Question To Hive Developers + My Idea

Hi,

I have a few questions that I hope Hive developers can answer to help me understand what I'll need in order to develop for hive.

  1. What language should I use? What has the most supported libraries?
  2. How are RC cost on Hive determined?
  3. How much RC would it cost to create a program that sends out some Hive-Engine tokens every few mintes?

I have an idea for a very simple program which will reward those who engage with each other on Hive. While I don't plan on doing much with the program, I think it'll be a nice way for me to put something out there while learning the ins and outs of developing for Hive.

Pseudocode

while true:
   HivePosts <- getLast5MinutesOfHivePosts()
   filterForOnlyComments(HivePosts)
   random <- random number 0 and HivePosts.size() - 1
   rewardWithToken(HivePosts[random].parentAuthor, 1)
   rewardWithToken(HivePosts[random].author, HivePosts[random].children)
   sleep(5 minutes)
   

filterForOnlyComments(HivePosts):
   input HivePosts Array of posts made on Hive
   for post in HivePosts:
      if HivePosts[post] not comment:
         HivePosts.delete([post])

rewardWithToken(user, amount):
   input user User to send to
   input amount amount to send
   Send amount of Hive engine token to user 
Sort:  
  1. Both JS and python have supported libraries. Check out https://pypi.org/project/beem/ for python and either hive-js(https://www.npmjs.com/package/@hiveio/hive-js) or dhive(https://www.npmjs.com/package/@hiveio/dhive) for javascript. I personally use hive-js.

  2. Its dynamic calculation. I don't know the exact math around it but it depends on certain factors like the size of the transaction, the type of trx and how many other people are doing the trx as of now. Checkout https://beempy.com/resource_costs to get an estimate of the costs.

  3. I used to have a bot that placed a sell order on hive-engine every 2-3 minutes. Over 500 HP worth of RC wasn't enough so you'll need a good amount. But refer to question 2 to see more info on RC cost. 1k HP of RC should do it, but you can always add more as needed.

Good luck with your idea.

Thank you for the help. I'll look into them.

Congratulations @are-you-ok! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Financial stages
Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation