Puppy Love

in The Ink Well3 years ago (edited)

IMG_20210904_065213.jpg

Gema and I started to become friends when we were 10 years old. I saw her playing alone outside of their house. They were just my new neighborhood when Mr. Cruz and his family sold the house. Even at her younger age, I could tell she resembled the beauty. Her tantalizing eyes, cute lips, and stunning face. I thought that was all but when I saw her smiling, even in my innocence about love I was in love. Though I wasn't sure what that kind of feeling was back then. I was thinking of approaching her but my father suddenly called me to get materials at the barn.

I kept on thinking about how to be near to her and introduced myself. My heart was grasping and my body was trembling the more I thought about being with her. I don't know if that was a fateful day even though it was not a good moment. I ran immediately towards her to protect her from other children in the neighborhood bullying her. I saw her crying. My chest felt heavy and that's the reason I rushed to protect her. I ended up fighting, bruises were found on my face. It hurts because I wasn't into fighting, although my body has a high tolerance to pain since I used to work in our lands.

I pushed away those bullies and I finally became friends with Gema. That's how Gema and I became friends. It was like a scene in the movies but I never thought it could happen. Despite what happened, I was so happy. That's how we began to play together, went to school together, and played every Sunday on our farm. My childhood became so amazing because of Gema.

How many times have I tried to confess my feelings towards her? I was constructing words to tell when she wasn't there but it faded if she arrived with that graceful smile. Sometimes I called God because of how I was so amazed by her beauty. It felt like my heart was melting the time we accidentally looked at each other's eyes.

My high school ended full of regrets not telling her how I felt. Especially, when we're in college, of course, I went to college together with her to make sure to protect her. I wanted to protect her but I just found out my protection was not needed anymore. She has a boyfriend all of sudden named Ken.

Almost every day she talked about her boyfriend Ken. How sweet and kind that guy was. How perfect that guy was as if he became the world of Gema, where her world rotated only to him. Sometimes I ended up speechless, I pretended I didn't hear her, preventing my voice from changing or it would be obvious I was hurt. She didn't know I loved her so much that I felt like dying hearing her saying she loved Ken so much. She didn't know how I wished it was me she talked about and not that guy. Since I was her friend, all I could do was to comfort her even though my heart was bleeding.

IMG_20210722_170910.jpg

Not very long I found out that Ken broke up with her because she was leaning on my shoulder crying. I was hurt as well, I wanted to punch that guy. How could he hurt Gema, the love of my life? Perhaps I was a bad person back then, I was happy that they broke up, not considering how much Gema cried in front of me.

After that guy, Gema promised not to find another guy anymore. I was thinking of confessing but I respected her and I kept my feelings hidden for a while. I had no courage to tell her. Friends, that was the reason holding me to stay like that.

I didn't tell her how I felt but I was still happy. We were together all the time because she didn't have a boyfriend anymore. My heart wanted to explode every time we were together. I was imagining things that would be better if we were in a relationship. Perhaps it would be nicer compared to "just friends." I still chose the friendship because I had no courage of losing her when I'd tell her.

I dreamt of dancing with her in our JS prom when we were in high school. I never thought there would be something more amazing that happened. I was dancing in her debut when I was among the 18 roses. It's a bit embarrassing because I was the last guy to dance with, I was so happy. I couldn't look her in the eyes while dancing. I couldn't say a word while holding her and so close to each other. It couldn't be helped, my love for her took over all my emotions to remain stunned.

After that dancing or after her debut it has been a month since I never saw her. Of course, I was worried so every day I made sure to visit her house but she removed my worries right after she showed me her beautiful smile. I felt like I was lost in the darkness that only her smile could lead my footsteps to find my way out. Yes, her smile was like a shimmering sun so bright.

Not long after that month, Gema forwarded a video through my email. She said to watch it when I was at home. I immediately went home because I was so excited and not being able to hear what she said next.

I played the video and it was her I found in there.

"Blake--"

She called me in that video but she stopped because I saw her trembling, she's crying.

"Come on Blake why you're so stupid. I liked you, no, I loved you. How many names of guys I should tell that they were my boyfriend just to make you feel jealous. I have loved you since you protected me from those bullies but you ignored me."

"God, she didn't know how jealous I was."

In my thoughts, while I continued playing the video.

"Ken was gay, I asked him to pretend my boyfriend so that I'd found out if you'd be jealous but it failed. You didn't show me a sad face or a hurtful expression." She just laughed.

I didn't finish the video and decided to rush immediately to see Gema. An uneasy feeling gave me chills, like a cold wind of winter has so much loneliness. I didn't like it, I thought having this kind of video was like last words.

"Gema! Gema!"

I shouted and shouted when I arrived at their house from outside. I felt afraid, something's not right in my imagination.

"GEMA!!"

I shouted again and I saw a Doctor came out from the door. I felt like crying. I felt like breaking the gate of their house to come inside and to check if she was fine.

image.png
unsplash

"What's wrong Blake?"

Gema tapped me from the back and immediately hugged him so tight.

"What happened?" I asked.

"It seems you have already watched the video." She smirked.

"Why show me that video? I was horrified."

I couldn't control my emotions anymore and started showing a sad face.

"So I presume you haven't finished that video?"

She looked disappointed.

"Hmmmp"

She ignored me and turned her back at me.

"Come on", I begged.

" Well, I thought of stopping to make us friends so there will be no hindrance for my feelings towards you. I took my distance from you so that you'd realize what I am to you."

"As always, you're a clueless friend."

She said and sighed.

"Okay, I'm sorry. I love you Gema."

I said and she kissed me right away on the lips.

"How long have I waited for you to say this? Huh?"

I kissed back and said.

"Thank you."

She smiled and again my heart began to melt but this time not only me. I saw her as well, showing an uncomfortable expression. I could tell from her blushing face. She squeezed my cheek and hugged me.

"Thank you, Blake."

Starting that day, the girl who I was longing for, for many years became the love of my life.

END..

mrnightmare

Sort:  

A story of happy love. Blake learned the lesson, perhaps, that he should be more forthright and express his emotions. Thank you for posting this story in the Ink Well community. We appreciate that you engage with other writers in the community.

Thanks, but it's not easy because he's afraid.

I think i got diabetes reading your story. Also, I can't stop smiling the whole time.

Oh please not diabetes but please let the ants bite you. lol

Thanks

Lol. That'll be painful.

What a charming story, @mrnightmare.net. I think both Gema and Blake need to learn to be truthful with their feelings. He may have kept his true feelings from her, but she made up a lie to make him jealous, which is much worse! I think this is a realistic story, though. Young people do all kinds of odd things when looking for love!