You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 33: Best or worst

Oh that's a great story, searching and knowing the roots is facisnante. I'm glad you had results and family reunions via the web.

I too last year did my family tree and can find name and history from my great great grandparents to present day.

One question, how does this site work? What data do you have to enter? @bigtom13

Sort:  

23 and Me is a DNA testing service. The price on Black Friday 2019 was just amazing so I did it. I was adopted at birth in a private adoption so my knowledge of any genetic family was zero. I am old enough that I have outlived any possible genetic problems so there really wasn't a down side. The best I hoped for family wise was to get an idea what my genetic heritage was.

Needless to say, I was crazy surprised. You can read about my adventures with half of my new family during the summer.

My adopted family has good family tree information. My mom's side to 1650 in Virginia and my father's to 1780 in Germany (and Russia). I am the oldest grandson in my father's family so I have the family Bible from 1780. Every name in the direct line is in there.

ah ok, good that you found some answers.

I'm sorry that in this life you didn't get to meet your biological mother and ask her questions that you surely have.

And how many biological siblings do you have?

Eight living. 9 total. 2 boys and 2 girls in my mother's family and 4 boys and one girl in my father's.

It's really quite incredible that I've gotten pretty close to my one new brother. We are a lot alike and even resemble one another...

Blood doesn't lie, knowing your family history must have been very fulfilling for you.

What a good time.@bigtom13

Hooa Tom, la familia y su historia habla de ti y tu vida, es genial que sepas de donde vienes y sobre todo que reconozcas y honrres a tus ancestros. Nuestra historia genética nos acompaña toda la vida nos hace ser quien somos, todos tenemos un lugar. Te felicito por ese encuentro porque fue un inicio a buenos dias, dias felices en familia.

Whoa that's awesome to date it back a few hundred years! Really cool dude!