Have You Ever Emailed a Tree? [contest]- The mango tree

in The Ink Well3 years ago

Hello Hello readers of THE INK WELL!!!

I wrote this entry to participate in the contest:Have You Ever Emailed a Tree? [Plus, Win HIVE] - Last Entries Wednesday 1st September!

Here I leave you the link to access it:

https://peakd.com/nature/@riverflows/have-you-ever-emailed-a-tree-plus-win-20-hive

Good luck to all!!!

I invite the following to participate:

@popurri

@maxigan

@lisfabian

@saulos

@joseph1956

@young-boss-karin

@kemmyb

@sacra97

@irvinc

@nahupuku

@graciadegenios

@gracielaacevedo

@deeanndmathews

@ubani1

Now my e-mail:

bird-5634173_640.jpg

Link

Hello my dear mango!

I affectionately call you mango, as always .......

Yes, I know what you are going to tell me. You always remind me that your name is Mangifera, that you belong to the family Anacardiaceae, and you are native to India. But you know, what matters to me is you. It's been a while since we've communicated.

I miss you. I still remember when you came along as a little boy. I adopted you as if you already belonged to my family. I took care of you every day. I watered you daily so you wouldn't be thirsty. I put fertilizer on your food; I always selected organic because you liked it better than chemical fertilizer. I also made sure that your physical health was not damaged by pests or diseases.

Sometimes I didn't have so much time to be by your side, I was at school. But, when I returned home and did my homework, you always sheltered me under your shadow.

We grew up together. -Do you remember when I used to hug you and they said I was crazy?

Well, you made me so happy. I felt your greatness. With that simple embrace I could project your splendor......

Then you became an adult, faster than I did. But you were always there for me. You always took care of me with your shade, your leaves and your fruits.

-Do you remember when I was a teacher?

I was teaching at the University of Life and, from straining my voice so much, I became completely aphonic. ....... And you gave me your young leaves; I made an infusion with them and after three days I could speak perfectly. Nobody believed that you had cured me.

Ah! I forgot about our friends the parrots. You always gave them shelter in your branches. They would fly away, early in the morning, and then come back again and again. And we were happy with their chattering ......

You kept growing...... When I first saw your little fruits I was very excited. I nursed them to adulthood. Some, as they ripened, would fall to the ground and there was Linda, my little Pomeranian dog, who would delight in your sweet taste.

Sometimes children would throw stones at your fruits, and you would suffer. When that happened I decided to harvest your green fruits; that is, they were not yet ripe, and I cooked them to make jelly. Delicious delicacy that I consumed at snack time.

Oh, but the most exciting thing was when I picked your ripe, colorful fruits to eat them. That was a feast that I celebrated with my family!

I kind of got very nostalgic remembering you....... I'm sorry, I had to do it and put it in writing......

Even though I am far away from you right now, I still love you and I plan to come back soon to visit you. I think that in 15 days I should be there with you. I hope to share and relive, again, all those moments we lived.

Signed:

With affection your human love, who is still eternally in love with you.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Sort:  

What a great idea, @katleya: an email to a tree. And it is also great that you connect two communities with this 'letter'. You do a good job of personifying the tree.

Thank you for posting this story in the Ink Well community. And, thank you for engaging with other members of the community.

I didn't know that mango leaves were medicinal! Loved this post very much!

Isn't it funny that many of the posts are nostalgic for childhood - we remember our great love of trees from our past, and long for that time?

I hope this post has helped you re connect with nature a little and I hope that you go back to your beloved mango soon. A beautiful post!

Hola @katleya, estuvo muy bonito tu correo electrónico dirigido a ese árbol maravilloso que es el mango. Yo tambien lo amo. Muchas gracias por la invitación. Saludos y bendiciones

Yes, it is medicinal @riverflows .
Infusions are made with a large cup of water and a handful of young, tender leaves. Let it boil for 2 minutes, then turn off the heat. Let it rest and strain. I took it 3 times a day until I was cured.