My avocation turned an occupation.

Good day to you all here in the inkwell community.



It’s a pleasure to be here again today. Every day is another day to keep it going. Today is Monday again and we all have to make sure we get to our place of work to earn our daily bread.

Most times we find ourselves doing what we don’t like but we are always left with no option but to keep doing them. The reason is that at times that’s the only option we have left.

This would take me to the prompt word for week 7 on the inkwell non-fiction.

My best hobby.

I have a lot of hobbies but out of the plenty, there would always be a favorite among them. I have hobbies like writing, cycling, hiking, skipping, and many more.

But I realized I get to have more passion when my occupation turns into my avocation. Yeah, how and what is it all about?

FARMING.

I always love to see things grow from nothing to something. It gives me joy when it comes to rearing and breeding. I wrote an article on another platform some months back on how far I loved agriculture.

From my childhood days, I have always dreamed of having hectares of land where I would build my little apartment in one corner of the farm and then have the remaining land for farming.

I have always dreamed of sectioning the land into different aspects of agriculture. There would be a section for cattle, where I would rear and milk them. I would always love to see myself breed those cows and have an entirely different species on my farmland.

How about another section where I would stock the land with poultry birds? I would love to have different kinds of birds in there down to rearing ostriches and other birds too. I would then use the remaining land for arable farming.

At some point in time, I got some empty cans and added soil to them. I gathered them somewhere where my mum won’t have to see them so she doesn't throw them away. I would always go there to see the growth of my cowpea and maize. Those times I never expected to reap anything from them but just seeing them grow new leaves all day gives me joy.

Here I am today as an agriculturist, after studying agriculture at the institution for five years. I am still in pursuit of my dreams. I don’t have enough money to buy a huge hectare of land but I believe I would have to start somewhere.

I would make a little garden at the back of my apartment and make sure to visit it all day. I would also start with rearing poultry birds in my backyard and see them grow each day…



All images are mine

Sort:  

Greetings, I could say that I have the same avocations as you, but my job is to plant and cultivate, ie agriculture in an educational institution and I really like it, but it is not my favorite, in my case it is writing because it allows me to leave a small part of me in my stories, I really liked your story and I hope to continue reading your stories. thanks for sharing your story.

Always welcomed my dear friend. Thanks so much for reading and appreciating my content.

Yeah writing is also my hobby but I just prefer going more into gardening than writing..

Thank you for submitting your piece to The Ink Well.
Tip : If you develop your ideas more fully before adding them to the community, you might find that you receive better rewards. To get some ideas read works by other writers’ in the community, especially those who do well. Try to work towards a minimum of five hundred words. Think about elements that you could add to your piece, such as : the scent of the land or the way an entire field of healthy crops might make you feel.

Good luck. Keep writing.

I believe It’s something gradual. Thanks so much for the tips. I would make sure to make my next submission more interesting to read.

I appreciate

Congratulations @abdul-qudus! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 900 comments.
Your next target is to reach 1000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 2
Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Farming is a good occupation and when one is fully devoted into it, it becomes an habit and in the end, it is rewarding.

No lie. That’s why my love for it keep increasing all day…

Well! Well! Well!

I didn't know you were an agriculturist at all abduqudus and having a thing for the evolvement of plants or other living things is so interesting! I love you see how nature takes it own course and I am taken by surprise how it manifest to be. So I understand the way you love to see thing grow from nothing to something. Keep doing you!

Yeah it nice having you. Thanks so much for reading and understanding.
Nature is so amazing for sure..

And thanks for stopping by. Been a while though

It's nice stopping by here...it has been a while truly... did you have any slightest idea that you unfollowed me😅

I unfollowed?? 😂 😂

I wanted to do the opposite. I am so sorry..

Oh, my darling loves to farm too? That's amazing 😍. I thought it's only the rivers that calls out to him. I am glad to know that other part of nature does so too. I am proud of you darling 🤗

Wow. Amazing to have you again. I have missed you so much.

I can farm ooo. I am one.. and anything for me for today??

I have missed you too. I'm sorry I haven't been online. My arm hurts like hell. I have been trying to rest. I guess it has to do with me holding my phone up and typing comments endlessly 🥺

I like that you can farm. Well done darling.

Yes, I have one wild kiss for you 🙈
Wednesday Blessings GIF

This is a beautiful and sweet dream mate. I already see you getting there. Do not lose your enthusiasm, my friend.

Yeah I won’t. I pray God help me. Thank for the motivation.

Would like to know you more…

I know right from uptrennd but you may not know me.

Ooh wow 😯. Then if I am permitted to have your contact detail 🙈🙈.
So we can talk better..

Cool. I'll hit you on discord

Thanks.. I appreciate I would be anticipating