The Boss Game

in The Ink Well2 years ago (edited)

It was another day at work in the office with my most hated opponent who happened to be my boss (He was there before me but I knew a lot than him or so I thought). I hated my office because it was right opposite my boss but I love it because I get reminded of what I had to fight intellectually to get to the top (my boss).

It's been two years for us working in the same office playing the hate game, I hated him with every part of me and same thing with him but we couldn't let it go up to our superiors. We decided to sign a deal together that who ever would make it to the top with the superior will make the other quit the job in the company.

I agreed happily because I knew I would win and get him fired but he seemed so confident about himself too so I had to step up my game to make sure that I won. We would both quarrel so much, exchange words that would break each other but somehow I felt so affected by his words that I would see him in my dreams.

We battled with each other for a few more months before I realised that I was actually in love with him. I became worried that my love for him would get him win and fire me since I didn't know about his true feelings.

Going to the office to seat across him became a thing I loved to do so much that I would wait till he gets off work before I go back home, I enjoyed looking at him while he worked so hard to get me fired in the end.

I knew I had to fight the feelings I was having for him so I could focus on the job and get to the end with it but I couldn't imagine getting him fired even if I won the fight in the end. I decided to let him win, I decided to let my love take over me.

A few days to the day the presentation on who would be the boss, he was having secret meetings with our superior and he would give out random beautiful smiles to me. I knew they were fake and evil but I fell for him more, I kept wishing he would reciprocate the feelings I had for him.

I got my presentation ready, even though I knew his own would be way better than mine. We shook hands and made way to the presentation hall, he seemed more confident than I was but I gave it my best shot.

Surprisingly, he didn't present and he applauded me so handsomely looking at me in the eyes with a beautiful smile. I felt so happy and couldn't stop staring at him, all my worries to get his attention died off.

He stood up from his seat and walked to where I was standing, gave me a warm hug then he said something I had been wishing to hear but never thought it was ever going to happen.

I've always thought you would never look at me that way but you've been doing it for sometime now and I'm so happy to be that kind of person to you, I love you beautiful!

Those were his words and the beginning of our love story, every worker in the company gave an applaud confirming that they've always wished for the two of us to have something together and I became the boss while he got a bigger offer in another company. The game ended with us on the altar exchanging rings and saying the vows to forever.

Thanks for reading!!!

Sort:  

In this case, a wonderful antagonist. Two people who seem to be destined enemies by their positions, end up in love because of their characters. That is a lovely way to write a story about antagonism. And worry.

Thank you for sharing this story with us. We appreciate very much that you engage with other authors.

Thanks for the support and good feedback on my story 😊

Wow, this is a really beautiful story. I'm glad they both ended up together. That's one crazy thing about love, you can't control it no matter how hard you try.

That's right, she didn't see it coming but look how it ended for her 😅

Yeah, it was really kind of unacceptable 😅😅.

That's the true feeling of love. You can't control who you fall in love with.

True my dear, she couldn't help it

Plot twist
Top notch creativity lies with you

A beautiful fiction and ended well also.
A wonderful piece 💖

Yeah, thanks for the compliment 😊 I'm just trying my best here though, not good yet

Then how is good defined again?

I don't know 🙈

Well
You just saw one

This is a wonderful story dear friend.

Seeing young people in love ❣️

Indeed, thanks 😊

The story is amazing. Their hate turned to love. That's so sweet.

Really sweet 😊

Wow! He too was in love with you, this Make me understand that, feelings and loves do not just originate from nowhere, but it must has a supporting part, which called out for it.

Lovely...

Congratulations, @merit.ahama ! Your story has been chosen for the weekly #theinkwell magazine and has received a vote from Curie. Please keep supporting the community by commenting on other writers' stories.
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@theinkwell/the-ink-well-highlights-magazine-55