[WE107] Weekend-Engagement concept - Proud of my education and values: they allow me to help other people.

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

One of the most important human rights is the right to housing. A house offers shelter and habitation, it protects us from the weather and other threats, it is a place where it is possible for a human being to make a home. By extension, a home is the place where a family lives, feels security, peace and calm.

real-estate-g0e0f8eb54_640.jpg

Source

In 2002 I worked as a Credit Analyst in a State Bank here in Venezuela, passing through the departments of Commercial Credit, Mortgage Credit and Vehicle Credit. Given my performance and taste for financial analysis I was promoted to Business Officer and in a short period of time I helped create a Department dedicated to the consumption of products and services for people who did not have credit cards.

It took about a year and a half to get the permit, between the presentation of the project before the Superintendence of Banking Sector Institutions and the creation of Rules and Procedures Manuals to launch the product to the market.

By the middle of 2004, we had everything ready to go, we were only 4 people and the product had not yet begun to be promoted. The Mortgage Credit Department was overwhelmed with applications despite having 9 Analysts and at the request of the Area Vice-Presidency we had to support in the analysis and approval of housing applications.

Our offices were new, we had access to the National Banking level of the credit behavior of the clientele and we also had a lot of desire to face this challenge.


budget-g932a54904_640.png

Source

Approximately 800 credit applications were submitted to us, which were classified by us in the Consumer Credit Department as follows: Loans whose purchase-sale option was about to expire, loans with down payments given to the seller that exceeded 50% of the value of the property, mortgage loans with the option of state subsidies, loans to bank employees.

The methodology of analysis in all the cases was the same, first we reviewed the applicant's background with the National Bank, his family payment capacity and the patrimonial structure of the same to give some suggestion or recommendation of the case.


archive-g4659737c9_640.jpg

Source

According to our classification criteria, the cases were analyzed, being rejected in principle those with low payment capacity and a bad experience with the National Bank, the cases that had the possibility but lacked documentation were separated and we proceeded to call the applicant so that he/she could attach the documentation as soon as possible.

With this small procedure we were able to analyze and get 650 cases approved in one month, the remaining 150 cases were discussed among all of them and they really had very marked financial weaknesses and almost all of them had a bad experience with the National Bank.


acceptance-ge6d3c29e0_640.jpg

Source

At that time I felt very proud, because I was able to organize a very small group of people who were able to give 650 families the opportunity to obtain their own home.

We were compared with the Department of Mortgage Loans and in the same period of time they only processed 220 cases, which is why a reorganization of that Department was made, finding within it several cases of corruption that hindered the process of approval or not of these Mortgage Loans.

It should not seek enrichment through the primordial needs of human beings, besides this is a very dastardly act that speaks ill of the people who commit them.


corrupt-g2a028d734_640.png

Source

Although I was offered the position of Manager of the Mortgage Department, I turned it down because the new Consumer Credit Department took me almost 2 years to set up together with the Organization and Methods Department and the Legal Department. It was also a major challenge for me to see that I could give families the opportunity to equip their homes with what they needed to live in a comfortable and dignified way.

Nevertheless, I was asked to help through the Vice-Presidency of the Credit Area to support the Mortgage and Vehicle Credit Departments in the monthly accountability reports. At that time I made use of my knowledge in the area of finance with respect to the analysis of financial indicators, of course for this I needed the invaluable help of the Accounting Department of the Institution.

The confidence in me to develop a new financial product and to show that established things can always be improved are achievements that fill me with pride and that have made me continue to improve myself professionally and personally.

silhouette-gae2969c5e_640.png

Source

I have always felt proud of the values ​​that were instilled in me at the family level and of my professional education, and I must say that this is thanks to my mother who gave everything so that I had a very good education and was a family man capable of transmitting the values ​​obtained in my childhood and adolescence.

This is my participation in the initiative: [WE107] Weekend-Engagement concept. Link here

Feel the pride

What things about yourself, or what you have done, have made you feel proud? List one, or a few, and tell us about the situation and why you feel it was an achievement to be proud of. (Having children is excluded from this question.)

Thank you for your attention, best regards to all!

Sort:  

WE THX IM.png

Thank you for your entry in the original #weekend-engagement concept conceived by @galenkp and featured in THE WEEKEND community

The image belongs to @galenkp

As always it is an honor and a pleasure to publish in this community. I begin to enjoy this Friday's postings. Greetings.