Weathering the storm - An update on what's going on

in VIMM.TV - Streaming3 years ago

There are times when you have to make a PR statement, and you really, really don't want to. This is one of those times. I really wish I didn't have to write this post, but here we are! This is @ddrfr33k, wearing the PR hat today. Let's talk about what's been going on lately.


So! Some of you have noticed we've been having some issues lately with live streams. Going offline, not showing up in the browse section, and some people weren't even able to make posts for their streams, meaning no upvotes. Allow me to be the first to say, we heard you right away, and we agree. None of this was acceptable by any stretch of the imagination. And that's all I can really say about it without going overboard and saying something I'll regret later.


Going forward, we are going to be making some more changes to our ingest servers and the way we run our infrastructure. We are moving away from Livepeer as our ingest, and going back to servers we maintain. This is already set up, you will see new ingest URLs and stream keys in your settings under "my keys." Use them. Those of you who have been streaming but not showing up in the browse page? This is why. (I'm looking at you, @shmoogleosukami, @gr33nm4ster, @eldritchspig, and @ciderjunkie...) @chiren has been hard at work on this feature, and I encourage you all to go say thanks on the Vimm Discord. There's some future proofing to be had as well, but this rework is borne out of necessity, rather than maintenance. C'est la vie...


Growing pains are no fun, and we at Vimm really want to apologize for all of the issues we've been having. We will turn this around, we will not let a little setback like this be the end of us. Let's focus on building, just like we always do, and keep making Vimm THE place on the internet to stream. You guys are awesome, and we really couldn't do it without you. Thank you for sticking with us, for being so patient, and believing in us. Y'all are awesome. I gotta end this now, though. Otherwise, this post is gonna start looking like this:


Get in touch!

Hive.png | Insta.png | Twitter.png | Facebook.png | Discord.png

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

Vimm always good platform compare Dlive after they moved away, i got your eyes on you @ddrfr33k after so many stuff broken because of you Kappa :P

but i enjoyed devs and me, @ddrfr33k and @chiren are so much a good friends together, most issue is found with vimm do with my own custom Restream site that currently on Development that DDRFR33K knows

Vimm always going be best platform, sadly didnt got enough people coming in but thanks to me and my community. few my people start slowly stream on Vimm now.

Want say Thanks to them 2 and hall VIMM community give me that kind support make Vimm as home platform. since after so much struggling on Twitch just try get Partner i think Vimm should move step forward more ahead of Twitch :)

ONE AGAIN THANK YOU FOR AWESOME PLATFORM AND SOMEDAY IM MIGHT HELP YOU IF DO HIRE ME SOMEDAY :P

1 and Cutiest Developer here with Discord BOT alerts and many more :)

I hope the problem gets better soon, you have my full support and patience.

These things happen

 3 years ago  

Oh, we got this. This is a setback, and a frustrating one. But we are going to get through this and make it out stronger on the other side.

Thanks guys.

 3 years ago  

is there a EU Ingest in a planning because i see there is atm only a US one ....

 3 years ago  

Yes, @chiren is currently testing an ingest based on Finland. I believe he replied to you in the Vimm discord with the link.

 3 years ago  

He did indeed... i was running it yesterday already... it seem to work if we get now the last small steps done we re back in buisness ... i miss my Posts :D

The little time ive been on vimm whas great! You guys are always there and help me trough everything even my OBS config. So you guys rock! Keep up the good work, im going to change my stream data now!

Vimm rocks! Glad to be here!

You're being transparent and truthful, That matters much more than the bugs in your platform. You are building revolutionary technology technology that didn't existhat didn't exist just a few years ago, Of course there are gonna be bugs and roadblocks along the way, You can always work around them but once you lose a user's trust That can almost never be taken back.

Personally I never streamed on your platform but but I planned to I've only made my account a couple of days ago I'm still sitting in the background watching how things operate so I can make my plan on what I want to do with the channel I'm gonna make.

Keep up the good work and have a great weekend.
Peace,
@pinkfloyd878

Looking forward to continuing to grow along side with you all

!PIZZA

@vimm! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @dajokawild.

Did you know Pizzabot speaks Spanish if you use the command ESPIZZA? (2/20)