Shared Weekend with My Ninety-Year-Old Self

jpg_20220910_164432_0000.jpg

Never in my life did I ever imagine that I would have a chance to see my 90-year-old self, let alone spend the weekend with her. I'm beyond thankful for such an opportunity. Having a chance to see myself as a ninety-year-old is a privilege because I, myself am certain that I wouldn't reach that age. Therefore, I shut that idea from my mind. With the food I take and the lifestyle I have, I doubt if I could make it to ninety. But here I am spending the weekend with my ninety-year-old self.

I'm astonished and curious as to what activities we would have to do to make the most of our time. I guess we won't stay outdoors that much. She doesn't like the sun I bet and from my record, she's not adventurous.

She's still the same me. From the way she views things. She still likes to do much because, in her mind, she's not ageing. She told me that she realized that what her grandma told her was true. That only the body grows old, the mind remains the same. Woah, I gasped at that realization my ninety-year-old self told me. Indeed, wisdom comes with age. I'm proud of her, my old alter ego. She told me what she has been through including the victories and the struggles. She never spared any. My ninety-year-old self is still talkative and she talks fast. I think the only thing that age slowed down is her speed of walking.

She regretted the days wherein she stopped learning how to swim. She got sad when I asked her about the places she has been. I got teary-eyed when she told me the reason. She had put off travelling because she wanted to save first for the family. She wanted to achieve her financial goals and save for her travel adventures first because she didn't want to sacrifice the little savings that she had. Until she got busy with work, all of her time was spent in school teaching children that she forgot to entertain her husband-to-be. Ahh, that's the reason why she's alone in the house. She got no children too. She had a boyfriend before but he left her as she was so engrossed with her work.

Now, she doesn't want to have fun under the sun because it will only remind her of him. She just wanted to stay indoors. Sit on her elegant wooden chair. She offered me the crochet materials. I obliged. I crocheted while she read the book, "The Fault in Our Stars".

After a few minutes, she prepared dinner for herself and me. It was pizza and pasta. Ahhh. Ninety-year-old me still eats unhealthy yet she's ninety. She rocks. I love that she is alone. After a few minutes, she ushered me to the door. She wanted me to go home because she wanted to hit the sack already. Cool. I love how cool her rug on the front door is, it says," There is no reason for you to be here". Even if I felt like I'm being thrown away, still I went home smiling, and happy meeting my ninety-year-old self.

This is my entry for this week, weekend community engagement. Thanks @galenkp for this amazing prompt.

Sort:  

With the food I take and the lifestyle I have, I doubt if I could make it to ninety.

Why not change your lifestyle and eat healthier so you can live up to that age? 😊

This is a very beautiful article. It's like a letter from your future self, telling you about what you should work on right now and the things that are to come in the future so you can get ready for them.

Thank you so much! Yes, I will try to live as healthy as I can be so I can reach ninety.