You Are Disallowed

in The Ink Well4 years ago (edited)


Image source

You are disallowed in this room of mine
From entering, whispering or let our hands intertwine
From bringing me a cheerful toy you buy
Or read me a story before bed time

You are disallowed

My room, days, time, and walls are all red and grey
So would you please, my love
Leave me a tree leaf to remind me of the sun's taste?
I ask for pens, but they break them to my face
I ask for my life, they say it ran out of days
I ask them for pills, that would take me away
Even sleeping pills, like me, can't sleep
So I stay awake.

You are disallowed

If you ever manage to visit me before I die alone
Wear those exotic rings,
And necklaces with a precious stone
And try to wear the air
Of places for which I long

What could a yearner do, O' my darling
While innocently jailed involuntary?
And between us stand guards, gates
And orders created by a fairy
What could a thirster do for love
And to play on fingers made of ivory
While spending his life in solitary?

Don't feel guilty for moving on
And not turning back
Our fate was shot in stone
Either a heartache, or a "heart attack".

You are disallowed


Image source A Prisoner in Abu Ghraib

Sort:  

Powerful writing Amir....respect to the experiences that give rise to it!

 4 years ago  

Thank you for you comment, I appreciate it.