Theinkwell Fiction Challenge | Ghastly George (original fiction)

in The Ink Well4 years ago

Ghastly George


image.png
Image from Pixabay

I immediately run out of the house crying and breakdown into sadness after I put my phone off. We were fighting and shouting over the phone with my mom. She's out of the country, supporting me for almost one and half a decade into my studies, my life, and my future career. But one thing's surely missing, her care and love that I have long to experience ever since she went away to go abroad.

My father called that night. He was deeply troubled after knowing the clamor my mom and I had.

"Are you alright honey?" He asked.

"I just need some fresh air dad, looking for someplace to contemplate" I replied.

"Mom's so unfair, she promised me that she'll attend my graduation!" I said in a cracking voice.

"Honey, you'll have to understand her situation abroad. I know she really wants to be beside you on your graduation but things are not always aligned on our expectation." He convincingly said.

"Yeah, I know dad, I just want you and mom be together on one of my special days in my life". I replied and turned off the phone.

Twenty-five minutes have passed on my watch and suddenly a man came from the dark side corner of the road approached me. My teary and wet eyes were abruptly dry in nervousness.

"Mila? Is that you? Wow, you are so different now" He said in excitement.

Strangely staring at him and I replied, "Excuse me? Who are you and why do you know my name?"

I gave him the benefit of the doubt and politely asked those questions. I'm afraid if I did react in an unwise manner, a loud voice may be provoking him.

"This is George, your Grade 10 classmate before, remember?" He enthusiastically said while wiping out his sweat around his face.

He smiled and looked very happy on his white long-sleeves and black pants.

I never bothered asking him where he has been with his outfit or what did he do on his day. We just conveniently converse for the next couple of hours, expressing and remembering our past memories before during the middle class. He seemed very peaceful and calm that night that it took my family problems away in my mind in an instant.

Until time has come for us to say goodbye with each other. I started to walk first in the opposite direction while he's standing on the same spot we're talking. I walked and walked and walked until reaching the gate of our house.

The time was 11:46 PM. I reached on my phone inside my pocket and immediately searched for George's social media account.

The cold breeze of air touches the very sensitive layer of my skin upon reading some timeline posts flooding on George's account. "We will surely miss you my dear son, George."

He died 3 hours ago.

I looked back on the same street and saw no one.

I ran inside our house.

Original story of @maam.sammy


My very first entry for Week 2 of The Ink Well's Fiction Challenge


Creepy right? Visit my profile for more of my original poems, stories, and newbie digital arts I recently made! ^^

Happily Yours,
Sammy.

image.pngBanner of The Ink Well

Sort:  

A classic story, a modern retelling - oh George!

Classic will always remain for retelling. Thank you for dropping by, ^^

Congratulations @maam.sammy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!