You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Peachy!

I had a good chuckle reading this but then thinking about it I should have bene fuming because sadly its so true, seems there are rules trying to stop us from doing anything fun these days, you shared a lot of hiring signs and I see them everywhere here as well, almost as many as the signs all over telling us what we cannot do

Sort:  

Really nice comment. You know it's a good one when your face smiles the whole way.

Good morning. The hiring signs are everywhere around here, some new but most they don't take down. It's a hiring frenzy in NZ right now, too? Interesting.

I began snapping pictures last year. All the restaurants and markets, etcetera who sent their employees packin in 2020 can't figure out why no one will work for them....

Have you counted the hands in your pocket lately? I'm not sure where I left off. They recently proposed a new tax in my home state, California, for vehicle mileage. Yeah, now you can only drive "X miles" a year there before you're fined.

Happy Friday Jay. Thank you.

Well I am from New Zealand but having been there for over 10 years, I am living in Massachusetts
I think I remember reading about the miles tax, seems confusing to me, if you pay tax based on miles driven you get a refund for and tax paid for Gas, seems a nightmare to manage to me

you to have a good Friday

What'll they think of next?

Oh Mass, cool! I saw your profile and assumed New Zealand. Looks like you're stuck with me for a minute.

What, how, why.. Massachusetts? How far outside Boston are you? Been to a Red Sox game? I don't watch baseball but I think I'd go to a Red Sox game in Boston if given the opportunity.

Interesting. 10 years eh? Ok, ok I'll stop. Your turn.

Who knows what crazy ideas they will come up with

I guess I should update my profile

I have only been here for about a year and a half after I retired and haven’t made it to Boston yet but hopefully with this year for some photo walks

Not sure about seeing a Red Sox game but maybe one day

I was working in NYC for almost 20 years and did make it to a couple of Yankees and Mets games

But my preferred sport is Rugby

Back to you

Right after I said you're stuck with me I got drug out the house. Wife's like "60 degrees and sunny, put your phone away!"

Good morning. Ok so were you in NYC the 20 years before moving to Mass? So you weren't too far out of your element then, you've actually been in the states for a long time, am I understand that correctly?

I take it work brought you here. Which reminds me, how rude of me, congratulations on your retirement. You call the US home then, yeah? Still got family in NZ?

I love this kinda stuff. Shut me up any time you want.

With the ups and down of winter this year I think your wife is right we have to make the most of the nice days :)

and I haven't lived in NZ for over 35 years now, Started with a Tour in Singapore with the NZ military, then after that I left the military to settle down supposedly, but then got a new job which had me travelling even more, have been to over 60 Countries, many places most people don't want to visit LOL, and yes that job brought me to NY, to the HQ, I didnt want to come, and insisited just for one year, but spent close to 20 working there till I retired.

thanks I timed it well for retiring just as the craziness of the pandemic started

Cheers and have a good weekend

What an incredible story. We'd break the coffee house if we sat down together.

I was able to retire before this mess, too. I engineered and climbed tower cranes for 22 years. Got my hours at age 41 and held them to their end of the bargain. My wife and I took off traveliving in 2017 (you can use that word btw) and then 2020 covid bla bla bla here we are.

We just booked our tickets to get back outta here though. April 21, "leavin.. on a jet plane.." Be nice to pick up where we left off.

60? Nice! We were able to tour 16 but lived 30 days or more in 13 of them between 17 and Covid 2020. What you learn by divulging yourself in the culture is what books don't teach.

Well dang, welcome to America. Make yourself at home. Lemme know if you need anything.