Lockdown weekend away, back yard edition

Screenshot_20200915002752_Facebook.jpg

First things first this isn't a recent weekend it was around the time lockdown started and was really getting bad.

Typically for the Easter Long weekend we go away camping with family along the Murray and this year would have been my 3 yr olds first year of being into it.

Screenshot_20200915002742_Facebook.jpg

Being a baby the previous times you're pretty limited in what they can do. This year she was keen to go swimming, fishing and all the cool stuff that comes with camping.

Screenshot_20200915002804_Facebook.jpg

Unfortunately we weren't able to go away and lil miss 3 had her heart set on it. Roasting marshmallows and making toast.

Screenshot_20200915002747_Facebook.jpg

At that time Kmart and Target were still open and I saw they had cheap tents for sale. So I decided to get one and set it up at home for a surprise.

Screenshot_20200915002822_Facebook.jpg

I actually uploaded the above image to Facebook and people absolutely lost their shit at me. They thought I was at the beach. I poured sand onto the ground as the base of our fire pit but took some cheeky shots of it and made it look like I was at the beach.

Screenshot_20200915002828_Facebook.jpg

Lil miss 3 absolute loved the camping trip, even though we didn't go anywhere the experience for her was really fun. We made funny faces with the torches and told ghost stories.

Screenshot_20200915002833_Facebook.jpg

Camping out under the stars was great, seeing these images I might just have to do it again this weekend.

Sort:  

Camping is so cool when your kitty can sleep with you in the tent. Just sayin'

Just exactly the sort of thing that makes the abnormal into normal and good. You really did a great thing right there.

I had sort of forgotten, or maybe more correctly had no reason to think of our folks putting up THE tent a couple times a year and letting us sleep outside for a couple of nights at a time. It was great for us, and really not too much bother for my mom and dad. And it familiarized us with the family tent for the family camping trip in the fall. Big win.

Thanks for sharing a wonderful camping trip with us!

It was awesome, I was trying to think of a way to incorporate fishing but the Mrs wouldn't let me stock the pool with trout 🤣🤣🤣

Women are funny that way, aren't they? Maybe you could have pushed the 'keep dinner fresh until we are ready' line?

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I'll try that next time.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

What's the best substitute for camping in the outback? Camping in the back yard! Nice work mate. I reckon it's experiences like this, making the most of what life hands us, that are often the best memories. You know, the remember that time we camped in the back yard type of thing. Nice work mate, and this is exactly what this weekend community is all about!

Cheers brother. I think I'll do good here. Most my have you been here posts are my weekend exploring with my lil one. I now have 2 kids so it will be double the fun, our trouble lol

Yeah you'll do well mate, it's the family oriented fun weekend stuff that this community needs!

Lol @ double fun/double trouble. That's for certian!

Dude that's good dadding right there! Made a perfect little adventure for your daughter despite the circumstances. You da man! More father's out there should be emulating you mate. Great post!

Thank you brother. The only negative were the hoons speeding around. But I can't complain too much. I was young once too and would have gone on joy rides.

Hehe whenever i hear the word hoon i think of that episode of Housos. "We've enacted the 'anti homeboy law' to catch these bloody hoons!"

Or was it Fat Pizza. I dunno all the pauly fenich comedies sorta blend together for me.

Agreed man, this is awesome...I'll never have this experience as we're a childless couple, but I reckon memories like these will endure. A quality dad-act.

I agree. @melbourneswest is a good bloke. Glad he's here as I always enjoy his posts.

He's a good cobber...As are you too! We haven't chatted much lately man, I'v been busy at work and with other stuff...You know. I'm just trying to keep up with my normal activity plus an accelerated level of stress in the real world. All good though mate, not so easy to hold the G-dog down.

Pffft! Nothing stops the G-dog! No worries mate. You got a lot of stuff on your plate. Hanging out by the mailbox looking for that package. Although I think its probably still a week away. Its probably floating around the usa right now somewhere.

Some airline pilot is probably sprinkling that good shit on his airline food right this moment! Lol...Hope not.

The only way to hold the G-dog down is to kill him. It's been tried...But to no avail. Still rockin' it!

They better not be touching my shit! Thats my chicken salt!

Yeah I've had a few attempts on old Davo. Remember that guy in the gaming post I called Crazy Bret whos mom shot him. He tried stabbing me with a kitchen knife one time. Luckily true to form he was drunk and i was able to subdue and disarm him.

Another time i was in a car and heard what sounded like rocks hitting my friends car. We took off cause you know getting rocks thrown at your car is no good. Turns out the trunk and rear three quarters panels had a dozen 22lr holes in them. Some asshole was shooting at us.

And then theres the time I was at a range in LA. Cease fire was called and i started walking down my lane to check my target and maybe change paper when i hear the distinctive crack of 5.56 and the zinging sound bullets make when they pass within a metre of your head. Some dipshit who didn't speak or understand english didnt put his rifle on the bench and step away with the chamber open and decided his lane was still hot. He couldn't shoot worth shit either so his rounds were going a few lanes over. Was partly a lazy range masters fault it even happened. But man they grabbed that guy and manhandled his ass out of there. Think they banned him.

Guess your Facebook friends haven't come across

image.png

src

XD

Yay for backyard camping trips!

Ha, I love it! Both the camping and the trolling of overly excitable people :) I keep meaning to use the lockdown as an excuse to break out the tent but never did.

As much as I like going places to camp, the logistics of being in your own yard are hard to beat