Rolling With the Challenge: Inkwell Prompt #81

in The Ink Well2 years ago

This week the Inkwell writing contest featured the prompt, "roll". In addition to the prompt, there was a skill challenge: create an antagonist. I thought I'd do a take-off on the prompt/skill challenge, and double down. Not only would my story use the prompt word, "roll", but it would use the word in every single sentence.

I don't recommend this technique for crafting intelligent, worthy stories. However meeting this challenge does require a certain exercise in verbal flexibility. That is always good for sharpening skills.



The Talisman


roll gif.gif

I share this macabre saga with readers in order to counter the malicious gossip that has been bandied about my sterling silver rolling pin talisman. This rolling pin shield never leaves my body, even when I shower. Today, dear readers, I present to you an explanation for the origin of my rolling pin nightmare. At the conclusion of this tale, it is certain you will not only understand the necessity for the rolling pin talisman, but may also yourself consider obtaining such protection.

This is how it started:

When I walked into the kitchen that grim day and saw Meghan raise the rolling pin above her head, I had no intimation of the calamity that would follow. The brandished rolling pin triggered a flashback in my mind to the movie Psycho. While nothing in Meghan's demeanor resembled the demeanor of Psycho's demented killer, still the rolling pin image stayed with me as I drifted off to sleep.

Oh, what horrible rolling pin night terrors ensued! Dark images of rolled dough. Sinister shadows of hot cross rolls cooling on an endless stream of windowsills. Even a poisoned apple pie edged with delicately rolled crust.

I rolled about in my bed and slept little as these gruesome fantasmas plagued my slumber.

The next morning I rolled out of bed with great reluctance. I knew Meghan had been startled by my reaction to her rolling pin the day before. She was usually a relaxed girl who rolled along with whatever seemed to be happening in the moment. But that morning, when I entered the kitchen, she rolled her eyes at me, and asked, "Any more attitude from you today, Eric?"

There was no way to know if the rolling pin drama would pass quickly from Meghan's mood, or if she would hold a grudge. I rolled the cereal caddy around to select a small box of bran flakes, took what I needed, and rushed out of the kitchen. I could eat on the way to work as the Citi bus rolled through the tightly congested streets.

There was a kind of rolling pin penumbra that covered everything I saw. Why did that rolling pin affect me so deeply? If I closed my eyes I could imagine a huge, boulder-like pin rolling down a mountain toward me, unstoppable and deadly.

Work did not offer respite from my rolling pin chimera. Everywhere there seemed to be rolls. Cinnamon rolls on the coffee cart that rumbled past. Heart-shaped rolls that taunted on the lunch counter.

I knew by late afternoon that I needed to talk to my therapist about my roll fixation.

The therapist answered the phone and said, "Can you hold on for a minute Eric, as I finish my freshly buttered roll? I hate it when a roll gets cold, don't you?"

I hung up the phone, which rested on a roller-shaped cradle. It was obvious that no earthly intervention could save me from the spectre of the rolling pin. I designed the sterling silver rolling pin talisman myself, and I have worn it ever since. Whenever the image or idea of a roll or rolling pin enters my head now, I clutch the talisman and am instantly comforted.

I can walk through a bakery today and gaze with ease upon rows of rolls and a floured rolling pin. As long as I grasp the talisman I am assured that never will I be harmed by any simple or compound expression containing the word 'roll'.



Hot Dog on a Roll, by @muelli on LIL😁

hot dog on a roll muelli.png



Did I have fun with this? You know it. I invite all my readers who like to have fun and who have a creative spark (we all have a creative spark) to jump in and write something. Don't worry about being fancy, or impressive. Just let your mind roam free. Surprise yourself. Surprise us.

I challenge you!

(By the way: the antagonist? A rolling pin😄)

Sort:  

A clever story because of the way you play with language, so effortlessly. You would think hearing the word rolling pin talisman over and over would give you headache, on the contrary, all it gives me is the desire to own a rolling pin talisman. Masterful!

You have so much fun when you write, it gives the rest of us courage :)

Thanks for the high praise. It was a great exercise.

@agmoore When I saw the prompt "Roll" last Tuesday and saw the picture of the camera on it, I had forgotten all the roles in my mind other than the roll of the camera and the role of the pictures taken with the camera in life. Through this story of yours, now I came to know how many rolls can be used in life. You have been surprised us many times before, but this time also you have made the story amazing by mixing mysticism with reality. I was very surprised and impressed.
with thanks best regards
@fantom22

You make me very happy with your comment, @fantom22. I used to be a teacher. This line:

Through this story of yours, now I came to know how many rolls can be used in life.

This is gold to a teacher's ear. All the curators in the Inkwell receive great satisfaction when they help writers to find their muse. You are one of those writers. It has been a pleasure to see how your skills have developed. And you are so courteous and supportive of other writers.

Thank you very much for that great comment. Writing is work, and it is also great fun, isn't it?

@agmoore Thank you, your appreciation means a lot to me, today 4th September is celebrated as Teacher's Day in our country, and you are my teacher too. I have become emotional. These words of yours are like a letter of appreciation to me, which I will type and keep in the form of a hard copy.
always thankful.
fantom22

🌸🌺☀️

That almost had me rolling on the floor with laughter.

