You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 34: Who has influenced you

Same. I always put my Mom first who spending her whole life taking care of us. She never thinks of for herself, never travels, enjoys cooking for us every single day ...keeps all savings for her children, worry about my future when she is no longer with us who will look after me so she urges me to get marry now 😚. Honestly I really want Mom to go out and travel to other cities but she never wants 😶
For Mom, her children is all her life :)

Sort:  

It looks like our mothers are more alike than we might have thought.
I think that in the case of Latin American mothers, the generation that is now in their 70s or 80s was very protective and self-sacrificing, to the extreme, I'd say. I too wish they had been a bit selfish to give themselves some me-time and materialize some personal projects.
Things are changing now, though, at least here (my guess is that everywhere). Young mothers want some independence and do not feel guilty for wanting to pursue goals other than motherhood and domesticity. Of course, everythig in extremes is bad and we see pathetic examples of everything our old mothers warned us and feared about.