I am scared to live at 100 years old•

Living for three decades made me appreciate the beauty of life. But with honest-to-goodness, I am scared to live at 100 years old.

I do not want to be the last man standing in my family. I am afraid to be left behind all alone without my loved ones.

There is an option to stay in a retirement home or the nursing home for the old aged, but it does not feel exciting to me. Perhaps I cannot dwell in a happier life without their presence.

When my grandfather left us ten years ago, it was so heartbreaking, and I felt depressed for a while. When my sister was gone, I admit that I felt hopeless. And now, I am moving on with a fear of loss, and I think of not living that long.

But what if I could live for 100 years? How would it be?

The #weekend-engagement concept for week #130 by @galenkp asks about turning 100 years old.

”If you could live to the age of 100 years and retain either the mind or the body of your 30-year-old self all the way through, which would you choose and Why?.”

I choose neither.

I cannot imagine myself retaining either the mind or the body of a 30-year-old all the way through, so I choose neither.

Combining my mind and body with a 100-year-old self seems useless and insignificant, for, in reality, it will only make me an idiot.

Undoubtedly, if it happens, I will not be enjoying life. Instead, it will only bring a burden to my existence.

At present, I am on a 30-year-old scale. If I retain the healthy mind or the healthy body I have now and be with a century-year-old, I probably would only end up telling stories in the past while lying down in bed with an ill and sickly self like a rotten vegetable.

Even if I am lying down in a beautiful place with active youth surrounding me, I still fail a lot regarding productivity.

I always love every little thing about nature as I see life, yet happiness is superficial. I may be able to catch a glimpse of a beautiful atmosphere, but everything turns down when I see death in the future. I feel like the world conspires to bury me for living an abnormal life.

A 100-year-old reflects a good lifestyle but life in this generation is a paradox. Somehow it is a matter of understanding mortality. I have nothing to prove, and I accept who I am. And my love for all the people I love who will be the thing they will remember.

To dwell for a century or more is so thrilling, but I know for sure that I cannot live forever. I cannot prove anything, and I have nothing to prove about my existence now if I have a great mind or body.

I cannot dare to live a life like this. Either a healthy mind or body is retained by life to me as I turn 100 years old. It does not make sense. It is only useless, meaningless, and insignificant.

How will I enjoy life if I am not holistically healthy? It is not an ideal thing to have a younger mind or body retained in a 100-year-old self. Still, I am scared to live at 100 years old with this particular situation unless, at this age, everything becomes younger that comes with a total package and with the existence of my loved ones.


Disclaimer: All texts and pictures are my own unless otherwise stated.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @pinkchic ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I fully agree with you. Some say let us live till we're 100 years old and I'm always saying I hope not. I want to live till I'm healthy. What's the point in struggling with a lot of incurable illnesses?

I see your point of view also right. Being the last man standing is not exactly fun. Nice writing by the way!

Have a nice day my friend 😘

Yes, dear Erika. You know that feeling when you are living so long, sickly, and elderly, yet there is no sense of purpose as your loved ones are not there for you when you are already 100 years old. I embrace the mortality of life. And as I have mentioned that I have nothing to prove in my 30s, so I am choosing neither. While life remains, let us make the most of it and seize it daily. Thank you so much, dear, for your compliments. I genuinely appreciate your attention. Have a wonderful day and good evening, from my side. !PIZZA !LUV

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@pinkchic(2/5) tipped @erikah (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

You are right. Even at such an age, life won´t be enjoyable again because sickness won´t be bearable at such an age. So, why retain the body or mind of a 30 yr old being when you are 100 years old? Some will prefer choosing the body because they want to remain vibrant and active then but I see no meaning in it.

Yes, dear Princess. That is also what I mean that it would be meaningless, useless, and insignificant. So I will rather have my 100-year-old mind and body than having either. Perhaps it will always be nice living in a natural world with a normal life. Big smiles.

That is it. Let everything be natural and normal.

I stand with you, @pinkchic. Having the mind or body of a thirty-year-old after a century is certainly not ideal.

At the same time, I sure do not want to be the one to miss all my friends when they're gone. That would be a lonely life to live.

Probably, it will be a lonely life, my friend; although you are becoming popular at some point for reaching that age, it does not make sense at all. What is the use of having a healthy mind or body when life is all about mortality then, hehe? So just like you, I am choosing neither, and I would dwell in everyday life having the natural body. Perhaps it is a matter of being realistic, and I am not more about fantasies.

There's beauty in the subtleties of life: like the inevitable cycle. One should embrace it and enjoy it.