Lost

in The Ink Well2 years ago (edited)

image.png

So thirsty...

Around me all I feel is cold dry air.
I've got to get to a warm moist place or I will disintegrate.
I feel some heat energy radiating from the south east.
I've got to get in that area soon or I am a goner.

As I aim for that direction I hear a "whoosh" sound!!
I am stopped in my tracks, stunned.

It's like I was sucked in by a giant electron trap.
My whole body was shaking with electric voltage flowing through me...

I am about to burst.

Out of the fire into the frying pan

At just the right moment...
I was dropped from the trap
only to land in a large water reservoir.

As I splashed into the water I felt relief from some of the burns I had endured. The dryness was gone as I floated on the top of the pristine still water of the reservoir.

The reservoir was deep and expanded beyond what I could swim even if I had all day. There were no islands and there were no banks. Instead the reservoir was surrounded by white porcelain cliffs in all directions.

I was taken from this electric chair in the sky and dropped into an endless prison of water. What did I ever do to deserve this? I only wanted to find a meal and get some warmth to keep me alive through the night.

I was still starving and I could barely move but at least it wasn't dry in the reservoir. I could stand being tortured with electricity or even drowning in the reservoir but I could not stand the thought of myself dying of thirst.

That's the most pitiful demise for any creature.

As I moved and splashed in the water I heard an echo around me. It's almost as if... Oh my it was...

The sounds of gushing water.

The tranquil reservoir violently erupted and I begun to spin in the direction of the current. Luckily I knew how to hold my breath and remain calm. Still I drank more water than I had ever planned to. As I spun from one side of the reservoir to the other side in circles I looked around for any signs of life. I didn't see any other creature in the entire reservoir just endless walls of white porcelain.

I heard another giant swish or was this a swosh?
It was more of GULP!!
Swallowed up.
I was taken down deep pulled by an undercurrent from Hades or Titan.

This was beyond anything from our world. Around me was darkness everywhere without even a hint of light. I was not in space for every once and a while my head hit something metal. Although I was being rushed straight down with the water current I found air pockets and was able to breath. I got rushed down and then hit a bend and then another drop.

I expected another bend to come up and got ready for it. There enough it was and with it there was a sticky little island made of some gunky stuff and long gangly gook. I hung on to that long gangly gook for dear life and let the water pass.

The whole reservoir of water passed before me and then everything was quiet. I struggled to get my bearings and took a deep breath. Before long I heard another creature crawling past the island. I didn't know what it was but I was getting my strength back and that creature seemed to have a better idea of directions than I did.

The Creature

I decided to follow that creature listening at a distance in the dark. My eyes never got adjusted to the complete darkness but I could sense my way around somehow and follow that creature down a metal pathway. Sometimes I would try to wander off the path but there was metal on the sides. Once I climbed up the top but there was metal on the top. The walls were not flat and perpendicular. Instead they seemed to by cylindrical as I often slipped of the sides and ended back on the trail.

I kept listening for the creature ahead of me. It never stopped and turned back. It always kept moving. I was glad for that, as it kind of freaked me out. It could have easily turned back and attacked me at any moment but it just kept moving.

That's when I noticed there was some sort of light.
I wasn't lost forever. I could even make out some shapes.

I could see the silhouette of the creature in front of me.
It was much larger than me but very flat with six legs.
On its back were wings and on its head were a set of antennae.
It was a dirty creature but then again this metal trail they were in was filthy.

I saw the creature flap its wings and fly off into the light. I wanted to do the same but when I got to the end of the metal road I just
flopped down in exhaustion.

The voice

I heard a voice echo around me,

"Mommy! Look at this mosquito. It's so weak. It can't even fly.

Don't touch it Timmy!! You don't know where it's been.

image.png

Last picture from analogicus and cover picture from Marion.

Where did I come from and where am I going?

I am a lost mosquito and I traveled through the porcelain reservoir and the metal highway and survived. Everything is possible.
I will keep you updated on more news from the afterlife on this blockchain.

Sort:  

Thank you for writing this imaginative story for The Ink Well, @mineopoly. The details about the vicissitudes of a mosquito make us see the immense activity, the infinite stories that happen in the reality we live in and of which we will never have even a rough idea.
Thank you so much for keeping up the interactions with fellow writers.

Wow!
This is an awesome plot and definitely not what I see everyday.
Poor mosquito being tossed from one dimension to another on a fast pace, at one point I felt like I was actually being tossed around.
I'm impressed. ☺️


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @mineopoly ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Very engaging, your poetic lines pulled me in and kept me glued to the screen. Imaginative and scary. I was shivering in my boots. Unexpected conclusion.
You tied it all up fabulously ❤️🤗💓🙃💕💕💕

We read this story from a human code and accompany the suffering of this being who struggles to stay alive. The end leaves us with a nice feeling as we have felt compassion for a being that is usually insignificant. Good reading experience, @mineopoly

Thanks @gracielaacevedo,

There are so many stories all around us when we open our minds and see from the eyes of a child.

!PIZZA

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
mineopoly tipped davidke20 (x1)
mineopoly tipped gracielaacevedo (x1)
@wrestlingdesires(3/15) tipped @mineopoly (x2)
mineopoly tipped wrestlingdesires (x1)
mineopoly tipped samdove (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

I am in a situation of waking up at the middle of the night and start thinking of how am I going to answer at the management meeting.

Driving to the office felt like sending myself to the execution room, and bunch of those officers are going to slice me up and rub salt at the cuts.

I don't have any other reasons to enjoy working there anymore, but to earn a living for the family. Kinda fun to read this and feeling how resemble to the situation I am.

OMG.... I am not the only one in the world who relates to a half dead mosquito

!LOL
!LUV
!PIZZA

Happy Monday

What's the difference between a taxidermist and a tax collector?
A taxidermist takes only your skin.

Credit: reddit
@davidke20, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @mineopoly
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(1/4)

I wouldn't want to be that mosquito 😂 What a dirty adventure - and an AWESOME story 🙌🙌🙌

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

Thanks @wrestlingdesires,

The summer is plagued with these fellows, but it helps before zapping them to follow them on the journey at least in the mind's eyes.

I'm at a conference this weekend from Thursday to Sunday so can't write much, but keep me posted what is going on with dreem and the birds and I will try to follow.

!LUV
!PIZZA
!BEER

I just had pizza for breakfast.

Ok, should I keep you updated on here, or find you on Discord?

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LUV

@mineopoly! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I will check in here every couple days. I think I can find any @mention if not then a comment will work.

Sounds like a plan :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE

@mineopoly! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Hi Sam,

Enjoy the journey. I'm looking forward to reading your story.

!LUV
!PIZZA