Mercifully I snatched a nearby rolling pin and used it as my talisman.

Thus... I only laughed just the right amount to ensure my belly rolls rolled a liddle bit with laughter too!

Cool story and worth keeping the concept rolling in the comments 👍

😅

Very clever comment. I'm so glad this had the effect on you, that it had on me. My biggest laugh was saved for the therapist. The final cruel blow😆

Thank you for your visit and your charming response.

😆

What a lovely and creative (and funny!) reply.

Thank you! 🙏

p.s your therapist is lucky to have you 😂

Have a beautiful, happy Sunday. 🌼

We’d really like to see a story from you. 🤗❤️💕

Thank you for the encouragement 😊

I'll do my best... I don't have much experience with writing fiction so this will be good practice I guess. I do have The Inkwell (well!) on my radar.

I'm trying to find a "home" to land for the next bit this month. So it's going to be busy and full of change around here again. Tired now and so want to find somewhere to rest a bit for the next while. And rebuild...

So I'm coming to The Inkwell soon... but can't say when for sure.

p.s. I can't quite wait until things settle down enough for me to focus more on creating! Until then I'll just keep muddling along and reading all of you guys. It does keep the creative flame alive.

I’m so sorry you’re having a hard time. Please let me know how you get on. I hope things get better. However, DO NOT let go of your talent, you are a very good and insightful writer.

Aw thanks :)

It's been a hard time for almost four years now so I'm kind of used to it. And it is getting easier because I'm not so afraid of it anymore.

This too shall pass... I mean... it has to. Everything does.

And it's quite exciting too. So I'll focus on that!

I'll never let go of my creativity. It's kept my soul alive :)

And now you guys. Nope. I won't stop participating. You're stuck with me! <3

And thank you for the wonderful compliment *beams

This is crazy good. Strange how your piece unlocked my creativity. I had a blank page for 6 days and after reading your post the ink was flowing 😂😂 Thanks for sharing this wonderful piece @agmoore

I had a blank page for 6 days and after reading your post the ink was flowing

Yes! That's what I wanted. I used to attend a writer's workshop (in person) and when a session was over, we would all go home and feel like writing.

I hope to read your story this week. Have fun with it.

Thank you so much for that generous comment.

It's been posted😂. You should check it out.
No problem 👍

What fun to be able to play with the semantic charges of a word! Nice work @agmoore, lovely.

Hello @gracielaacevedo,

Thank you for that gracious comment. Writing this was fun, and getting positive feedback is also very rewarding.

Clever, and might I say, excellent use of the prompt (LoL) and the skill (ROTFL)🤗❤️💕
I’m falling off my chair in a fit of giggles. Oh, you go girl, show us all how it’s done.

Brilliant, hysterically funny and so very good. I love you @agmoore

Thank you my friend! I must say I did a little giggling myself as I wrote this.😁 I was really tickled to find @muelli's picture. What do they say about a thousand words?

How can anyone turn down this invitation to write??😅

I appreciate your not-deserved high praise.

I love it 🙌 The rolling pin is even the antagonist and the hero!!! Brilliant and fun ♥️

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LUV

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

@agmoore! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (7/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

The rolling pin is even the antagonist and the hero!
😁

Thanks for that enthusiastic response. The best part of writing is the audience I think. Also, thanks for the curation.

My pleasure, I only wish you would write more often ♥️

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@agmoore! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

What do you say to comfort a friend who's struggling with grammar?
There, their, they're.

Credit: reddit
@agmoore, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(1/6)

Oh yes, I can see that you did indeed have fun with this, @agmoore. What's amazing to me is that with the different interpretations and meanings of the word "roll" it does not sound at all repetitive. What a fun exercise! I dare you to do it with the word "orange." :-)

Thank you for inspiring us with your wit and creativity!

I dare you to do it with the word "orange."

😄

I think once was enough. It was a fun gimmick. Thanks for appreciating it. Sometimes, as you once told me, it's good to shake things up. All we can do is try...😇

PS: the hotdog pic from LiL is really, really (graphically) excellent. LoL

Such a creative take on the prompt and the goal.

Thank you very much. I appreciate the compliment.

sounds so good, thanks for the information.

Thank you, @rikoy! I hope to read a story from you, soon😇

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @itsostylish.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you very much for the support!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

With each “roll” you have us in stitches, laughing out loud at the fear and the solution. This is a brilliant piece, memorable in every way. Your prose lilts and sways with expert precision. You are a master of the craft. Delightful in every way.

Thank you for making our day

🌺🌸🌞🌟

A generous assessment from a friendly audience. Thank you, Inkwell. I hope this bit of light comedy inspires others to take the plunge, to roll, as it were, with the impulse to write. 😊

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(1/15) tipped @agmoore (x2)

Join us in Discord!

Congratulations @agmoore! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 11500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 12000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-08 - Winners List
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Okay this is definitely impressive. What? "roll" in every... damn! And it all makes sense. I'm so jumping in on this challenge. I hope I'm as good or even better.✌️