A Halo of Thorns 13- Microfiction in the Age of the Coronavirus

in The Ink Well4 years ago (edited)

I realized that the shit had finally hit the fan when I was looking for a clean shirt and could find none. I had been preparing since January, focusing on the big things- food, water, bug-out supplies, vitamins, and so forth. But I had neglected one of the basic necessities of life: clean laundry.

I still remember the feeling that came over me when it dawned on me that I could not go down to the laundry room, which is located on the first floor. The virus could be anywhere. My mind raced with wild possibilities. It could be in the hallways, the elevator buttons, the elevator car, the stairs, the doors, the washing machines, the driers- everywhere.

I stood there stunned holding my last clean shirt. What was I supposed to do now?

Then it came to me. I went to the closet and getting on my hands and knees I rummaged through my camping and traveling gear. There it was!

The Scrubba wash bag. It’s a simple bag designed for travelers who may not always have laundry services available. You add some soap and water, put your clothes in it, and start mashing, rolling, and scrubbing. The procedure is more refined than that but that’s the gist of it.

While I was relieved that I had solved this particular dilemma, I couldn’t help but feel uneasy about the fact that things had gotten this far. The virus was no longer just something out there, but a very real threat to my well being. Another brick had fallen off the wall. I just hope that somehow we find a way to put it back.

washbag.jpg


Read more

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you!

I can remember (college years, long ago!) hand-washing my laundry in the bathtub when the old wringer washer in the basement of the apartment house went on the fritz. Clean laundry! When did this become such a luxury....
Me, pay for a laundromat? I did once, and some guy started hitting on me, so I went back to hand washing, wringing out the clothes, air-drying them on a rack. I wish you the safety and freedom and soon, I hope, SOON, the end of this quarantine and fear of contagion.

Funny story. I guess the dude wasn't so good looking. :)

In many countries handwashing is still the preferred method. On a trip to India, I went to a place where they brought workers from another region to handwash laundry from hotels and such. After sun drying, they iron it out with an iron that they heated with coals made of coconut shell. Hard work for sure and time consuming, which I guess is the reason why we prefer the convenience of a machine.

Thanks for dropping by, @carolkean