THE INK WELL - SEASON 2 - Week 2 | A POWER STRUGGLE

in The Ink Well3 years ago (edited)

Copy of Cream  Gray Massage Logo2.png
Image created by @justclickindiva in Canva utilizing its free background

@theinkwell
theinkwell writing challenge | Season 2 Week 2
Prompt: "We were wrong about"

TerminalDividerLineLarge.png

In The Ink Well's Challenge : Season 2 - Week 1 The Treaty of the Graveyard Abyss, I introduced readers to my story of Captain Amos, a courageous soul and his quest for peace. But could he also have another motive?

"A Power Struggle." Season 2: Week 2 draws upon my original story several months ago to give purpose to Captain Amos as he struggles to assist his domain in their survival. In doing so, the entire world may survive.

TerminalDividerLineLarge.png

Beware the Power You Crave.

For 50 years, Neutra patiently plotted her course as her mother instructed. It was her birthright to uphold the creed of the Fluids. But to be able to continue the bloodline as her mother had done, she must rise quicker than the Others to gain a seat on The Supreme Council. Passage from: Welcome to Pecahomi Bay by @justclickindiva

To the eager couple browsing the brochure waiting for their chance to speak with her, the voice on the other end of the telepone might as well have been just an another telemarketer that interrupted their meeting by the soft tone and half smiling countenance on Neutra's face.

They didn't know her. But neither of them could break the connection as they stared brazenly taking in her entire facade as they waited for her to complete the call.

A tall, thin woman with blue-green eyes, sometimes changing colors, set deep in an alabaster facial feature with shiny, long dark red hair, she displayed an exotic-looking beauty one would expect to see in a portrait. But it was those eyes that drew you in and wouldn't allow you to turn away from.

Neutra chose the beautiful Pecahomi Bay Ocean Resort to conduct her illusive operations away from the watchful eye of The Supreme Council. She figured she'd blend in well in this environment near the International Treaty Zone. Business acumen was her forte. Professionalism on display at all times. The resort's customers deserved no less.

image.png
Previously used in my story "Welcome to Pecahomi Bay". Image by victor_chen from Pixabay

Expert at portraying the facade she adapted decades ago, she listened intently. "Captain Amos has been allowed safe passage from The Abundant Waters," her informant confirmed. Silence on her end. Somehow she already knew as truth his words.

The next statement, however, combined to send her thoughts twirling as she heard "and The Supreme Council has ordered an emergency meeting tomorrow." She paused, giving her mind a chance to recall the final orders handed down against her. All in the presence of her nemesis.

"Will Zanupog be in attendance?" The answer from the informant would dictate her next move. So many issues. But the Separatists, in which Zanupog led to revolt against her, rose to the critical level on her list.

The news didn't sit well. Gathering her thoughts, she responded cheerfully, "We were wrong about the dates set out in the Resort's Vacation Package. I'll get back with you tomorrow. Let me think on this new development. Thanks for your call." The words flowed quickly, but her tone remained even.

The headset she removed with a quick jerk. Her attention turned to ensuring residents for the Resort. She cast a wide, cherry lipstick smile. "Sorry about that. Let's get you booked for your special event. We're pleased you chose us for your stay."

Alone now in the quiet of her office, Neutra's thoughts returned to her current predicament. Threats to her rise in power on three fronts.

To all who knew her, the facade she presented concealed a fierce, ambitious warrior whose rising temperature now ignited the hatred she felt at hearing Zanupog's name and the news of The Supreme Council's meeting. Claws shredding the seat underneath her desk, bore the brunt of her emotions.

Thoughts turned towards home.

It will be good to see homeland again. I need a break. My armor aches for release so that nourishment from the depths of The Abundant Waters, can restore my form.

The Abundant Waters. A sanctuary filled with amazing creatures and beings in the vast deep kept secret throughout the ages. For centuries our numbers ranged in the billions. The Keepers worked diligently protecting us. Their reward -- reduction of their numbers in the millions from toxicity.

I was born to rule. It's my heritage. I'll never surrender. The misguided elders have been deceived. A massive assault is being waged against us. Am I the only one to see that? Above ground, the knowledge I uncovered will never convince me otherwise.

The rejection of my plans mounts. Each year, Zanupog recruits hundreds whose goal is to put an end to my quest. If not; my death. And in doing so, the destruction of our people. All in the name of peace.

But no more. Zanupog's sedition won't be tolerated another day. I will quelch this uprising. My mother's people; their allegiance already pledged. Once I gain an absolute stronghold, No other species will dare rise up against me. I can't retreat. I swear to my death, I won't. My mother's strength engulfs my being and propels me toward my destiny. Her promise will be fulfilled.

