No Goodbyes: The Inkwell Prompt #18

in The Ink Well3 years ago

photo-1544620347-c4fd4a3d5957.jpeg
Image by Juan Encalada


As dawn breaks, the sun climbs steadily out of the sky, smiling on the world. Still early, the birds are yet to begin their songs and children are still in dreamland.

But I'm no longer a child. And I'm about to take a big step in my life.

Three days ago, I had gotten admission to study my dream course Electrical Engineering in my dream school, the University of Nigeria Nsukka.

As expected, the news had been met with great joy from friends and family. Seeing as I had been seeking this admission for the past year.

Since I left secondary school, I had to watch my mates go off to higher Institutions and coming back with glorious tales of how much fun school could be.

This year, I swore never to be a listener anymore, but to be the storyteller. So I doubled my reading, upped my game, and aced all tests. And the University had no choice but to offer me admission.

I wanted to begin my screening on time, so the next few days had been occupied with getting all my documents and luggage ready. My mom bought foodstuffs and beverages for me. They were so much I wondered how I would fit them all into my bag.

"I know how you eat," she told me when I complained. "I give you two weeks, and you'll finish it all."

Last night, while I had been unable to sleep due to the excitement for the journey that lay ahead, my mother had come into my bedroom. And for over two hours, we had serious talks.

She cautioned me against joining bad gangs while in school, urging me to remember the son of whom I was. I was just an extension of the family there in Nsukka and it was my duty to portray the family in a good light.

"I know mom," I said for the umpteenth time. "I'll make sure I make you proud. I'll be the best student."

"That's what everyone who goes there says. But the environment changes you, it's unavoidable. What you get to choose is if it's going to be a good change or a bad change."

And now, her advice still fresh in my mind, I pull out the handle of my portmanteau. As I bend to pick the bag containing my foodstuffs, she beats me to it.

"I'll see you off." She says, leading the way.

As we open the door to leave, I hear my younger sister's footsteps behind me.

"Brother, where are you going?"

I let out a sigh. I had been hoping I would sneak off while she was sleeping. I don't want to see her cry.

I kneel before her, "hello Angel, I told you I got admission. I'm off to school now."

She wipes her eyes sleepily as she yawns. To her, 'school' meant going in the morning and coming home in the evening. "So I'll see you in the evening."

"No Angel, I'm not coming home today."

It "Then when are you coming?"

"Mummy will tell you," I say, I didn't want to tell her I had no idea how long my trip would take. "I need you to be a good girl for me okay? And be strong for mummy. I'll get you that Barbie doll on my way back."

She smiles, "okay. Come back fast."

"I will," I mutter, getting back to my feet.

"Come on Angel," my Mom takes her by the hand. "Let's see him off together."

We walk out of the house into the street, the sky is bright enough to light our path. As we walk, our feet crunch over the rough ground, we chat amiably.

And suddenly, we're at the bus station. My mum leads the way to the ticket booth. A young man comes and takes the bag from her to the bus I was going to enter.

"So, this is it." She says finally, handing the ticket to me. "You remember everything I told you?"

"Yes, mom." Suddenly, I'm not too keen on getting on the bus. This is going to be my first time living without my family. I will have to make all the decisions and do everything myself. How on earth can I do that?

I can tell she knows what's going through my mind, she caresses my face.

"You'll be fine, my love." She tells me, I instinctively lean into her touch. "I promise."

I feel my eyes begin to water, but I blink them back. Oh, I'm going to miss them so much.

"I love you, mom," I mutter and hug her. It's a long hug, full of love and affection. And when it's over, I feel refreshed and strengthened. I turn to Angel and hug her as well.

"Take care of yourself." My mother says as I turn toward the bus.

"You too mum."

"Bye-bye brother!" Angel cries.

Not wanting to say goodbye, I blow her a kiss.

And I climb aboard.

They stand outside till the bus fills up. Then they wave at me until we pull out of the station.

My heart is racing with fear of the unknown, but also with excitement. I am anxious to see what school life has in store for me.

Gazing through the window, I watch the buildings sail by. And I know without an iota of doubt in my mind.

I'll be fine indeed.


The End.
This story is in response to this week's prompt Change. Endeavour to check it out.
Thank you for reading.


Feel free to contact me via my Discord handle below:
bruno-kema#1355

Sort:  

This is a lovely story, simply told and simple in its arc, bought out in a very satisfying way to a great end. I read it and felt that I too was at thr beginning of an optimistic new adventure. I also felt like I could imagine being in this household, leaving the sweet younger sister and making my way in the world. Really enjoyed, thank you!

Congratulations @bruno-kema! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 60 posts.
Your next target is to reach 70 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

The young man is about to undergo probably one of the biggest changes of his life (yes, change--good job), and yet you lead readers through it gently. It is the proper tone for such a journey. He is sober, and hopeful. His mother is sad, and happy. Such a blend of emotions, like pastels on water painting. You paint very well here.

This young man's journey is described effectively and sensitively. Thank you for posting this story in the Ink Well community. You are diligent about commenting on the work of your fellow writers. Just a reminder: Please be sure to read the work of other writers in the community and share comments with them. We are urging everyone who posts in The Ink Well to take this step, going forward, to ensure our community members are supporting one another. (We also have this in The Ink Well community rules on our home page and in our weekly writing prompts.) Thank you!

This year, I swore never to be a listener anymore, but to be the storyteller.

That is a great line. This might actually be when change took place. He decided to take charge of his life and not wait for things to come to him.

The story is very good :)

Going off to school is a very big move. This story reminded me of my first plane flight. I didn't go away to school, since my father was a professor at a local college where I was able to attend without having to pay tuition. But at the beginning of the third year, I went away for six months to Europe with a student group. Getting on that plane and saying goodbye to my family was the hardest thing I ever had to do up to that point. Your story brought me back to that moment, many years ago!

This story is very well done. It tells the main character's story through action and dialog, but also through some very subtle thoughts and gestures that carry a lot of weight. Like not wanting to tell Angel he would not be back in the evening, and blowing a kiss to her, when he realizes he does not want to say goodbye. Those details are just perfect. Beautiful story!

I must say you did great with this week's prompt. The young man in this story had to go through the change of having his family around him to living alone amidst strangers and making his own decisions.

I remember when I had to leave my family and school far away. Heheh, brings back memories. Well done! 🙂

Hi @bruno-kema! You manage to narrate a moment of transition in a detailed way and incorporate doubts and hopes into the story. Entering university is a delicate moment, a big change, which can mark a person's life forever. You manage to convey a wide range of emotions with your writing.

A very moving story. Going to college is quite a challenge and responsibility when family matters.
It's nice to see through the characters' interactions all the cultural values that are packed in this storytelling bag.

Travel changes us, so this story does very well to indicate what is to come. Going even to another region or place changes us, the mere fact of working or studying in a place forges us by changing our thoughts.

Greetings

I have a feeling that he made his mum proud :) Angel probably has a shock coming when he doesn't get back that week though...

Well written, thank you for the story :)