Poems Written in Years: 1- Homage to Baghdad from Baghdad

in The Ink Well4 years ago

Description: Poems Written in Years are a collection I wrote throughout my life. I finished writing each of these years after starting them as something always felt missing.

Note: Parts of this poem were previously posted elsewhere, however this is the first place where the poem is posted in full length.


Image Source

City of love, I roam your streets seeing coffins on each shoulder
Torture me all you want, the Sisyphus in me can no long carry the boulder

A heartbreak in the shape of a graveyard
My neighbors borrowed the hatred of my enemies
Are these houses or just solitary confinements?
How come our garden has no birds, flowers or trees?
I was just playing in your green fields yesterday
With a hill and trash you replaced my friends and me

I returned home, on fire I roam from store to store
Isn't there anyone? Is no one waiting by the door
I don't carry flowers, I carry the sadness of war

Don't tell me this this decaying cave is our home
The one about which people used to fantasize
Is this sad palm tree the same one that gave us shade?
Didn't we steal it long ago from God's paradise?
Was that deaf laughter ours
Or just the demon in our lives?
Is this burnt out wall supposed to guard us?
This is my address, but this house I don't recognize

Are you my mother? Father, is that you?
Was I ever born here, or did agony leave me blind?
These dead faces show incomparable pain
Carrying a thousand volcanoes, boiling inside
The hearts of my neighbors and friend became rocks
Is this earth? I can't get that thought into my mind
You killed love, the light that lightened our city
Don't play stupid, and ask why it is so dark tonight

O' Mother of the Euphrates, my lungs are paralyzed
Who but you could ever break my chain?
O' father of my pen, I am shocked by your silence
As all of my poems and songs lay in the drain
Your rivers are no longer there so is the love
No lip have kissed me, and I left your hospitals in pain
I slapped my face with my happy memories
And started running the streets, feeling out of my brain
Screaming "Enough, O' people, enough, please!
This is not my home, I don't live on this lane"

I knocked a stranger's door
Thinking it was my door
"O neighbor, you know this war
It burns and burns, yet wants more
The country left me and moved away
I don't even know what for

My parents are far, far away
Please help me, stranger
Inside my house there is pain
And outside I only see danger"

She's gone

She's gone with the wind, wake up, O' her lover
She's now a wine glass, in the hands of another
My eyes, my imagination, my blood all smother

They destroyed the furniture and burned all that they see
As they pretended to have come here to save me
I want her back, my gracious big beautiful city
I won't sleep, I won't eat
I am as rebellious as I will I ever be

O' house I went take a step inside
Not until they return
And if we don't ever collide
I hope you would burn

O' people, O' my body and emotional toll
Stop blaming me as regret has eaten my soul

I slapped my face with a memory of all that is now void
Is this what we are now? I am, I am, I am destroyed
I returned, tempted by memory, that left me paranoid

After the separation, I returned to live under a smoke dark sky
In the wake of dawn, you will find me walking, just a drunk guy
The night scares and the memory tortures me
Then sleep defeated my memory and I closed my eye

Sort:  

Congratulations @amirtheawesome1! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 400 posts. Your next target is to reach 450 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive UK Community