Birthday gone wrong

in The Ink Welllast year

pexels-photo-1000445.jpeg
Source

Everyone has something they believe in. Some are weirder than others.
I grew up in a crazy but not so crazy household. You wouldn't have to sit and wonder why I turned out abnormal if you ever met my parents.

My Dad, I would describe him as the calm and coordinated one, or as coordinated as he can be. Every year, he gets my mum cards for a birthday and we all have to write something special in it.
I don't remember the birthday it was but the words he wrote that particular year are as clear as day in my head.
"Sometimes she shouts, sometimes she nags but she is still the best thing that ever happened to me"
Sweet right?, I know.

My mum didn't think so though. She ended up doing the first thing he wrote in the card.
My mum is another matter. She is well, the not so coordinated one, she makes almost everything work in a disorganized kind of way. To put it short, she is simply the best.
My brothers are the pain in my very existence. I'm pretty sure they were both adopted. I don't have the proof but I've been digging, one day I'm sure I'll find the papers.

Anyway, it's tradition in my family that on each person's birthday, He or she doesn't have to do anything. Not even lift a finger. All you do that day is sleep in, eat, send people to get whatever you want ( this one, my senior brother loves the most, a chance to boss me in particular around).

How this tradition came about?, here the story lies.....

It was one of my favourite days. The last day of exams. I was even more excited because my Grandma's birthday was in three days and we were travelling for it.
Claudia pack your things, your mum is here", my class teacher said.
Finally

I didn't need to be told twice, I was already flying out of my sit. I loved to travel for one reason alone. The snacks and food my mum I got to eat during the journey. It just hit differently.
It goes in this sequence, first it's gala, then plantain chips, drinks comes next. My tummy relaxes for a while until we get to the first stop, here my mum buys suya( this is a necessity). We get going and the stop before we reach our final destination I eat real food, jellof rice to be precise. I call it travelling jellof rice.

This journey was no different.
We got to my grandma's house late at night. My big brother was asleep so my Dad carried him. I on the other hand was too excited. Everyone was here. Enough people to play with.
The next day I helped with the arrangements, whatever a seven year old could do I was available. It was going great, canopies were standing, the mothers were busy with cooking, children were doing what we do best, stressing our parents out.
Grandma was going to be the big seven- zero. I can tell you she definitely didn't look her age.
The night before,we were all set for the party.

pexels-photo-1543762.jpeg
Source

Finally the day I had been waiting for was here. I was really happy for Grandma, I was, but the real reason for my excitement was all the food I'd eat that day.
Then the worst thing happened, Grandma was sick.
What happened, I thought, she was fine yesterday.

The mood of celebration was lost on everyone. All the effort put into preparation gone.
No one did anything that day. Grandma stayed in bed while people took turns in taking care of her.
She got better eventually.
The celebration was pushed forward and since Grandma was recovering she couldn't really participate.
I sat on my mum's leg while she discussed with her mother.

Two weeks later we went back home. My mum told us that Grandma liked how everyone dotted on her on her birthday and how she didn't have to do anything even though it was because she was sick.
She told my Dad that's how she wants to be treated on her birthday. We thought it wasn't fair, why is it only her that gets the privilege?.
So on that day it was decided that on everyone's birthday, they were to be treated like royalty.
An so the Nelson's tradition was born.

Sort:  

Really cute story and marvellously cute tradition. Relaxing on a birthday is an “all-day-gift” of the best kind. Your voice on this piece is perfect for the telling - playful, exasperated and (at times) indignant; it’s called the family “tone” and you’ve done a good job with it. Thanks for sharing special memories with us on The Ink Well.

Everything about family is great to me☺☺this is a beautiful tradition by the way, celebrating someone in their birthday is awesome

I wouldn't trade them for anything in the world. And I'm even happier cos my birthday is coming up.

Make way, royalty coming through soon😂😂

Love this🙌🙌
Being a princess for your birthday is so special☺💕
🎉🎉 happy birthday in advance🎉🎉

That’s beautifully told, and a worthwhile tradition. Cute story! 🤗💕❤️

Thank you😊😊

It is a very nice story that explains this family tradition. I liked the way you narrated it, in a simple and familiar tone. well done!

Thank you for reading. It's much appreciated

Very nice story telling. I like the tale of the family tradition. Pity your grandma became ill but I am happy that she recovered and a nice family tradition was born. We have a similar tradition but no special tale like this one.

I'm glad she recovered too and years later she's still kicking.
I learnt from this that everything has a reason so that must have been it.

Family traditions are the best. It's nice that you have one to share with your family. Thanks for reading

That is indeed good news - that she is still alive and kicking.

I just found out that there is such a tradition. Although a little funny, but I like this story. I enjoyed it

What can I say, weirdness runs in my family.
I'm glad you enjoyed it... Thanks for reading

Lol... This story got me laughing a lot and that is just the kind of story I love to read.

I'm thinking of introducing this tradition to my family too, it's super cool haha... But I don't think it'd be cool when it's not my birthday 😂

The story is well told, thanks for sharing it with us.... Nelson tradition rocks!

No no no no no no no no no no!!!!
That's ten (nos) in total. You're not permitted to steal my tradition 😂😂.

That's just the downing part of it, it's even worse because my birthday comes first in the year so whatever I do gets doubled.
But what's life without family?.
Thanks for reading.

Lol... I'm not stealing your tradition but yes, I'm stealing the idea 😂

Oh I can imagine the double when your birthday comes first haha, so funny and scary at the same time.

Life would be nothing my dear 🥲

Amazing and interesting story. I so much love the Nelson tradition and I feel it's worth adopting. There is no two way in showing someone love on a special day in his or her life to allowing the person to enjoy all the privilege of a royalty treatment.

If only everyday could be my birthday, dramatic sigh.
But I'm happy I get at least one day.
Thanks for taking time to read my story and your comment is much appreciated.

I enjoyed reading your story, it was funny and entertaining. how to describe your father and your siblings who may be adopted : )

Not may😂... I'm pretty sure they are. When I find the proof I'll tell you.. Thanks for reading I'm glad you enjoyed it😊.

Congratulations, @dianelson!

Your publication has been selected as one of the best of the week and has been highlighted in The Ink Well magazine #82.

https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@theinkwell/the-ink-well-highlights-magazine-82

I think bossing people around is my favorite part.. If you ever do find a place that employs people to do nothing, please do well to tell me😂😂.

Thank you for reading 😊