That special person in your life

fb_img_1620367209677.jpg

Shout out to @galenkp on another beautiful #weekend-engagement topic, I really felt the love in his words when he wrote that post. The person he spoke of you can tell was very special and ment alot to him. I know the feeling.

It's hard to go past my wife when someone asked me who is the most special person in my life and it's not just because she's my wife. She's more than Just my wife. My partner and I have been together since we were 11 and 12, best mates at school and have been together throughout most our lives.

She's stood by my side throughout all my issues and trust me, guys tend to have a lot more problems growing up than women 😱 I've watched her grow from just a high school year 7 student to a full blown power house.

received_4478855592142493.jpeg

By day or more so by shift work she's on the ward saving lives as a surgical nurse. A job I would be too scared to do, she does it with a passion, it's a hard job as it takes you away from your family pretty much every public holiday. As younger people this ment missing out on alot of booze fuelled weekends. As every married man knows, if your wife can't go pull up a chair because you ain't going either 🤣. As advice for all those young men out there, don't sneak out and not tell her. They know, they always know.

fb_img_1620367226812.jpg

fb_img_1620367245190.jpg

From saving lives on the hospital floor to fighting for our future in the community, spending funds on youth, returned soldiers and alot more community need. Her health background in hospital has put her in contact with every single community member, group, demographic you can think of. We all end up sick eventually and the stories she hears, for many she is the last person they tell their story to.

She feels each one, each unique person. Their time on this rock, their hardships, what they would do differently if they had their time again. She's empowered by others and instead of feeling helpless heads out and helps.

fb_img_1620367263213.jpg

She's also a fantastic mother, caring, compassionate and when she's angry.... run 🤣 although I only ever seem to be the one getting into trouble 🤷‍♂️ she's always got time for people that's the thing that really resonates with me.

She won't turn you away if you approach her and seek her support she will always give you her time. Believe me, I've heard some really odd requests that I would probably not give a second thought to. But she always makes the effort to hear people out.

In life, we meet many people as we walk through our journey. Some we wish we had never met, others we'd beg for more time with and some just aren't around long enough to grow a connection with. But each person we meet brings their own lessons to teach. The way we see the world changes with the more people we make meaningful connections with.

Many we will lose touch with over the years, modern technology helps us randomly look up people on social media, I've done that a few times. I find myself doing it alot more as I get older especially when moments in time are trigged and a memory flashes to the front of my mind. I'll instantly pull out my phone and search for the person to see what they're doing now.

I don't know if I'm alone in that regard or if other people do the same.

Time travels so fast despite it feeling slow at times and for me I've been fortunate enough to have my best friend by my side for the majority of my life.

I only spent 11 years of my 35 not knowing her, every other day after that has been so much better with her in it. It still feels like yesterday that we were running around the school yard throwing tennis balls at each other.

Or how she'd tease me and I her, we often look back and think about it. It's a whole other level of connection being able to speak to someone about something that happened 20 years ago and they were there for it.

From saving lives to kicking ass we've been through it all, together.

I have to admit the hardest challenge in life is raising kids. Parenting is hard work, I'm sure it will get easier as the kids get older and we will wish they were small again. But for the current period, not a fan of the sleep deprivation.

But I totally love playing tiggy and hide and seek all over again! Looks kinda weird if adults do it in a shopping centre. Throw a kid into the mix and it's perfectly acceptable 🤣

Have a great weekend everyone!