First Week Learning Programming: Creating A Nav Bar

A few months ago, I attended a tech event in my state hosted by google and after the event, I had the opportunity to speak to one of the trainers who encourage me to get into programming.

It took a lot of thinking but, I decided to give it a try and work towards becoming a front end developer.

Now, after that meeting, I had to register for a class with a duration of three months in the technology hub in my state and my journey began.

I spent quite some time reading W3schools and trying to learn about HTML and CSS and after that I was given my first task to create a nav bar; apparently it was the easier thing to do as a programmer.

While I was willing to do it, I had a lot of fear going in, first thing was that I knew nothing about coding; reading to me was different from doing but, I decided to give it a try and not make excuses.

My tutor encouraged me to use notepad instead of vscode because in his own opinion, he wanted his students to know the codes to heart.

Anyways I got started by looking for different samples of nav bars on google and when I had an idea of what I wanted to do, I started working

First thing I did was starting my code with a markup language and I followed by using other tags like head, style and body.

B8788B8B-BF95-4FBA-B519-884F4B2EBDEE.jpeg

3256B28A-468E-4CFE-8CCD-D7EACCAC2D4A.jpeg

2E97D498-1A17-41A5-A88A-D448E2ADA173.jpeg

I went on to use font family with the same verdana and a background color of light blue.

After that, I wrote what I wanted to be on the screen and used text-align, but for some reason, it didn't have spaces even though I used a line break.

I got to figure out after trying for a while that I needed justify content and display-flex before it would look arranged which I did.

I went further to using other tags that I had seen in W3schools and I feel like I spent too much time on it for something that was supposed to be easy.

Finally, after trying different things, I got to a point where I was comfortable with and very proud of.

CF886AE8-B563-4F46-9C26-6D523B3AE2AD.jpeg

I really don’t know a lot of programming lingos or even much in general but doing this made me really happy and I felt accomplished.

I do hope that I can continue doing this and master this skill because it has always been a dream of mine to go into tech.



385F78B6-97F6-49F3-8AE1-578F8465D4A2.gif

Sort:  

I still don't know how flex-box works so good work. You might want to go through the https://www.freecodecamp.org/ course to have a guide on how to progress more. Tutorials can get a bit overwhelming if you don't have a plan. !PIZZA !LUV

Thank you so much, this is actually really helpful.

I feel like I spent too much time on it for something that was supposed to be easy.

It doesn't matter if you spent over 1 week doing it, all that matters is if you understand everything at the end. Technically it's even better to take your time as a beginner to fully get used to the syntax of any language, you're moving at your own pace and that's fine 😉

This is the first time you're creating a navbar? It looks very professional. The colors are great, the font sizes are on point and the spacings are accurate. For a first-time attempt, you did a very good job and it's obvious you took your time in implementing this. Well done, and keep it up

Moving at my own pace, I needed to hear that, I felt like I am moving too slow and it makes me a bit sad and uneasy, thank you for that.

I learned HTML and CSS for a year and I never regretted it. Just do what you're comfortable with and don't listen to anybody that says you're too slow, you will thank yourself later in the future for doing things your way

I needed this so much, you don't get it.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations @khaleesii! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 11000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 11500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ Meetings Contest

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@penderis(1/10) tipped @khaleesii (x1)

Join us in Discord!

great! starting to code is one of the best feelings, the secret is to be constant and learn everyday!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It is an amazing feeling, I am trying my best to learn daily, hopefully, I can keep up

I don't know Jack shit here 😄 but bravo! You go girl! Learning can be hectic but it seems like you're on to a good start

😆 thank you so much, I still feel like that and I am learning

aunty I am coming to your dm for some lessons... make I come learn small from your hand...

Scam, you that know plenty things

Thanks for your contribution to the STEMsocial community. Feel free to join us on discord to get to know the rest of us!

Please consider delegating to the @stemsocial account (85% of the curation rewards are returned).

You may also include @stemsocial as a beneficiary of the rewards of this post to get a stronger support. 
 

Thank you so much

I would like to learn this programming as well o.

Start by reading W3schools, and watching videos on youtube

I don't know why fear like to interrupt in somebody's affairs but thank God you make it, am happy for you.

Thank you so much, indeed fear always comes but we have to push past it