From the sidelines

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

What is it?

One of my favourite weekend activities is an individual one but it can also be a group activity. I am a football spectator every weekend during the football season. It usually starts at least by the middle of August and continues until the end of June. I am not just any bystander, but an avid spectator because I am a mother watching my son’s football matches. This might not seem like much of a weekend activity, but it is an important one which I have now accepted, embraced and thoroughly enjoy. I look forward to going to matches. It has become a ritual.

Football match - May 2022

How long have I done it?

I have been doing this activity for about 12 years now. A few of us on the sidelines, have been together that long. We are the die-hards of the team and have the umbrella to prove it. Umbrella you ask? Yes, as the weather is not always agreeable in our neck of the wood, one year we were gifted red and black umbrella – the club colors. Upon opening the umbrella, on one section, there are some discreetly written words in white which reads “Come rain or shine – always there for my child!”

When and how do I do it?

My activity starts early Saturday mornings – the timing depends on whether it is an at-home or away match. My mode of transport depends on the location. Sometimes I walk, cycle or go by car. If it’s an away match, the day starts early. Sometimes my car is full of my son’s fellow team members - sometimes it is only my son. Whatever it may be I am almost always present – 99% of the time anyway.

I am never alone but fortunately or unfortunately, some parents change annually when boys are scouted away or stop playing. However, if real bonds are made – we still meet on or away from the football pitch. There are no rules or expectations - except when a parent offers to take the players to an away-match - if plans change there ought to be timely communicated.

How frequently is it done and what are the rules?

In a twist of roles, it my son’s participation that determines my activity. There is no trainer or official rules and guidelines to monitor us parent to ensure that we perform well. Being there is what matters. However, there are unwritten rules of decorum which should be inherent, but not for everyone. Some sons will either be embarrassed or elated that their parents are on the sidelines. Coaching from the sidelines is one thing but spontaneously entering the football pitch is a bit too much. That will never be appreciated. I have seen it happen but thank goodness that occurs seldomly. However, being vocal to the referee or trainer when their expertise did not match that of the parent – occurs more often. I have witnessed a parent or 2 being reprimanded and the match halted due to unfit behavior. Not the best example - even from a passionate parent.

Emotions

Despite unpredictable behaviors, emotions on the sidelines are valid and necessary! Squeals of joy, screams, cheers and even sighs of disappointment - are all needed. I am not a cheering parent but I will admit to screaming in excitement. I enjoy a good match and unexpected, skillful and amazing goals. My son claims to be able to distinguish my scream from the others. No complaints thus far however.

Passionate and supportive spectators are essential for all matches and the team members. They enliven the setting and create a vibrant atmosphere. Can you imagine a match where there is no sound from the spectators? I must say that some spectators shouting and impertinence, can be motivating for the boys. The support when the match is good and the boys are winning is always easy. However, when the boys are losing, silence would be deafening if there aren’t loud spectators cheering them on and encouraging the team.

I have seen so many matches – I feel I've now seen it all.
Games where:
-the match was exciting, fun and electrifying;
-the tension was high and simply nail-biting;
-the match was uninspiring, poorly refereed and boring;
-there was kicking, pushing, pulling and foul play;
-dreaded penalties changed the course of the match;
-the other side was better and the team played badly.

I have witnessed the exhilaration, joy and thrill of victory and also the tears, sadness and agony of defeat. We the sideliners were there to encourage and support no matter the circumstance. Whether the match ended with commiserations or congratulations – I love being there for my son and his team. I realise that every weekend, I thoroughly enjoy this sportive game, which I now love to observe - from the sidelines.


Photo taken taken by me with my iPhone 6S


This post is in response to @galenkp's Weekend Engagement Concept. I chose:

One weekend photo and 250 words

Show us a single photo of one of your most enjoyable weekend activities and write a minimum of 250 words about the activity. Your own photo must be used, and remember, only one single photo...and not of yourself, but the activity.

Sort:  

You're such a supportive mom. I haven't watched an actual football match in person yet. But this sport is really good. How I wish I can be as active as your son in terms of sports. Have a good day!

Watching a match can be fun but it can also be boring. I hope you will get a chance to see a good match.
Having a sport or some form of activity us a good thing for us all.

