WE78 : Staying Sconnie Swampy

PXL_20211204_203240664.MP_edited_edited.jpeg

If you've happened to run across my work on Hive, you may have seen the occasional post with photographs of the local marsh I live near. The local marsh, believe it or not, sits in the middle of a city of about roughly 60,000 people. It's the perfect getaway for those who appreciate the "great outdoors" when pinched for time.

PXL_20211204_204324225_edited.jpeg

Better yet for me, this is the place where I grew up. My brother and I would spend hours in this marsh exploring new areas, building forts, and hiking along the local river. I later would move away from the area after college...but as fate would have it, I then returned to the city a few years later after getting that coveted work experience elsewhere. Now I get to share the area with a family of my own.

PXL_20211204_204408817_edited.jpeg

So what was my most enjoyable time spent in this natural paradise? Well, to be honest, every time I visit the marsh is the most enjoyable experience! I was looking at old photos of the marshland to post today for this weekend's topic but then decided to just go out there this afternoon and enjoy the gray, December afternoon walking amid the marsh grass and shallow water. So today it is!

PXL_20211204_204437499.MP_edited.jpeg


PXL_20211204_205435973_edited.jpeg

What did I experience today? The usual sights, of course: tree fungi, ducks, mushrooms, beavers, and water birds overhead. I also found remnants of an old treehouse. Do kids even do this kind of thing anymore? I remember building tree forts in this area with my brother when whenever we found free wood and nails.

PXL_20211204_205523873_edited.jpeg

Enjoy the day and moment, right? Take nothing for granted...seize the day and all of that good stuff. I agree, and I will absolutely admit that being able to drive five minutes from my home to be able to visit this place I love so much is most fortunate. Most fortunate, indeed. And yes, I seized the day to have a perfect experience in nature this afternoon.

PXL_20211204_205215324_edited.jpeg


PXL_20211204_210319707.MP_edited.jpeg

That's my thought, anyway. Thanks so much for stopping by and taking a look at my words and photographs. I truly am thankful for being able to share photos of a place that is so special to me when I'm able to. Hoping everyone else had a wonderful #weekendengagement Saturday afternoon too!

Sort:  

That's an awesome marsh man, I love areas like this that are loaded with memories! We lived near a really large wooded area where I grew up and some of the best (and worst lol) memories are from this type of stuff!

I loved seeing the remnants of a tree fort, brought me back some good memories with that. We built a two story tree fort in a crab apple tree! It was next to a ball field and we often harassed the baseball players by throwing apples at them and then wouldn't move at all for a while hahaha they were very confused. We eventually got caught and they weren't too happy but thankfully let us off with just a stern scolding!

it was pretty cool to see that tree fort too. I remember the trail I walked being really well defined, as we used to walk it past some railroad tracks and then eat MREs from the local surplus stores on a sand beach. The trail hardly was there today - I don't think any kids get out there anymore, lol