Just 5 words? Really?! [WE 128]

It has been a while - since I have not started a post with these very words - LOL - but in all truthfulness, I really have not participated in Galen's Weekend Engagement in a very long time.

So why today? Well, stressy things at work have eased quite considerably and thus I have more time on my hands and, almost more importantly, my brain isn't completely taken over by work things. Now on to this week's questions or rather my choice:

Describe yourself in only five words

divider.png

So, this morning over breakfast I asked my still somewhat sleepy hubby: How would you describe me in five words? Hubby looked at me for not even a split second before shooting back: Awesome, wonderful, cute, fun, will-always-be-nice-to-her-husband! and asked that's the right answer a husband should give, isn't it? I just rolled my eyes, yup, he needed more coffee. So we both burst out laughing.

Okay, okay I said and now please your real and honest answer. This time it took a little longer. You see my husband is a writer, an indie author and words are his living. This is what he said, not necessarily in this order:

  • honest/trustworthy
  • fun/entertaining
  • patient
  • tough
  • enlightened*

That last one started a longer discussion because I wanted to know what he means by it. Apparently, I had a completely different and wrong understanding of that word. I am not going to summarize our discussion but instead here is from the Cambridge Dictionary

image.png

image.png

I thought and said that was a very nice thing of him to say to which he answered this is not to compliment you but I am being honest. Awwww...

divider.png

So, now here are the five words I would have used to describe myself:

  • Honest
  • Loyal
  • Curious
  • Tall
  • Creative

Now at first glance these are almost completely different to the words my hubby used . Until you look a little closer.

We both have honest* on the list, so really no explanation needed. I am an honest human being i.e. I'd be a very bad film/book villain (one of the other options for this Weekend Engagement) and I will always try to be honest which comes across at being direct - something Germans are known for, be it good or bad. But I have learnt over the years while living abroad that it is not always the best approach to be brutally honest and direct. There are better ways and still being honest.

Loyal / patient - they kind of click together, don't they? I used to be really, really patient (cool and relaxed) but with all the work stress over the past few years that patience has decreased quite a bit. Though compared to other peeps I know I am still very patient. And loyal. If you are loyal to someone or something there's a good chance that you'll need patience sooner or later. And that's o.k.

Curious / englightened / creative - Curiosity drives me to question and figure out things before I make up my mind (to then patiently and loyally follow that decision). Sometimes I will get creative in figuring things out.

Fun / entertaining / curious / creative - I make hubby laugh which actually both of us find entertaining. Sometimes I have to be quite creative and definitely curious to succeed in entertaining us.

Of course, creative also plays on my artistic, creative side as well as loving to improvise e.g. in the kitchen.

That leaves tall and tough. Well, I am very tall, there's no other word to put it. Since my early teens I have been the tallest girl and a lot of times even THE tallest in class. I feel today it may not be such a big thing anymore but when I was growing up it was a whole lot of no-fun and it certainly shaped me at least a little. Maybe it made me tough? I hurt, even a lot, but I don't break easily, I am a pretty tough cookie* to crack.

And that's it, this is my entry to this weekend's 128th engagement party.

I hope you all had a great weekend and have a wonderful start into the new week!

Cheers,
(Ocean)Bee

5words.png

divider.png


Unless otherwise noted, copyright for all photos, dividers and gifs ©Oceanbee|ImagesByCW

divider.png

Sort:  
Well done @oceanbee! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to see your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Well done @oceanbee! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to see your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Thanks for sharing good food for thoughts! Speaking of food, what's that in front of the keyboard? Looks delicious and I want some!

I swap you a plate of that for some !PIZZA 😋

LOL - I love pizza but always prefer homemade. That dish there was a cauliflower-potato gratin with a garnish of prosciutto - it was good! I actually posted it here https://peakd.com/hive-120586/@oceanbee/ramblings-and-a-bit-of-food

I love pizza but always prefer homemade

I love everything homemade! homemade food is the bestest 😉
Thanks for connecting!

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@thecyberdexter(1/10) tipped @oceanbee (x1)

Join us in Discord!