Making A Sweet Treat For M'Lady While She Had Covid...

A little while ago when my lady was struck down with the 'Rona, I decided it would be a nice idea to...

img_4830.jpg

Make her one of her favourite sweet treats, I mean what could be better than for M'lady to see her loving man in the kitchen baking?

Lucky for you the travesty that ensued was recorded for the sake of posterity so that the sorry tale that unfolded could be shared as a warning to all, here today.

Stick to the stuff you know!

img_4861.jpg

Am I a baker? Uhm well in all honesty the answer to that is a resounding no. I do enjoy messing about in the kitchen, combining ingredients that do not intuitively go together and testing out my enormous herb & spice collection.

The funny part is, the thing I chose to make was probably the simplest thing in the world to bake, how could it possibly go so, so wrong?

img_4866.jpg

Thankfully I had this post in mind for a while so that even though I am incredibly pushed for time right now and can barely write a post each week or so, it was at hand when @galenkp set his weekend-engagement blog prompts for this very weekend.

This weeks prompts centre around the world of food, I knew the prompt I would choose immediately upon reading.

🍴Sweet food
Most of us love desserts and cakes; Tell us about your favourite cake or dessert to prepare or cook, share the recipe and method, and tell us why you love cooking, preparing (or eating) it. Bonus points for using your own photos.

As you may have deduced from the photos in the post, the sweet treat I chose to bake for m'lady was lemon curd tarts, you may not have had them but I am sure you have likely experienced their more famous cousin, jam tarts.

I did make some jam tarts too...

img_4859.jpg

The Queen of Hearts
She made some tarts,
All on a summer's day;
The Knave of Hearts
He stole those tarts,
And took them clean away.
The King of Hearts
Called for the tarts,
And beat the knave full sore;
The Knave of Hearts
Brought back the tarts,
And vowed he'd steal no more.

The famous British nursery rhyme would suggest that tarts are a delicacy fit for royalty, so they would be more than adequate, right?

I wasn't merely making jam tarts either, I was stepping things up by adding lemon curd, how bourgeois, right?

img_4747.jpg

I will allow you to judge for yourself, from the sticky, gluey, stodgy mess you see before you just how well it all worked out. I will say however that m'lady did, 'try' them and massively appreciated the thoughtful gesture...

There's a lesson there too, it is an incredibly intimate thing to make food for someone who feels a little bruised, battered or off-colour and always demonstrates just how much you care about them... Even if the end result doesn't quite live up to the promise we held in our mind's eye.

I can certainly say they were made with love, and they weren't absolutely terrible, just regular terrible...
img_4762.jpg
img_4775.jpg
img_4792.jpg

Yup! Bigmouth strikes again...

img_4796.jpg

Wow! I did it!!!

I wrote a post of around 500 words, yup, you read that right 500ish not 12'000. Full disclosure, I do have to leave for work in 20 minutes haha.

Have a fab new week ahead, may it be a great one filled with fun, friends and fulfilment 😎


Thank YOU for taking the time to read my post and if you're one of those amazing people who like to hit the comments section... Then I doubly thank YOU!

Either way I want you to know that you are appreciated!

Keep taking the time to connect with each-other both here and in the 'so-called' real world and try and look after each-other, because as you already know...

Together We're Just Better.png

image.png

I am an incredibly proud member of #TeamUK I love the global community immensely, but it is nice to have a home-team banner to add to my posts. The banner was made by the inimitable RoastMaster General himself @c0ff33a If you are an active UK member and would like to be added to the teamUK community on Discord, just let me know 😎

Sort:  

They look messy but probably taste OK. I like tarts.. 😁

Tarts are legit huh? 😁

As long as they're edible and comes with love, that's what matters

At first, I was inclined to print up that first image, frame it and put it on my desk at work and then I thought, nah that's weird. So, I printed them all!

Hi @stevenwood,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Hi Steven

I enjoyed your post and think it was such a wonderfully thoughtful thing to have made for your other half.

I think they turned out pretty well.

Thanks for taking part and being a sport. Have a great week ahead.

adding lemon curd

look at you pushing the boat out!

Sometimes the results of baking are not what was intended but as they long they taste like they were meant to, then it does not really matter.
I am glad she appreciated and I think your efforts will have a cheered her up.
I would be chuffed with your results if I was you.
Thanks for sharing your tarts!

Who doesn't love some tarts, they look alright.

You are right cooking for someone is a great way of demonstrating feelings and can lift someone's spirits to know you went to the effort especially for them.

🤣 hey, you tried!!! I'm not sure if you ate any of them? They do look sweet...

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

How do you turn a duck in to a singer?
Put it in the microwave until its Bill Withers.

Credit: basilmarples
@stevenwood, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (5/6)

@stevenwood! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(5/15) tipped @stevenwood (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Congratulations @stevenwood! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 115000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 120000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

We have finished upgrading our website
Our Hive Power Delegations to the April Power Up Month Winners
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!