He got a second chance.

in The Ink Welllast year

I am not one of the many people who are lucky with friends, I have been stabbed several times by people I called my friend so that term is not something I use frequently. They do things that made me wonder if we were ever friends because true friends are meant to trust, love, care, and put each other interests in the heart.

Some have impacted my life positively and I cherish them so much. Many of them are in a better position than I am but the way they still check up on me makes me happy.


photo-1591980607162-923fa31e8240.jpeg
Source

When I got admission into the polytechnic, I was blessed with a room and parlor self-contained apartment by my boss.

My first day at school was great and the excitement was high because it took me five years to save up for my tertiary education.

On my way out of class after a lecture, I saw this guy looking stressed. He had a big bag on him and it was easy to tell that he was also a student. We both walked to the gate but didn't interact with each other.

I was waiting for a bike when he approached me, we greeted him and he said we were in the same class but I didn't notice him. We talked about some things and as I was about to leave, he asked if he could pass the night at my place because he didn't have anywhere to stay.

It came to me as a shock, I didn't have the time to think and I just said yes. We went home together that night, I helped another lady about two days later and we became three.

I almost lost my free accommodation when my boss discovered I brought people home and it took God's intervention that I didn't lose the place.

Things settled and she gave her consent for them to stay at the end with the condition that I will be responsible for them.

We became friends, we did everything together and I haven't had someone so close to me like that except my family. Our friendship grew bigger, people in the neighborhood and at school envied us.

On a particular day, the guy called me after a lecture and came up with a discussion. He said he didn't want any of us to get into a relationship with the girl among us, I never had that in mind so it wasn't an issue.

Months passed and the girl asked me if the guy was trustworthy because he asked her out.

I was shocked and told her to be careful, I remembered emphasizing that she should follow her mind because I don't want to be responsible for anything.

A few months later, I discovered they were dating but I never said anything. I eventually fell in love with a lady in year two but I felt she wouldn't say yes because she once helped me and my social life was terrible.

She is a social person and very pretty. I told my friend about it and he told me not to even go there because the girl's class was higher than mine.

I felt bad and after some time, I saw him running after the girl in school. I didn't ask him why he was hanging around the girl too much but I decided to tell another friend and he told me to ask her out.

I became friends with the girl and asked her out after. She said yes and I was happy.

My friend pretended to be happy and the relationship was smooth.

My girlfriend was a blessing to me, she was supportive and he grew jealous of everything she was doing for me. I kept the relationship off school and no one knew except my friend.

On a fateful day, my friend said my girlfriend was cheating on me. I didn't believe it because I trust her wholeheartedly.

He said he was going to prove it to me so I didn't confront my girlfriend or ask her anything. I didn't change to her and I was waiting for my friend's proof.

There was a day he sent a picture of a guy and my girlfriend to me, he begged me not to ask her yet because he was still gathering more proof which I agreed to.


We were preparing for our final exams that day when my girlfriend and my friend started a serious argument in the room. I intervened and my girlfriend told me that the guy wasn't a true friend, I asked why and she said he had been asking her out for some time despite knowing that we are dating.

When she refused him, he tried setting her up with another guy who was a senior.

About the picture, he persuaded my girlfriend to snap pictures at school that day. A guy was passing and he just called him to snap as well, she didn't take it as anything because the guy was also in our department.

She started exposing him and all that he said about me. I couldn't tell my side of the story just to prevent things from getting out of hand.

I wasn't happy with the guy after everything I went through for him so I stopped talking to him. After exams, he approached me and begged me.

I couldn't keep up with the grudges and just let everything slide.

People who heard the story said he will still do worse and that I shouldn't have forgiven him.

I forgave him wholeheartedly and continued to be his friend. He turned a new leaf and we became closer.

My girlfriend didn't have a choice but forgive him as well, we did different projects together after school which succeeded. He got married after relocating and the day I met his wife, he reopened the past.

He made me felt like if I had given those who betrayed me in the past a second chance, we could have still been good friends. I can't be blamed as well because they could have hurt me more as well, humans can be very unpredictable.

Sort:  

You were smart and matured enough to handle those dramas. That guy is an ungrateful friend....does he really know the importance of shelter you gave to him? Even when the house wasn't urs. He would have been stranded in school..no peace of mind to even study while having accomodation issues but u helped him

Then paying you back with rubbish attitude.. lolz
I hate nonsense 😂

Glad is over now!

That was then and I am glad he realised how much damage he has caused to our friendship. I am glad he turned a new leaf.

That's good to hear ☺️

It is good that he was not able to destroy your relationship with your girl. Sometimes we should forgive those who hurt us and give them another chance, in his case he changed but not all people given a second chance make good use of it.

That's true, not everyone is worth giving a second chance and we must be very careful when dealing with cunning friends

You are an inspiration, @george-dee. If more people were like you — took people in when they needed a place to stay, and forgave them for doing wrong — the world would most definitely be a better place.

I do offend people and they do forgive me, I decided to give things another approach. I glad I didn't regret giving him another chance.

Your story shows how complicated relationships can be. You handled the many challenges that came your way very well, and even forgave someone who tried to tear your relationship apart! Forgiving people is not easy, but there is often much to be gained.

Thank you for sharing your story in The Ink Well, and for reading and commenting on the work of other community members.

That's true, to forgive is not easy but there is a lot of gain in it. Aside from settling thing, I experience a new level of peace when I let go of my grudges with people.

Congratulations, @george-dee! Your story has been chosen as one of the best of the week and is part of the highlighted author magazine #91.

https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@theinkwell/the-ink-well-highlights-magazine-91

I feel really excited about this, more power to the community.

Your kind is rare, you actually gave him a second chance even after the back stabbing, did he truly turn a new leaf? I hope he did because that kind of character displayed by him was really bad.

I think he did, he has been really honest so far but since he left Lagos we have not had much to do together. If he is still waiting for an opportunity to hurt me again, I pray he doesn't find one.