The Invention To End My Biggest Annoyance

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago

I have a big annoyance in this world, you will probably find it silly, but ey, isn't life just silly?

I will give you an example of my annoyance: last weekend in was the Eurovision Song contest. I was at a friends place to watch the contest and drink some beers. While she was struggling to get a banana bread out of the oven and slice it, I decided I might as well make myself useful and turn the TV on so we wouldn't have to miss anything.
image.png
Source

Turns out, there were 4 remotes to choose from. Some controlled the sound, some the screen, some the box to receive the signal and they all had very specific buttons to press in a very specific order or the TV wouldn't work.
After testing some things out and failing I asked my friend, who then had to admit she also had difficulty with finding the right sequence and had in fact written it down....

How is it possible that we live in the year 2022, where there are self tying shoelaces (I kid you not, it's a thing!) and, as I recently found out we even have floating wind turbines. Here you can see how cool they are
But we are not capable of just having a simple remote that works for all the devices in our home entertainment sets. This baffles me, and it annoys me too!

So see here: my greatest invention:

The Remote That Does It All!

image.png
Source

Just press the on button to turn everything on, press the volume to turn up the speakers, use your smart TV with on press of a button and turn on the radio in a heartbeat! No more struggling with different remotes. Welcome to the 21st century, we have finally made it!

And don't worry, it won't have 300 buttons, because half the buttons on a remote are useless and nobody uses them anyway. I propose a sleek model that will do all the actions in a jiffy!

Sort:  

Hi @plint

You know what a breath of fresh air this post was? I absolutely hate all the remotes you need now days. It's enough to drive one crazy!

Please please please invent this universal remote that is in fact actually universal. It would prevent so much frustration around the world!

Have a great day/night 😊

Haha glad to hear I am not the only one who is frustrated by this!

WE THX IM.png

Thank you for supporting the original #weekend-engagement initiative conceived by @galenkp and featured in THE WEEKEND community

The image belongs to @galenkp

My thought...the old 13 channel manual rotary dials were good days. :)
!LUV

Alas! The invention that saves mankind. I have two remotes I still don't know what more than half the buttons do.

I have a remote that responds to voice commands. I never use it though.

What you really need is the world's best remote; a younger brother.

Unfortunately I was one, and as such had to handle most of the channel changing and volume duties for a vindictive older brother. This was well before the age of multiple remotes, back in the 1970's. If I messed up the job, or refused, I'd get a punch or kick.

Hmm, on second thought, your idea sounds better.

Haha the older I get the more merit I see in being an only child haha, I never had to deal with things like that!

You're lucky...It wasn't pleasant. 😆

That remote control is not far away. I remember you did have lots of remotes, I have only one now and my voice. I think everything will be voice controlled very soon.
I feel your frustration at your friends house though, haha all you want is to watch one particular thing!
I hope you enjoyed the Eurovision, I have not watched it for years!
Have a great week Plint:)

Have a great week too! Oh I love the Euro vision!

I was shocked to see the UK coming second!

Haha me too! And even more shocked that the French jury gave them 12 points. We truly live in a changing world...

France did what! haha That is amazing, wonders will never cease, yes we really are living in a changing world, I am shocked haha

Congratulations @plint! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 150 posts.
Your next target is to reach 200 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from May - Day 15