[WE95] Weekend-Engagement posting topics / Two accidents in my childhood.

At the age of twelve, if I remember correctly in 1979, my godmother and my uncle-in-law invited my mom, my grandmother and my aunt to eat ice cream, when we went downstairs we found a nice Blazer van of the year that my uncle wanted to show off.



Source

We congratulated my uncle and my godmother, (who is also my aunt), on their acquisition and proceeded to get into the van. It was my turn to sit in the large trunk of the van, but with my cousins of seven, five and two years old respectively.

Needless to say that due to the age difference our games were always very different and usually one of the three girls ended up crying supposedly because of me. They were always angels and the scolded one ended up being me. I still remember their little faces showing tenderness at some mischief for which they blamed me.

Back to the subject, my three cousins and I found ourselves playing in the back of the truck with deafening screams that annoyed the adults who told us to lower our voices every minute.

Between games, it occurred to me to grab a small red device with a security seal that was a fire extinguisher, but to me it was a toy, like a gun. I removed the seal and innocently pressed the handle to discharge, believe me I did not know what it was, and immediately the foam came out of the extinguisher, at that time the vehicle was closed and we were enjoying the air conditioning but when the foam came out we were all covered with it.



Source

My uncle had to brake suddenly and the van swerved. Frightened, because I did not know what was happening, I could not see anything but white, my cousins crying, my mom, my grandmother and my aunts screaming and the only thing I could think of was to laugh out loud at the fact.

In the meantime, I remember that they opened the door of the huge trunk and very quickly took my little cousins out of there. I got out by my own means, and I received the reprimands of all the family members present except for my cousins who were crying. They told me that I was almost the cause of a traffic accident, and even called me crazy, for not taking care of the safety of my cousins.

I think that because of my nerves I could not stop laughing, what I do know is that I spread laughter to everyone, perhaps it was because of the absurdity of the situation and the fact, and I thank God that my punishment was that they did not buy me that ice cream that they invited me, of course the others enjoyed it, and I even remember that my cousins' ice cream bars were double.



Source

The following year I remember having already entered my high school years, and my defect or virtue, was that I could not remain silent before any injustice that was being committed, I did not understand why there were people who contradicted with their behavior what they were teaching me at home. This doubt marked me for life.

I studied in a Catholic school, but many of its students did not exactly profess the dictates of this religion. There was a lot of harassment on the part of the students of greater economic resources to those that like me had less resources and with all the effort of the world our parents paid for the school.

I complained to a boy why he and his friends were harassing a younger one, he told me not to get involved in that and pushed me, that boy would be about 15 years old and was in his third year, I was just entering my first year of high school.

I complained to a boy why he and his friends were harassing a younger one, he told me not to get involved in that and pushed me, that boy would be about 15 years old and was in third grade, I was just entering first year of high school.



Source

I didn't care about size and company and I pounced on the boy, falling both to the floor, his friends separated me and threatened to wait for me at 12 noon to settle accounts.

The bell rang to enter classes and I felt panic and fear, 5 children were going to mistreat me and I was alone, the first thing I did was to take my books and run, it was about 10:30 A.M. I could not leave through the main door of the school since these opened at 11:30 A.M.

My solution was to climb a wire fence of approximately 4 meters that separated the school from the parking lot of a building, once up there I was paralyzed, I did not know how to get down, at the same time I was thinking about those five kids who wanted to hit me and I found no other solution than to jump, I fell leaning on my right leg, and instantly it did not hurt.

I left that building quickly, all dirty and got home, once there I realized that my leg was very swollen and it started to hurt a lot. I told my mother that I had fallen and when she saw my leg she immediately took me to the doctor where, as I remember, they put a cast on my ankle and I was almost fifteen days without going to school.

Later, I told my mom the truth and as fate would have it, when she went to report him there was another representative who was also reporting the same child's bad behavior.

It turned out that this child was the scourge of the school and months later for mistreating another child this bully was expelled from school. As was to be expected, his friends disengaged themselves from the bullying child because of the possibility of being expelled as well.

It was stupid of me to jump over that fence but at that time it did not occur to me to protect myself in any other way, I was afraid of the blows of these children and I think that I saved myself from being abused that time, but at the price of a sprain.



Source

Forty-two years later, my cousins still laugh at the first story I told.

I regret not having pictures of those moments, only those memories remain of when I almost caused a traffic accident, and of a dangerous fall that has brought me later consequences.

This is my participation in theme 95 of the weekend suggested by @galenkp in THE WEEKEND community. Link Here

Childhood accidents
Were you a daredevil as a child? Tell us about a time you did something stupid or dangerous before the age of fifteen and it didn't work out for you, or you got away against all odds. Tell us about the scenario, what happened to you, and what resulted from your actions. Extra points for humor and own photos

Sort:  

Who could blame you though, fire extinguishers are very cool:)

Oh and jumping over a fence to escape bullies is both athletic and sad all the same. And I mean it is sad because: to think that a kid actually had to Jump Over a fence just to escape being bullied, is just baffling.

I hate bullies. Sorry you had to go through all that

The fire extinguisher thing was out of curiosity and a bit of ignorance, fortunately my family took it with humor. As for bullying I think we still need to raise awareness about it because this issue still happens in schools and universities , as well as it is linked to social networks, it is sad to see that technology is used to spread something so terrible. Thanks for stopping by. Greetings!

It really is tragic. People, children, have even taken their own life because if Bullying. Can you imagine that? Children?

For these same reasons it is important to educate and raise awareness in schools, colleges and in the families themselves, we must make the bullied feel that these situations can be solved and that he/she is not alone.

THE WEEKEND community thanks you for supporting the #weekend-engagement concept week ninety four [WE95] a concept by @galenkp. We hope you have a great weekend and will come back again soon.

95 thanks image.png

original im src edited in canva