Wish Upon A Star

in The Ink Well3 years ago

alexander-andrews--Bq3TeSBRdE-unsplash.jpg


The night my life changed, I did not see it coming at all. I was seating by my window looking out into the starless sky, wondering how on earth things had gotten so bad.

Earlier in the day, I had returned from work to receive a letter of eviction from my landlord because I owed rent. The only way for me to remain in the apartment was for me to pay up, but as things were at the moment, that was going to be impossible. And when he chooses to kick me out, I have no idea how I will get another apartment.

And it was not as if the house was even eye-catching, almost everything about it was faulty. from the plumbing to the roof, then the heating system and the wiring connection. I had been enduring because I had not been paying. I had no idea my Landlord had been enduring as well. And now he had reached his limit.

And so, not knowing what to do and even unable to eat, I sat by my window, looking at the empty night sky. It was a mirror of just how I felt within me. Barren.

All I needed was a miracle.

Suddenly, I noticed the silver light darting across the sky. I followed its movement.

“That’s a falling star,” I said to myself idly.

I wondered what would happen if I wished upon it. It felt foolish and childish but at the level I was financially, I was past caring.

“Okay,” I muttered, I was going to make a wish before the star fell out of sight.

As the streak of silver kept falling, I closed my eyes and tried to think of my biggest problem. It was not difficult to bring it to mind.

My housing issues. I wanted to be free from this constant tussle with landlords. And I wanted a new house where I could be free to do whatever the hell I want.

And so, I made my wish.

“I wish for a new house,” I said quietly, letting my soft words float on the evening breeze.

I opened my eyes and saw that the star was still falling. Could there be time for another quick wish? Maybe I could ask for money instead. It sounded like an awesome idea.

“I wish for…” my voice trailed off. I had been about to close my eyes when I saw something confusing so I snapped them open once more. “What the…”

The star was still very much in view, it was then I realized that it should have fallen not of sight by now. Instead, it seemed to be getting bigger and bigger.

I pressed my face closer to the window, hoping to make sense of this bizarre event.

The streak began to change color as it got bigger. And soon, it was glowing orange. No, hold on… that’s not just orange…

“It’s on fire!!” I cried out as I surged to my feet. A giant ball of fire was hurtling through the sky at breakneck speed. I watched as it kept falling closer and closer, and then I noticed it was not just a ball of fire. “It’s a bloody meteor!”

And it was heading for my house!

I turned at once and dashed out of my living room, through my passageway, and then shoved my body through the door. I did not even notice the night breeze touch my skin as I tripped on the short flight of stairs.

I tumbled down, my head connecting with concrete until I rolled to the ground.

“Oh, Jesus!” I cried out loud as I got back to my feet and began to run just as the meteor crashed into the house.

The earth shook underneath my feet, causing me to fall once more. My house folded like cardboard and what was left of it went up in flames at once.

What was I saying? There was nothing left of my house! It had been completely crushed; it was the meteorite that was still burning.

“Oh my God…” I groaned in despair, feeling the heat sear my skin. I could not even afford to push myself back to my feet. “What the hell just happened?”

I still had absolutely no idea, despite the fact it had all happened to me.

So as I looked stupidly at the deep crater that was now resident in the spot where my house had been, I remembered my wish. I hissed in anger.

My wish had been granted. I would have to get a new place to live, whether I could afford it or not.

Yeah, just my rotten luck.


The end.
Image by Alexander Andrews
Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Oof. Talk about being careful what you wish for. Of course, I swear the Universe has a sense of humor, I mean, your poor, down on his luck protagonist definitely got what he wished for, didn't he? That was a wonderful read @bruno-kema!

Oh yes, too bad he would not be enjoying it.
Thank you for reading, I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Great story, @bruno-kema. I love this character and his wry view on life. At the end, we wish for better things for him. But he certainly does not seem to have the best luck, does he? Thanks for sharing your work in The Ink Well!

Yeah, luck does not seem to be on his side this time.
Thank you for reading @jayna, I'm glad you enjoyed my story.

The story offers a new twist on an old adage:Be careful what you wish for. Very clever, very well written.

Thank you @bruno-kema for sharing this story with us and thank you for engaging with other members of the Ink Well community.

Thank you for your support, I'm glad I posted in this community.

Hahaha.. This shouldn’t be funny but I just couldn’t help it especially with the part about his wish getting granted.

His wish did get granted, just not in the way he would have wanted it.
Thnak you very much for this, bro.
I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you for your suppport.

Congratulations @bruno-kema! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP