Are you influcenced ?

in The Bass Place4 years ago

Here a overview of some musicians whom are of any (or big0 influence on me.

Pino Palladino

I like playing the blues on my bass and if there is on Bassplayer who knows that all and brings it to the next level, it is Pino for sure. The way he plays his lines, for instance, with the John Mayer trio it is really stunning... I try to isolate the bass on the songs and if you really listen to it, it is just awesome the harmonics and lines he plays. BUT as a bassplayer at the service of the band..


Source

Joe Satriani


Joe Satriani is one of my alltime favorites. Getting my first Satriani Album (Surfing with the alien) from my brother I was hooked on his way of playing and his guitarsound. Unlike guitarplayers like (for instance) Steve Vai (which is a awesome musician too) Joe always keeps his music 'music' , Vai for example had a time that his guitar almost sounded like a Synthesizer :).

My (above anything else) favorite of Satriani will be 'Always with you always with me' for ever.


Source

Jaco Pastorius


When you say bass you say Jaco Pastorius. What Jimi Hendrix means to the modern electric guitar Jaco means the same to modern Electric bass. He took the bassguitar to a whole nother level. When I heard 'The chicken' for the first time I couldn't believe my ears. That funky, fretless bass sound. Never heard it before and to be honest after. There is only one Jaco. Tragicly he died way to early due to violence of a Bouncer in a bar. Jaco suffered of Manic Depression, something his daughter inherited of him... but for me Jaco is the real bass-god.


Source

Ozzy Osbourne - Randy Rhoads

Ozzy and Randy are one to me. Randy has given Ozzy the best time of his musical life. The guitarplaying of Randy was fenomenal, together with Ozzy's voice and songs it was the absolute top of Rock and Roll. Ozzy is one of my all time heroes, his music, his character and his personality, just awesome.

Randy is for me the best guitarist ever been around. It is so sad he left this planet way to early due to a tragic plaincrash.


Source

Gary Moore


I never really listened to Gary Moore before his "still got the blues" period. I was overwhelmed by his Gibson guitar blues sound. His bending, his harmonics... It was just al mindblowing for me. After that I dived more into his earlier music, and it was eyeopening to me.. He is a master of melodic and shredding on the guitar. Also gone way to soon.....

This song, the loner, is one out of a thousand...not many songs are this 'all saying' about the musicality of a person....


Source

Larry Graham

Larry Graham, mostly known by the bigger public as the bassplayer of Prince, is the inventor of the slapp bass.. He developed the slapp technique which is used by many many bassplayers nowadays. Besides being a gifted bassplayer and musician he was one of the founders of Sly and the family Stone. Check him out :)

Which musicians are your influcene ?

Have a sunny sunday

Peter

Sort:  

Jimmy Page and Eric Clapton were early influences on me, but I have discovered much more music since then. When I try to sound like someone it always comes out different, so I guess I have my own style now. I have been playing a lot of old swing like Django Reinhardt recently, but I still like to rock out. I was playing some Green Day last night. I can admire people like Satriani and Vai, but I doubt I could ever play like them.

!BEER

I know what you mean, developing a style of your own. I do see (an hear) in my play some influences of Pino (for instance) not that I am that good, way far from him, but the way he uses certain techniques, I notice trying them in my playing as well :)

Biggest influence on me is Celine Dion. Her songs are simply gold

Great to hear, and indeed she is a awesome artist with great songs !! We used the song "The color of my love" at our wedding. We gave our guests the song on a CD as a reminder of our wedding. On our wedding card the following piece out of the lyric was on the card:

And with this ring our lives will start
Swearing that we'll never part
I offer what you cannot buy
Devoted love until we die

Haha, Ozzy looks like a woman in that clip when you first glance at it. Great stuff! I wish I were more of a musician. Besides being in concert and marching band I don't really have much other experience, so I don't really have any influences. I love hearing about yours!

That is one big thing on my bucket list is to learn how to play guitar

Well grab a guitar and start playing :) It isn't that difficult :)

Yeah we'll see if mine survived the family drama episode.

For some reason it ended up moving from where it was stored to who knows where


Hey @verhp11, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.