A Wild Sprite update - Unmar desert and seamless transition

in Programming & Devlast year (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Hello everybody,

Having made some real step foward in development of A Wild Sprite, the system for traversing areas work kind of great as you can see from the video, there are some touches to be added such as more precise spawn of the checkpoint when you are close to an exit but the transition keep track of all the action that the player have done in one room when reentering back as you can see from the position of the bouncing balls or how the movable platforms can be carried over from level to level.
I had to compromise a bit because what I actually wanted was that the player moved the spawn points and if you go and die in another room you still get to spawn where you placed the last checkpoint but I have still not found a way to make that work so for now this is going to be the way it is designed.

I have worked a lot on the first hub area wich is Glass Village on the Tubular Tubes, made some progress but I have still many placeholers, it's a small area but is complex as it will get you to many different places, for now you can go back to the Pipes intro level, Chords Bridge, Unmar Desert, Il Bosco and the Pine peaks. And I'll have probably 2 - 3 more exitsdepending on if Warrior Den is gonna be placed in this room or another.

unmar.png

Spoilery/
The Unmar desert is shaping up to be a nice place to drop some story bits and have an easy exploration the puzzle to get there is not an easy one because you must playaround with the invention of a mysterius figure that is missing from the Glass Village.

hhhrhhr.png

It's invention the Proto Ball is a very buggy bouncer that will enable the player to break the rocks that block the passage if the player get around the wonky physics of the Proto Balls.
The puzzle though make for a huge reward because here in the first step of the desert you can obtain the Portable Platform Plant(PPP) that can be carried around in the other areas. (I'm not worrying too much about how this can make unpredictable to know where the player can be at any points if some of the power ups or items break the game making an easier or new road for the player I'm really happy as this is the main goal of the game of creating a truly open sandbox platforming adventure)

adffff.png

here in the desert you can find Reno and old guy standing next to some older shacks.
Spoilery/

I'll look to upload this new build in the near future but is not gonna be playable with the browser version, if I want to keep going with the game I need to drop that as it add way too much unstability and constraints to the code.

Another addition that I'm gonna patch in is the game O.R.C.O as a mini game playable in Glass Village, still though I only made the entrance to the game and I think it's gonna take a bit of time to convert Orco game file to play in this game, it's not a big file but the logic is different and I don't think is gonna be easy to change all the logic and change it back.
Hopefully it's gonna be a cakewalk(it won't xD)

afafafaf.png

Some progress have been made with the Color Revolution event but just some small step toward having color that can be switched on and off via filters. Thats though one of the most rough feature along the rpg system that are in place( I will do a more in depth post on these two in the future)

All in all I'm very happy with this direction and I look foward to show more.
I'd really like to hear some thoguhts and propositions or anything Hive is one of the reason I keep going on this project and the people that encouraged me!

efefeff.png

This is a slice of code that make the obj_bouncing_elec aka the Proto Ball this is the first attemp to make a bouncer as an object long time ago a reworked just a bit to make it function in a puzzle context it can drive someone insane by it's strange behavior but the logic is pretty stable once you get to know how it react to the player.

For now a big hug and have a good start of the week!


▶️ 3Speak