Wahoo....
What a supportive mom you are @momogrow 👏🤭🤭
I love that you dedicate your Saturdays all these years to support your child's dream despite the weather. Sure he will be so proud of his super mom.
What a lovely weekends over there👌👍

Thank you @nkemakonam89 - it is dedication indeed but to be honest it is just another part of mothering. Like other things it became a part of the family's routine.

Upon opening the umbrella, on one section, there are some discreetly written words in white which reads “Come rain or shine – always there for my child!”

This is so cute! die hard fans of their heroes.... Nice one momo

Thank you @burlarj and nice that you dropped by.

Wow! That's a good weekend experience for a parent like you since you support your child.
I'm amazed at your dedication to supporting your boy regardless of weather conditions.
How long has your boy played soccer, if you don't mind me asking?

Many thanks. Yes it keeps me busy -sometimes the entire Saturday. I guess my husband and I want to be supportive to encourage him to follow his dreams. We are busy parents. I am happy my other kids do not have a weekend activity.

I have this activity for about 12 years and it is indeed that long that I have been watching my son play. He started at 5 years old.

You’re a kick ass mom and your son’s friends must envy having you come to all his games. I know you won’t do it, but let me just say it even if for saying sake. Don’t ever stop going, it means a lot to him!

Coaching from the sidelines is one thing but spontaneously entering the football pitch is a bit too much.

I think I can recall a few situations where parents lost it at games and almost had one out with referees or coaches because their kid got in an unpleasant accident with another player, or things as petty as the kid getting substituted.

This is a great entry. And I like how you took your time with the writing. Great job!

Thanks for your encouraging comment. No we will not stop going to his matches. We are proud parent anyway and will provide support as long as this is his dream.

Indeed I have witnessed situations like you've described - it can become quite dramatic out there on pitch. People forget it is a game.

On behalf of your son and all kids with awesome parents like you, THANK YOU!!!

Super mom if you should ask me... Always there for your super star... As a football fan i can relate with all your real time experience. You do it from the sideline.. Showing strong support, whether it be at home or away, whether it be in the rain or sunshine. I from this part of the continent, do it from the TV and from social media!..

I pray your Son hits the limelight in his footballing career ahead of him!

Thanks for sharing!

Many thanks for your kind wishes for my son and your compliment.

You are one amazing and supportive mom! And it must be fun too watching your son play and grow through the years!

Many thanks @ifarmgirl - I remember his first day very well where he professed that he would play for the national team one day. He is on the right track so fingers crossed. It does take some commitment but it is part of the parenting journey and I enjoy it.

That is amazing :) All the best to him and I believe he will make it to the national team. He sure seems to be very committed. 12 years of playing is a milestone and you were with him 99% of the time which is really awesome.

!LUV

Many thanks @ifarmgirl - fingers crossed. Some of his teammates are already scouted and are with professional clubs - I am hopeful for him and his dreams.
Many thanks for the LUV. 😀

Wow, that's really cool. I'm sure he will be next too :) That's something to look forward to. He must be excited and hopeful too :)

Yes he is very hopeful. Thank you.
Finger crossed

Wow! 12yrs is a very long time. I know you always go to watch your son but I didn't know its been a 12-year activity and I can not even imagine making it to almost every game for 12yrs. Moreover, I think making it to some away matches and back can take up the entire day. That's some dedication or I would say LOVE tbh.

Every child would be proud of their parent sacrificing so much for them, your son definitely is and I guess its motivates him. I hope he makes you proud

I am not a cheering parent but I will admit to screaming in excitement.

It is also very exciting when you are having a conversation with your son or just anyone and you cite some scenarios or outcomes of some matches or match day experiences over the years which spice up the conversation :)

Aww many thanks for your comment. Indeed some Saturdays it is an all-day event. We have gotten used to it now. It does take dedication from our side and we are happy that our other kids do not have weekend activities or at the same time.
I hope it motivates him - as he grows older we do ask whether he still would like us to be there and he says yes. So that is a good thing.

Yes - recounting match days with my son and other parent is quite fun. We have a lot of shared experience with some of the parents.

Hi @momogrow,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

That's pretty cool to know.

Thanks for visiting my entry for the Weekend Experience prompt.

Congratulations @momogrow! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 3000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 3250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-08 - Winners List

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @momogrow.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more