You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The tracks

in The Ink Well3 years ago

At first, I didn't understand the story. When I translated the phrase in my mind, I thought it meant they were going in the opposite direction.

Then look up its proper meaning in the English language: the part of a community in which those considered socially and culturally inferior live.

So I had to re-read the story

Like the character in your story, I was confused. I can see that she thought she could solve the problem by removing the branch.

I love learning new things ^_^

Sort:  

Ah yes. Being on the "wrong side of the tracks".
She was from "high society" while he was from a lower class. While adults tend to separate people into worthy/unworthy by the size of their bank account and front lawn - ha ha! Children tend to have a much simpler view.

She really did think that phrase meant there was something wrong with his "side" of the tracks, and that she found it with that branch :-)

Happy to be the one to introduce you to a new English phrase! I wonder if you will ever use it in future stories for yourself? You can give it new life! :-)

Nice ^_^

You're right, children do not see the stupid barriers imposed by adults.

Happy to be the one to introduce you to a new English phrase! I wonder if you will ever use it in future stories for yourself? You can give it new life! :-)

Thank you ^_^. It's not a bad idea!

If you do use it, please find a way to let me know so I can come enjoy it! 😅