Billy Sheehan

in The Bass Place4 years ago (edited)

Billy Sheehan is maybe one of the most famous rock bassplayers ammong bassplayers like Stu Ham and so.
Perhaps the name Sheehan doesn't ring a bell but I am sure you know bands like Mr. Big, Steve Vai, The Winery dogs and more, all bands in which Billy played bass.

Sometimes I refer to Billy as a "Bassplayer Extravaganza" , and which that I mean that he likes to play different. He uses a lot of full chords (not common for a bassplayer), he taps with two hands and he loves to get to most bizar sounds out of his bass (with or without effects).


Source

The above video gives a very good impression of his style and his presence. :) Where often the bass is more on the backgroud (well not really of course), Billy makes the bass a frontrow instrument, you can't get around it.

With Steve Vai Billy toured a lot, and for those of you who know Steve Vai a little, Steve also likes to be a bit extravagant on stage.

image.png
Source

You won't see a three neck guitar quiet often :)

image.png
Source

Billy (of course) has his own double neck basses. Never played one but I'll bet they are heavy :)

One of the typical Billy Sheen trademarks is his speed of playing combined with his technique. This suits just into the music of Vai for example.


Source

But isn't it great that there are a lot of great bassplayers around, each with his or her's own style, music genre etc... I just love to check them all out.

Have a great day !!

Peter

Sort:  

I've heard Billy being interviewed a couple of times. I always feel like a cigarette and a lie down afterwards. He's personality is the same as his playing style. MANIC!

lol, he is isn't it :) While at home (I follow him on FB) his al peace and quiet. ;)

I have seen Sheehan play live with Mr Big, but he was not with Steve Vai when I saw him. They are both masters of their instrument. At the Mr Big gig the band all swapped instruments on one song and Billy played guitar very well.

That shiny bass is pretty!

!BEER


Hey @verhp11, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

That is nuts with the three necked one. I bet you are right that it is really heavy. I can't imagine the range of notes you can hit with that as well. It has to have a massive octave range. Nice highlight here.