Reeling in Your Enemies.

If hatred had levels, I'd never reach the pinnacle of my loathing for the so-called, The Treaty of the Graveyard Abyss. Why do you think they named it "graveyard"? In it lies my past. My people. My mother.

Captain Amos had now surpassed that level.

Traitor was too good a label to attach to him. I suspected for some time he was a member of the Separatists. His heroics clouded the waters so deep The Supreme Council couldn't see it nor Zanupog's deceit.

As far as I know, besides myself, he's the only one above ground who understands the Thurgami's heritage in The Abundant Waters, what lie beneath, and how to navigate The Trecherous Waters.

For all his righteous beliefs, he was no better than the ones above ground. Any of my people who suggest we join the ones above ground was a threat to our existence and should be eliminated.

I hadn't factored in Norgord. Surprise, not really. He was just a creature who blindly obeyed orders. I suspect someone from The Supreme Council commanded him to stand down and allow Captain Amos safe passage.

No one had worked harder to secure absolute power. Learning to control my mind and body in order to live above ground for periods of time was my strength; the secret of which my mother taught me; one I never divulged.

The fact that Captain Amos, as he called himself, had gained this knowledge I needed to investigate discretely. Thirty years had passed since I last spoke with him.

Now, he was doing their dirty work and with the help of Zanupog. Scurrying back to finally hand over evidence of my undermining the Treaty, was his life's mission.

No matter the outcome of The Council's meeting, I won't allow him to exposure me. He'll never reach The Barren Expanse,.

Time to herself to reflect allowed the plan to take shape. Two hours later, she locked the Resort and made her way through the thick brush in the rear and to the place of her harvest: The Trecherous Depths.

Located behind the resort in a densely wooded section, the area wasn't visible to the curious wanderer. A perfect spot in this stretch of the waters Neutra chose to conduct her business.

As she approached the familiar narrow path, she could feel the beginning of the small patch of cool marsh beneath her feet. The sounds and smells of the raging waters enticed her further. She advanced to the edge of the grassy cliff.

Now standing at the edge overlooking the resort, she relished in her thoughts of her last harvest. The vacationing couple in the back of the vehicle embraced each other with a kiss. She wondered whether they realized it would be their last as she rammed their car into the tree.

image.png
Previously used in my story "Welcome to Pecahomi Bay". Image by darksouls1

Instantly, she took her form, snatched the couple from the vehicle, and sprayed them with the oil that drained their bodies of all fluids before delivering them into The Trecherous Depth. There, her faithful servants, the Keepers, were waiting to execute her command. Another notch in her climb to power. That was business.

But today, this was survival. Daraj, her informant, and the Keepers she knew stood ready to defend her right to the seat on the Supreme Council, descended through her mother. Her life's work was being threatened if exposed. Wisdom from her: keep your enemies close; suspected traitors, closer.

Through the years, this was one area in which she failed. Her one slip may be the end to her quest as proof of her deeds was confiscated and pirated away by Captain Amos.

Neutra reached into her left pocket and withdrew the oval-shaped locket. The raging water below slowed down as the Keeper's head emerged just above the surface. His massive body partially visible.

She spread her hand wide and uttered the words that translated, then transmitted to her most loyal Keeper. "Locate Captain Amos near the East Brakkon Islands. Destroy his ship. Do what you want with him and anyone else aboard. Leave no evidence."

She watched as he retreated into the Trecherous Depth and headed East towards The Barren Expanse, his dark shadow following. Turning back towards the Resort, a calm overtook her as she mused, I'll sleep a bit better this night.

Tomorrow, The Supreme Council emergency meeting.

TerminalDividerLineLarge.png

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.

SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines.

Your Personal Terminal Discord Invite

Copy of Copy of Decorative Shape Facebook Cover1.gif

@traciyork 30-day blogging initiative #nablopomo (Day 7 : Published my Ink Well Season 2 - Week 2 post today)

@flaxz initiative #iamalivechallenge (Published my post today for my blog.)

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.

SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines.

Your Personal Terminal Discord Invite

Copy of Copy of Decorative Shape Facebook Cover1.gif

Sort:  

Hello! Your post was selected by The Ink Well for quality and has received an OCD upvote! Congratulations!

 3 years ago  

Hello @theinkwell. Thank you so much for stopping by and advising me of my post's selection for an OCD upvote. I truly appreciate the support and exposure for my story. I certainly enjoy participating in this challenge. I'm readying my entry now for Week 3 continuation.

Have a good weekend ahead, take care, and stay safe.

😍 !ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 30 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
2