You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A million dollar bet ||The inkwellprompt

in The Ink Well3 years ago

Hello @faithann. I liked your story of someone taking a gamble on winning a large sum of money. It mirror true life as this has happened to numerous individuals. Many take money earmarked for their budgets to gamble. Often times, it doesn't work out for them. That is the first issue. At least he did win, so it worked out for him. And the first thing he did which was correct was to make a plan of his own.

However, studies have sown that the moment you tell others about your good fortunes, problems arise. Humans are advice givers, free of charge, with wild thoughts on how to spend other people's money. This was your character's second problem.

Third, he did find at the end of the day resolution in talking to the only person that mattered, his fiance. They are the ones to decide their future.

I liked the story because it resonates with so many stories I've heard and seen on these type situations. I know several people who are now broke and in worse shape than before they won any money due to taking bad advice from others.

Also, the friends start to appear that a person hasn't seen in a while. When all is over, a person usually finds out where real friendships stand.

Thanks for sharing your story.

Sort:  

Very true, people give advises without thinking things through. I had once done that.

So, a dear friend called for a chat on a particular issue, me without hearing all the facts...I jumped straight to giving her advice I thought was the best. Being good friends that we are, she asked me to shut up and listen first.
There was a subtle lesson I caught that day.

Thanks for taking out time to read my story.