You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 70: Cherished & valued thing

Yep, this is the sort of stuff I thought people would talk about, keepsakes.

I'm typical for once? Thanks.

All of them are tools, quite frankly, so the majority value lies in the tool aspect. There is still meaning and value in terms of those who created or wore the pieces, with the exception of the stone, it's purely a tool only.

I think we all attach many things to objects and people. It appears to be a natural human experience.

memories also seep into these items sometimes, like with your dad's chain.

This does happen for people. I didn't recall the memory until I was wearing it one day and touched it in the same manner, which triggered the memory. Interesting how you say memories seep into these items sometimes. Have you had that sort of experience yourself?

Sort:  

Hmm, yes good questsh.

I have things that I feel contain essence of what was; a moment, a person and such. I wrote about one a while back last year, about a little tea pot that I have that was part of some childhood memories. It was quite a personal post.