Win 50 HIVE! The Torundel competition and a Torundel youngling

in The Ink Well4 years ago (edited)

There's always something that needs to be done. I have been a bit busy, but haven't forgotten about the younger, sporty, scarf wearing... and singing Odel Runt (a character invented by @owasco), but before revealing that I have made a...

Grand competition!

There will be 50 Hive paid to the account of the person who can answer this question:

  • In the story of Torundel the shitposter there is a character called Sang Hortuscany. Which real person is this fictive character based upon?

First person writing the name in the comments win. EDIT: you can guess as many times you like!

You can go through the story of Torundel the shitposter looking for clues here (the episodes where Sang Hortuscany is mentioned is in cursive):

Part I
Part II
Part III
Part IV
Part V
Part VI
Part VII
Part VIII
Part IX
Part X
Part XI
Part XII
Part XIII
Part XIV
Part XV
Part XVI
Part XVII
Part XVIII
Part XIX
Part XX
Part XXI

It might be a hard figure this out (except if you simply just know) so please use the internet as much as you like. Please share so as many as possible can make a guess.
Torundel the shitposter streg.png

And now here's the new image of Odel for you @owasco. It did say "Last Song As The Little Shit," so if you want another title please let me know. I let her keep the hat and gave her a sort of flapper look.

Runt_Odel_2.png
![Runt_Odel_2.png](https://files.peakd.com/file/peakd-hive/katharsisdrill/LCHI9YsA-Runt_Odel_2.png)

Torundel the shitposter streg.png

Sort:  

This is just a wild guess, that you're referring to André Breton?

I knew him as a French poet who fell in love with a prostitute but his love life was a total mess. lol!

Well, it isn't right, but it is a really good guess. I always liked Breton, and there is some of the rebelliousness and contempt for good taste in the poetry of the Sang Warriors which resembles the Surrealists.

I gave you a decent upvote for this.

Benjamin Franklin

Could be that the liberating force of the Sang Law could be likened to the rationalist change Benjamin Franklin brought upon the American colonies, but Franklin had his shit together compared to Sang Hortuscany :) Thanks for your guess, and remember that everyone can guess more than once!

Okey dokey. My only logic was that Benjamin Franklin loved to stir up things by writings letters to the editor under pseudonyms. He was an original "nym" and "troll" and "s---poster".

Yes, that is actually true for Torundel. He have some Franklin in him, maybe not so much Sang Hortuscany! If no one have the right guess I will make another post with some extra clues. It is a hard nut to crack :)

I honestly have no idea but I will go with William Shakespeare. Is it William Shakespeare?

Shakespeare! Not a bad guess either even though it isn't him. Some of that renaissance unruliness and profanity definitely is part of what I saw in the Sang Warrior epoch.

It is indeed a hard quiz. I guess that if you know you will know immediately and if not it is very hard... I will make another post with more hints if no one guesses.

Alright.. Will be waiting for the next clue.

Marcus Aurelius

Not the right answer, but a very good guess. Very true to the story. I would say that there's a bit of a stoic in Sang Hortuscany, and also for that matter in his spiritual descendant, Torundel.

He had a bit of shitposter in him though, and I'm glad to know that.
I spent another hour trying to find an emperor who came closer, but so far the emperors' achievements were only of the economic, military, or procreation varieties.
I'm going to leave my character named Runt Odel. Thanks again.

Oh, I didn't know that - about the shitposting :) I've never read his meditations, but the Romans had a good deal of shitposting mixed into elegance and beauty. Definitely a good guess.

As for the drawing: You're welcome. Looking forward to the post metamorphose Runt Odel.

Could it be Sun Tzu? If I am allowed a second guess I would say Cyrano De Bergerac.

Neither is right, but both are good guesses... this is really good with all these intelligent guesses. Sun Tzu was warrior and philosopher, not sure if he had women problems... but that's where Cyrano the libertine fits in. I remember the film with Depardieu in the title role!

@katharsisdrill this will definitely be fun. I will participate.

Please do! I hope you find the right answer.

Thank you! I'll have to give the name some thought, thanks too for bringing that to my attention. The portrait is perfect. It will be fun to write for a new character.

As for the contest, which is a great idea, history is not my bag, unless he or she was a famous chef! I'll see what I can come up with though. That will be fun.

What a fun idea!

This is one way to make people read your writings :)

I so want to upvote this but my vote would be dust. May this comment bring you a more valuable warm and fuzzy feeling.

Haha, well it did!