolando Toro who once, in an interview was asked about the relationship between logotherapy and Biodanza, he answered that the meaning of life is not outside each one of us, but it is in our heart. Toro, ending, added that if he had met him, they would be great friends and he would invite him to dance...

Finally, I thanked him for everything he had taught me during the weekend and before saying goodbye, I played one of the songs we use in Biodanza and invited him to dance life.


Banners designed in Canva with the elements available in its free version
Photo edition in Banner made with ibis Paint X
Translated with www.DeepL.com (free versión)


imagen.png