Mystery Motel

in The Ink Well4 years ago (edited)

1.jpg

He lost the track of time, but he was sure that the sun had set long ago. This endless corridor was starting to get to him. He closed his eyes to compose himself and to forget the pit in his stomach. He has been here for at least an hour, or maybe even five. This place defied any logic, or any logic he could think of. He walked ahead, taking ocasional pauses and breaks.

He'd go back the way he came from, if only the wall hadn't suddenly closed behind him. He looked for any cracks or secret levers, but as he found none. So he walked ahead. Once he lost sight of the wall, he changed his mind and tried to go back. However, he never reached the end of the corridor again.

The corridor itself looked sickly. The ancient yellow wallpaper was peeling off the walls. The pattern was barely visible and it resembled eyes of various shapes and sizes. The lamps on the walls flickered weakly, accentuating the run down feel. This might have been a hotel many years ago, if not a century ago. There were no painting on the walls, nothing to mark the time period, not even a single piece of furniture other than those unremarkable lamps.

The doors were evenly spaced on both sides, but every door he tried so far was locked. He even tried breaking down one of the doors, but with all his all his strength, he just couldn't do it. Once his shoulder was bruised and he almost twisted his ankle trying to kick down the door, he knew it was hopeless. Out of desperation he even tried knocking on the door, but all he could hear was an echo of his knock.

Next, he tried looking for patterns, he noted a few cracks and stains that he could associate with various objects. However, his theory proved wrong, this wasn't a loop, or it was too long of a loop for him to measure. Most curious of all thou, was if he went back down the corridor, all of the patterns appeared different. This place must be affecting his memory, making him forget faster than he could remember.

The more time passed, the confused he was, how did he get here? He could roughly remember a call, a job. He was investigating, but he could hardly remember any more than that. He sat down on the floor and tried to concentrate. This wasn't the first time he was in some odd trouble. He had confidence in his skills, so he had better act like a professional. After a short rest he got up and was about to adjust his collar, when he noticed a writing on his left hand. He recognized his own handwriting, and it read: look up.

He was almost afraid to look up directly above him. Looking ahead, the ceiling appeared normal, with occasional yellowed water stains. He took a deep breath and looked up.

Cover image: https://pixabay.com/illustrations/wall-wallpaper-old-structure-dark-1074291/ https://pixabay.com/illustrations/wall-wallpaper-old-structure-dark-1074291/

Sort:  

Congratulations @kristyglas! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2000 replies. Your next target is to reach 2250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

What did he see when he looked up? Where was he?

That's hopefully for another time :D
Thank you for reading <3 I'm still learning and practicing.

I'm in so much suspense 😄 waiting on the next

😂 It could take a while, but I'll do my best

Almost forgot to reply to this. This is pretty awesome, it reminds me of a postapocalyptic sci-fi book from the 70s ( if I'm correct ) written by a female writer. There's also a movie adaptation of this novel starring Julie Christy ( the movie is forgettable. If I remember the name, I'll let you know.

Great writing! Intriguing and suspensful :<)

Cool, do you know the name by any chance? :D I haven't really watched any 70s movies. This was more inspired by Nightingale - A Short Story Collection by Stephen Leather :D

This was more inspired by Nightingale - A Short Story Collection by Stephen Leather :D

I see :<)

The name of the movie is the same of the novel and it's somewhere in my brain under a layer of dust. Wait, let me check Christie's filmography...

Found it.

'Memoirs of a Survivor'
based on a novel by Doris Lessing.

And seriously, you haven't seen 70s movies???

I studied film and it's probably my favorite decade ( although I go to the 1980s for entertainment )

Looks interesting, might check out the book (or maybe The Fifth Child), admittedly I have a bunch of other books to read before :D

Wise of you not to reply on my film comment haha. It's an intriguing book indeed.

P.S. Haven't you seen the original Star Wars? ;<)

Yeah sort of, I only haven't seen the 6th (III) I think, I've seen the key scenes. However I watched them as an adult first time xD Not a kid as most.
I LOVE the baby yoda btw :D Did a drawing too a while ago, will post eventually.

I think I've seen Star Wars ( the first three ) as a young adult and part 1, 2, 3 ( Phantom Menace and so on ) as a young adult too. Only the latter ( the three of them ) in cinema with my dad and younger brother. My brother was, indeed, a kid. He's 29 now.

I haven't seen the newest Star Wars so I only know baby yoda by name, from memes. I think I'd still prefer Gizmo from The Gremlins though ;<)