Fairy dust

in The Ink Welllast year (edited)

Fairy dust

In my house, it became a tradition to sleep on Christmas Day!

I married my late (second) husband in a whirlwind romance. He ran a precious stones’ shop across the way from the fashion store my mother and I owned. He had romance emblazoned on his soul; he sent me dozens of red roses on Valentine’s Day with a note.

“Guess who?”

The roses filled the shop, literally. Neighbors came out to stare...

The pottery pair (husband and wife team.)
The printer (odd man, but even he was interested)
The hotdog vendor (all eyes and ears)
And, well, everybody else.

It took us a year to decide that we were made for each other and we got married (to the sound of Metallica’s Nothing Else Matters in the background) in a small chapel that had a history as long as your arm, gorgeous stained glass windows and a rose garden attached.

He sold all his assets (his house, his shop) and threw in his lot with me (and my mother).

I cannot begin to tell you how successful we were, because it sounds like fairytale nonsense, but the truth is we lived a fairytale life.

The first year of marriage was the training year. I taught him to sew and design, it was so much fun to work with someone else when I’d been used to working on my own. He had a natural flair for fashion and was soon responsible for some of our best selling lines.

Business was exhilarating, an invigorating drug. We ran a manufacturing arm, a retail arm and a human arm. By human arm, I mean that the people who worked in our business were extremely special, it was as if fairy dust was in the air all around us; we could do no wrong.

In that year, I distinctly remember my husband asking me about Christmas.

“What are our plans for the holidays?” He asked me this incongruous question.
He didn’t understand, he had a long, long way to go (the poor man)

Let me tell you about Christmas in our factory and retail shops (we had five stores) : grueling hours of production in anticipation of the rush. The rush began on the sixteenth of December and ended on the fifth of January (or thereabouts). In that rush we would work ourselves to a standstill (seventeen hours a day). All of us. We must’ve had the only establishment that could entertain its staff well enough that they’d work right through Christmas. God, we were a team!

But the question my new husband had asked needed an answer. He didn’t understand. When I told him we would sleep on Christmas and New Year’s Day, he thought I was joking. I cannot tell you the satisfaction I felt when I couldn’t wake him up on Christmas Day, it was an “I told you so” moment. But the underlying excitement of our success, ended in a room full of feathers as a result of my endeavor to get him out of bed. Eventually, we sat on the bed covered in white, while we laughed and laughed until our bones ached.

We used to go on holiday in late January to recover, but the festive period was always a complete blur. I’m not going to recount what happened when the fairy dust disappeared other than to say that the magic lasted for ten indescribably amazing years. We built a fashion empire, but God had other plans.

Sort:  

OH gosh, you know, when I imagine you I never imagine you in a partnership, but this sounds like one, and a good one for however long it lasted - I'm sorry to hear that the fairy dust disappeared. This reads SO WELL - you do non fiction as well as you do fiction!

Haha, weird how we “see” people through their writing, isn’t it?
As to the fairy dust, guess that’s why they call it “dust”. 🤗💕❤️💕🤗

What a delightful upbeat piece. You almost made me smile:)

Well then I’ve got my mission cut out for me, haven’t I - a smile is what I’m after! 🤗💕❤️💕🤗🥲😂🥰

That sounds like some wonderful memories.

🤗💕❤️

Thank you for sharing this precious story with us, I sent it to my girlfriend, we also love to collect beautiful memories, I hope you will have wonderful memories from now on

Hope your girlfriend likes it. 🥰🤗💕

Intelligent write-up, I enjoyed every bit of this

🤗❤️💕

That romantic husband filled you with magic and you probably still have the effects of that fairy dust. It allowed you to rise above the real to stay in the meaningful. A big hug.

🤗💕❤️

My goodness, your writer's voice is amazing! As I read, I felt like I was talking to you in person, and you were hand-describing everything!

The story you shared was great and I'm happy I finally got to find out why y'all slept through Christmas day.

💕🤗❤️

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you @plantpoweronhive 🤗❤️💕

Congratulations @itsostylish! You received a personal badge!

You successfully registered for the HiveBuzz World Cup 2022 Contest.

We hope you will enjoy this event and will have fun. Good luck!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Check your ranking
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 4
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Brazil vs Serbia

Great idea. So sorry, I think I registered twice. Haha

Congrats, keep going like this @itsostylish 😉 Have a nice day!

Oh my gosh, @itsostylish. What a beautiful life story you have. I'm sorry the fairy dust did not last forever, but I guess nothing truly does. I'm glad you had that 10 years. (Now... let me see here. What CNF prompt could I come up with for next week that might get you to tell more of your story?)

Thanks for reading @jayna. It was magic and I was very lucky. 💕🤗❤️🤗💕❤️

Well done @itsostylish! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to see your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

I smile at my phone reading this piece. Such memory of making things happen as a couple is lovely and motivating.

What a reality bite.
Another non fiction I very much appreciated to read from you.
You made the fast and romantic life look like a fairy tale, hard to believe it really happened that way. Ten years is a long time and I really hope that you were so overworked all the time that there was no occasion to argue. And you "poof!" just broke up like that. LOL, of course that's selfish of me. Greetings!

Well done @itsostylish! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board. Click [here](https://hivebuzz.me/rankingWC) to check your ranking.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 5
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Check your ranking
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 4
Well done @itsostylish! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board. Click [here](https://hivebuzz.me/rankingWC) to check your ranking.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 5
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Check your ranking
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 4
Well done @itsostylish! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board. Click [here](https://hivebuzz.me/rankingWC) to check your ranking.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 5
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Check your ranking
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 4

You are absolutely stunning in your wedding photo, oh my goodness 😍!! And married to Metallica, you are just one of a kind! 😎🤘💃

I love this tale of the beginning of your love, how two lives became one in shared goals and passions! I can imagine that the only thing you could give yourself that would be nicer than sleeping on Christmas day, would be a magic wand to finish the work left for the next two weeks! !LOLZ

What a fun peek into an unconventional tradition, that shows the roots of family history. You're a star ❤️ Thank you for sharing this with us 😁

What do you call bad fruits and vegetables?
Gross-eries

Credit: reddit
@itsostylish, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @grindan

Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(1/4)