If I Were A Character, I'd Play My Elder Sister's Role

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

They say reputation is everything. With it, one's opinion, advice, or any sort of action would be well respected in the community. This has been how my elder sister has been seen for years to this day.

Character is not something that you buy; it is not a commodity that can be bartered for; it is not a quality suited for only the rich and famous; rather, character is built upon the foundational commitment of love, honesty, and compassion for others.
Byron R. Pulsifer

template (1).png


I've always anticipated sharing how proud I am of my elder sister's reputation in the community. And finally, @galenkp has granted me the opportunity. All thanks to him, #theweekend organizers, and the participants for keeping the movement alive.


My Sister My Number 1 Influencer


Shortly after my dad passed away, I moved to Lagos to live with one of my elders (Anthonia). This was in 2005 just a few weeks after my dad was laid to rest. Before then, I never had an idea of how Anthonia looked like, but I was certain I have an elder sister who lives In Lagos Nigeria.
I lived with her and her family(husband and two sons) for 12years before I moved out for school. My time with them was a school of thought to me. I gained physical, mental, and spiritual knowledge.

Anthonia is a free-spirit individual who ensures that everyone around her is well and upright. She raised me to who I have come to become today. I learned a bunch from here and I respect her for who she is. While I was in high school, she was my English and Literature teacher.
During her teaching period for my class, I didn't see her as my elder sister but as a tutor. She didn't give me a special treat either, as she gave the whole students equal education.

Her unique and uplifting character wasn't only noticed by me but by other students and her fellow instructors. I could still recall a few times my friends came to me that my sister was their fav instructor.

Fast forward to when I gained admission to study in college, I always seek her guidance to act whenever I am short of ideas. Her response has always yielded a positive result to this day. She has always supported and guided me each time.

She has influenced my life positively. Most times, before taking any step on something, I give it a thought if she would be happy with my action. If yes, I'd give it a shot else I'll let it pass. With this approach, I have been able to make decisions without reaching her on the telephone. She has literally thought me how to live the right way all by myself.

Her influence in my life wasn't a deliberate one. She was just being herself, living her life, while she unknowingly influenced not just me but a few others who have met her.

During my high school graduation, the event organizers chose my elder sister to be in charge of funds(uncounted cash) for that day. They've worked with my sister for about 5 years, so they've known the type of human she is. They have high respect for her and have no trust issues with her. Just from the staff's decision, I learned to always live an honest and reputable life as it creates unexpected opportunities for humans.

She's well respected at her workplace, church, and home.
Almost every senior I had in high school loves being around me because of the love they have for my sister.

If I didn't choose to live with her or if she didn't grant my request in 2005, I have no idea where I'd be by now. I always thanked God and appreciate her for every way she has influenced me.

Sort:  

Kudos to your sister for being an amazing person. From your words I can tell you really admire her. I aim to be a very positive influence in my younger brothers' life too. This was beautiful to read, thank you for sharing!

Yea I admire her a lot as you stated. Thanks for stopping by too.

You have an amazing sister, that's a blessing we usually take for granted ❣️

Thank you for stopping by. Xxx


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.